We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great, service terrible.”
Review of Sokyo

Sokyo
Ranked #62 of 6,145 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$100
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Sokyo. Where the buzz of Tokyo meets a Sydney beat. Allow yourself to be lost in the world of Chef Chase Kojima and his impeccable union of traditional craftsmanship with an innovative take on contemporary flavour. Now open 7 days a week for breakfast and dinner, and lunch Friday and Saturday.
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We came here for our anniversary dinner. We really enjoyed the food. The crispy tuna sushi and sensational tempura were standout. The service was another story. Waiting 10 mins to catch the waiters eye to get drinks etc.
A restaurant of this standard should have this running smoothly.
We also waited a long time to pay the bill. I will also say it was too dark. I like mood lighting but when you can't read the menu properly it is a pain in the butt.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenwaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokyoManagement, Manager at Sokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hi Jenwaria,

We are glad that you enjoyed the food here at Sokyo. Our apologies for the service you experienced. That is not up to our standards and are going to look further into the matter. Once again our apologies for the service and we hope you come again to give us another chance.

Kind Regards,

Sokyo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 48 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

Service was woeful. Dishes placed on the table, no explanation of what was being served and servers had no idea which diner had ordered which dish. Food for the vegetarian diner was served some 15 minutes after everyone else at our table.
Food bland and forgettable. Where was the attention to detail and flavours that Japanese style restaurants are famous for? Desert was only saving grace and even then the servers gave each diner the wrong desert.Coffee tasted like instant coffee and was served cold.
Music was pumping, so trying to have any form of conversation was almost impossible.
This was an expensive evening.
You probably could do better at your local cafe, and dare I say it, on a plane or at McDonalds.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gungadin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokyoManagement, Manager at Sokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Good Afternoon gungadin6,

We apologies for the service that you experienced here with us. That is definitely not up to Sokyo's standards and how we want to treat our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write us and we will look further into the matter. We hope you come back next time to give us another chance. Hope you had a lovely weekend!

Kind Regards,

Sokyo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

So disappointed, the people who were meant to serve us were clueless, food plonked down, no idea what course we were eating, no attention to detail, no system to identify who ordered what.Desserts were the best part of the experience, coffee was cold and tasteless,I have had better on a plane!
Definitely NOT a fine dining experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank farawaymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokyoManagement, Manager at Sokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Good Afternoon farawaymum,

Thank you for taking the time to write us. We do apologies for your previous dining experience. That style of service is not up to Sokyo's standard and we are looking further into the matter. We hope you come dine in soon to give us another chance!

Kind Regards,

Sokyo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at The Darling for 5 nights and had breakfast at Sokyo each morning.

We had the buffet as well as a meal of choice from the menu. The food was fantastic. Every morsel of food on offer was presented beautifully and the flavours were delicious. Even after dining here for 5 days we still did not get to try the huge range of foods available and did not even come close to getting tired of the food on offer.

The only down side was as a diabetic I could not indulge in lot of the sweet dishes on offer. The temptation was there but I let my eyes do the feasting!

The fusion of eastern and western flavours was amazing with every dish crafted and presented beautifully. The staff were extremely friendly, attentive and had a good knowledge of menu items.

If you are looking for a breakfast with a difference this is the place to visit. You will keep going back. We certainly will be back.

The only suggestion I have is the lighting at the buffet. I personally found the lighting a little bit on the dark side.

1  Thank ShriFair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokyoManagement, Manager at Sokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hi ShriFair,

Thank you for taking the time to write us. We take all feedback into consideration and are glad that you have enjoyed the food and the service here with us at Sokyo! Looking forward to your next dining experience with us! Hope you had a great weekend.

Kind Regards,

Sokyo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Went last night for dinner with some friends.
Food was just ok (anything extraordinary) and overpriced and to be honest a very average customer service.
Four of us; one wanted just a glass of wine and the rest sake.
We've got told we couldn't have both at the same table?!?!??
Anyways...we have order a bottle of sake in the end and it came after we started our dinner, like two o three dishes later...apparently they couldn't find the bottle of sake we've requested???!?!?

They make a mistake with our food orders and the waitress were acting a bit weird too try to give us explanation with no sense.

Nice bar area and great bartenders ( Carlitos cocktails are amazing)


Thank lucaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokyoManagement, Manager at Sokyo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

To lucaface,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We do apologize for the service that you experienced and are looking further into the matter. It is definitely not up to the standards Sokyo provides for our patrons. We are glad that you enjoy our bar area and Carlito is one of best bar tenders. Once again we do apologies for the experience you had. We look forward to you coming back again to give us another chance.

Kind Regards,

Sokyo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sokyo also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing