We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Great Beer, Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Ranked #2 of 61 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Beer, Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room 201 for five days and almost everything was great. Great location and the main reason to recommend the hotel. Great pub and beer and great staff!

The only issue we had was all drain pipes in the hotel go past 201. Suggest 302, 303 or 304.

Other that, we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, service, relaxed atmosphere and the rustic, renovated rooms.

We did not eat dinner in the hotel, but recommend Fish on the Rocks about 30 meters down the road.

We would stay here again, but in a different room.

Great value for,the $$ here

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank HaroldandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    184
    43
    8
    3
See reviews for
59
277
38
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I had a lovely room at the Lord Nelson. I was concerned that the pub downstairs might be too noisy, but that wasn't an issue. In fact the brewery was a nice amenity (with some tasty beer!)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
310 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

After reading the TripAdvisor reviews of The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel, I booked a room with ensuite over a year in advance. It would be the second Sydney hotel we stayed at during our vacation and I wanted to try someplace unique and fun, without sacrificing cleanliness and comfort.

From some of the reviewers' photos, I wasn't quite sure what I'd find, but I was pleasantly surprised. The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel not only met my expectations regarding cleanliness and comfort, but I found the entire establishment and experience sincerely charming.

We stayed in Room 304 on the hotel's top floor. It was a corner room with a view of the city, including the Sydney Observatory, Sydney Tower and Darling Harbour. A skylight provided extra natural light and the decor was simple, but tasteful. As a bonus, there were convenient amenities, such as a minifridge, electric kettle, a selection of teas, in-room safe, fax machine, and an iron and ironing board. We found the room comfortably spacious for two people (and their luggage).

The bathroom was very clean and nice, with granite countertop, space for toiletries, and more natural light through a frosted window overlooking a courtyard (though the window latch needed fixing to stay latched). The tub/shower was very high-walled and raised, so one needs to be careful exiting -- it's quite an unexpected drop and I almost fell!

The complimentary breakfast, served in a designated area of the brasserie, is better than the average continental breakfast. While there is a limited menu of cereal, toast, fruit, juice, coffee and/or tea, guests may order (for a charge) a cooked breakfast. What makes even their complimentary breakfast better is that you have friendly table service for your fruit, your choice of toast and topping, and hot beverage order. Because of this extra attention, I got to try Vegemite (hey, I'm a tourist!) and a "flat white;" one of these was much better than the other... All told, the breakfast can be as filling or light as you choose.

What makes The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel unique and fun is the historic pub, of course! A smaller English-style pub, the bar is lively and oftentimes crowded, yet it closes at 11 p.m. so noise wasn't a problem during our stay. Our first night we snagged a table and enjoyed our meal so much that we dined there a total of four times during our three-night stay! (We highly recommend the beef pie and the steak sandwich.) Additionally, the bar brews their own beer, so you have your choice of five mainstays and one seasonal brew.

The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel wound up being the favorite of all the lodgings we experienced while in Australia. It exceeded expectations on every level, without a trace of pretention.

I will note, however, that this establishment is better suited for the independent traveller -- and one that can go up and down the stairs WITH their luggage since there is no lift/elevator. The bar is on the ground (1st) level, the brasserie is on the 1st (2nd) floor, reception is on the 2nd (3rd) floor and rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors (3rd and 4th). If you expect the Ritz, you will be disappointed. If it's comfort and charm in a convenient, yet quieter location in The Rocks, then The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel will fit the bill.

And speaking of the bill... a special note about their customer service. A couple of days after returning home, I noticed the charge posted to my credit card was charged for twice the amount authorized. I immediately emailed and phoned The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel. As it was Saturday there, the person who could help me was out of the office until Monday. On Monday, I received an email reply, requesting additional details about the charge; on their end it appeared the charge was accurate. The correspondence was friendly and within two days the overcharge was refunded. I appreciated how easily this one important snag was handled, without additional aggravation.

The next time I visit Sydney, I will DEFINTELY try to stay at The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel again.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to secure a room with ensuite (private bathroom).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kris_K_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this old hotel. Our room with ensuite was spacious enough and comfortable although it was not very well lit, another couple of lamps would have been good. Be aware you have to climb stairs to your room, we were on the third floor and so had 3 flights to go up and down.The bar was brilliant, always full of customers and the staff were pleasant. We had an evening meal at the bar, service and food was prompt. Great selection of beers.
The best location for accessing the CBD, 10 minutes stroll to Circular Quay. Food at the Rocks restaurant just across the street was fabulous and the little sandwich bar across the street was perfect for a quick lunch. Would stay here again and would recommend but would always get a room with ensuite.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has what you want, we asked for one with ensuite. Some rooms looked quite small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louieathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We spent five days here after a cruise around New Zealand. We were very pleased with the location to the central business district and bus line. The staff were very accomodating. We enjoyed a filling continental breakfast each morning, which was included in the room price. They have free internet, but the service is sporadic, especially in the evening. The English atmosphere was really appealing in the Pub, which was the first floor. We were there on St. Paddy's Day, but were not disturbed late at night by the partying. It was a great choice for our very first visit to Sydney.

Room Tip: There is no elevator (lift), so if stairs are an issue, request the second floor. You will only wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfmOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springwood, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

My partner and I chose to stay at the Lord Nelson as it was close to the Opera House where we were going to see a show. The hotel has two options on rooms, we opted for one with a bathroom. The room itself was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The bar downstairs has great atmosphere and the beer is delicious. The complimentary breakfast was ok. I would recommend this hotel if you wanted something close to Circular Quay/The Rocks, otherwise it would be too much of a hike to the city centre. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Expatozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

History and the stone work make this a worthwhile visit-and the beer is nice and cold as well. W also dinned which was above average.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#42 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel

Property: The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Address: Cnr Kent and Argyle Sts. | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydneys Oldest Continually Licensed Hotel and Microbrewery. Brewers of fine natural ales, purveyors of delicious pub and restaurant fare and boutique accommodation. Established 1841. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Brewery Hotel
Lord Nelson Brewery Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing