We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely breakfast ”
Review of Sokyo

Sokyo
Ranked #101 of 6,740 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$58 - US$182
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Sokyo. Where the buzz of Tokyo meets a Sydney beat. Allow yourself to be lost in the world of Chef Chase Kojima and his impeccable union of traditional craftsmanship with an innovative take on contemporary flavour. Now open 7 days a week for breakfast and dinner, and lunch Friday and Saturday.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

Enjoyable Japanese style breakfast with the option of having a buffet consisting of sweet and savoury selection. Nice coffee too!

Thank Mready2go_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokyoManagement, Manager at Sokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Hi Mready2go_12,

We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us! Looking forward to having back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Sokyo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 102 of 674 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2017

Tried the OMAKASE sushi experience, it's amazing! We loved it! It gets booked out so early, but we will be back!!

Thank JessieTon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokyoManagement, Manager at Sokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017

Hi JessieTon,

That's great to hear! We are glad that you were able to enjoy that experience since sushi omakase has limited seating and is very hard to book. Please come by again for another amazing experience with us.

Kind Regards,

Sokyo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017

We came here for our anniversary dinner. We really enjoyed the food. The crispy tuna sushi and sensational tempura were standout. The service was another story. Waiting 10 mins to catch the waiters eye to get drinks etc.
A restaurant of this standard should have this running smoothly.
We also waited a long time to pay the bill. I will also say it was too dark. I like mood lighting but when you can't read the menu properly it is a pain in the butt.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jenwaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokyoManagement, Manager at Sokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Hi Jenwaria,

We are glad that you enjoyed the food here at Sokyo. Our apologies for the service you experienced. That is not up to our standards and are going to look further into the matter. Once again our apologies for the service and we hope you come again to give us another chance.

Kind Regards,

Sokyo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2017

Service was woeful. Dishes placed on the table, no explanation of what was being served and servers had no idea which diner had ordered which dish. Food for the vegetarian diner was served some 15 minutes after everyone else at our table.
Food bland and forgettable. Where was the attention to detail and flavours that Japanese style restaurants are famous for? Desert was only saving grace and even then the servers gave each diner the wrong desert.Coffee tasted like instant coffee and was served cold.
Music was pumping, so trying to have any form of conversation was almost impossible.
This was an expensive evening.
You probably could do better at your local cafe, and dare I say it, on a plane or at McDonalds.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gungadin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokyoManagement, Manager at Sokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Good Afternoon gungadin6,

We apologies for the service that you experienced here with us. That is definitely not up to Sokyo's standards and how we want to treat our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write us and we will look further into the matter. We hope you come back next time to give us another chance. Hope you had a lovely weekend!

Kind Regards,

Sokyo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2017

So disappointed, the people who were meant to serve us were clueless, food plonked down, no idea what course we were eating, no attention to detail, no system to identify who ordered what.Desserts were the best part of the experience, coffee was cold and tasteless,I have had better on a plane!
Definitely NOT a fine dining experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank farawaymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SokyoManagement, Manager at Sokyo, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Good Afternoon farawaymum,

Thank you for taking the time to write us. We do apologies for your previous dining experience. That style of service is not up to Sokyo's standard and we are looking further into the matter. We hope you come dine in soon to give us another chance!

Kind Regards,

Sokyo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sokyo also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing