We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought was about to be better...”
Review of Sokyo

Sokyo
Ranked #101 of 6,740 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$58 - US$182
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Sokyo. Where the buzz of Tokyo meets a Sydney beat. Allow yourself to be lost in the world of Chef Chase Kojima and his impeccable union of traditional craftsmanship with an innovative take on contemporary flavour. Now open 7 days a week for breakfast and dinner, and lunch Friday and Saturday.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile

Went last night for dinner with some friends.
Food was just ok (anything extraordinary) and overpriced and to be honest a very average customer service.
Four of us; one wanted just a glass of wine and the rest sake.
We've got told we couldn't have both at the same table?!?!??
Anyways...we have order a bottle of sake in the end and it came after we started our dinner, like two o three dishes later...apparently they couldn't find the bottle of sake we've requested???!?!?

They make a mistake with our food orders and the waitress were acting a bit weird too try to give us explanation with no sense.

Nice bar area and great bartenders ( Carlitos cocktails are amazing)

Thank lucaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokyoManagement, Manager at Sokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

To lucaface,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We do apologize for the service that you experienced and are looking further into the matter. It is definitely not up to the standards Sokyo provides for our patrons. We are glad that you enjoy our bar area and Carlito is one of best bar tenders. Once again we do apologies for the experience you had. We look forward to you coming back again to give us another chance.

Kind Regards,

Sokyo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 107 of 673 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Knowing that this is one of the fine dining Japanese restaurant, I walked in with a lot of expectations. Having been to Japan numerous times, I know exactly what s good and whats bad. Overall, we've ordered 5 dishes with 2 dessert. The dessert was tiny but tasty (like wow). The savoury food wasn't as good as expected. The sashimi platter was fancy but I've tried fresher ones elsewhere with lower prices considering its $60 for 24 pieces. The robata lamb was soft and juicy. The crispy rice with tuna was nice. The highlight seems to be the salmon belly aburi (melt in your mouth!) Tempura red snapper can be a miss if you prefer traditonal style tempura. I feel like the service is a rush. Once you finish a dish, the next one comes almost immediately, eventually rushing u out the door. If I need to pay $100 pp for this and this is a fine dining experience, then I think there's a lot more to learn beside simply having a lot of waitress/ers, dark atmosphere and fresh ish food.

Thank Lydia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokyoManagement, Manager at Sokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Good Afternoon Lydia C,

Thank you taking the time to leave this review and we do take all feedback into consideration. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our desserts! Our apologies for the service that you experienced last time with us. That is not up Sokyo's standard for our service. We hope you come back again and give us another chance. Hope you had a great weekend.

Kind Regards,

Sokyo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile

Here's to redemption from last time. Last time I came here we had a poor experience during lunch.

We love this place and come here a few times a year and 99% of the time they are amazing! And this time was the 99%,they nailed it this time!

We ordered the sashimi platter which is the freshest and most delicious sashimi. You don't just get the sashimi with this dish, but you get the theatre of the sashimi surrounded by clouds of dry ice. It doesn't last too long but the effect is amazing.

We also ordered a few rolls - the Queensland roll, the vegetarian roll and the salmon and avocado roll. Absolutely amazing! As my wife has allergies we always ask the waiters to ensure the chef makes certain rolls gluten free and dairy free and they nailed it this time. Everything came out in separate plates so nothing with gluten gets mixed with no gluten/dairy rolls. And my wife didn't get sick which is what we usually have experienced from here before.

Do try the beef robata, they are the most succulent beef skewers with an absolutely tasty sauce. These aren't gluten free so I had them and my wife didn't.

Service was excellent again as we have come to expect.

Nailed it, brilliant experience and classy Japanese dishes.

Thank Mauricio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokyoManagement, Manager at Sokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Good Afternoon Mauricio H,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We are happy to hear that we were able to make up for your previous dining experience with us! Our chefs and wait staff do their best to cater to our guest's need. Looking forward to having you and your wife dine with us again soon! Hope you had a lovely weekend.

Kind Regards,

Sokyo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile

Really recommend this restaurant if you like great Japanese fusion food that is super high quality and a real treat! The miso black cod is out of this world!

Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokyoManagement, Manager at Sokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Good Afternoon Chris D,

It's really great to hear that you enjoy our food! The dengakuman is not only the most popular dish in our menu, it is also simply, like you said, out of this world! Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to you coming back again to enjoy more amazing dishes!

Kind Regards,

Sokyo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017

Had breakfast as part of the hotel deal. The menu is a little different, being Japanese-based, but the food was excellent and the service was fast and pleasant.

Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokyoManagement, Manager at Sokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Hi dominics132,

We are glad that you enjoyed our food and service! Thank you for taking the time to write us. We look forward to your next dining experience with us soon.

Kind Regards,

Sokyo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sokyo also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing