We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One big, happy Blue Parrot family!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Parrot Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Parrot Backpackers
Ranked #8 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Port Douglas
1 review
“One big, happy Blue Parrot family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

I booked to stay for 1 week initially and ended up living there on and off for 8 months! What makes the Blue Parrot so special is the people and the atmosphere. It's a small, homely hostel with chilled, comfortable living spaces so you get to know people really quickly which is so important when you're travelling alone. The location is superb- there's a different awesome night out every day of the week in vibrant Kings Cross and the hostel managers make sure everyone feels welcome, gets involved and has a great time. It's not a totally crazy, party hostel so you can def get some sleep before early morning trips or work. It is a hostel though, so sure sometimes drunk people come in late or snore but if you're a single traveller arriving in Sydney you won't find a better place to get connected and get immersed in the Sydney lifestyle. Plus the internet is free which is a massive bonus. I loved it, had an amazing Aussie experience and would absolutely stay there again.

Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank HMoorePortD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    47
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
2
10
167
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Like alot of people who've written a review I booked 2 weeks ended up stayin a whole month! Just a fantastic place to start and during your journeys in oz, great staff, great people, great location bars food supermarkets and the city in walking distance. Blue parrot is the home from home you dreamed of. YOUTH!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamyouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

The Blue Parrot hostel is the best hostel that I have ever stayed in on my travels. After roaming around for nearly a year, arriving at the Blue Parrot was like coming home. The atmosphere is apparent on entering the building, the Blue Parrot family are there waiting with open arms (and a lovely cup of tea!)

As a single female traveler, the first night in a new place is always daunting, but I immediately felt so comfortable here.
There is everything you need.
- Hot power showers (they actually get the soap out of your hair - girls you all know how important that is!)
- A fully equipped kitchen. With hobs, grills and even 2 ovens! (By the end of my stay I was baking cakes and lots of us would cook shared dinners for each other)
- The nicest and cosiest living/common room I had ever come across in a hostel! There is cable TV, DVD's and even a Nintendo Wii!
- Dorms big enough to keep your stuff yet small enough to have a new group of friends within 10 minutes of arriving!

The security here is great and the location in Sydney is unbeatable, you can walk into the city in about 15 minutes and Bondi Beach is only 2 stops away!
There is always something going on and you WILL have a good night out with new friends, but the real joy of the Blue Parrot is that you will get a good nights sleep. Everyone goes out together around 11pm and if you're feeling tired or you have an early flight, you can settle down for a good night.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hostel to any of my friends. If you go to Sydney, you must stay at the BP!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkliedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

I lived in the blue parrot for over three months of my time in Australia and loved every minute of it. The staff make you feel so welcome and i have made friends for life while staying there. I was working while living in the hostel and managed to do with ease the hostel was clean and a lovely environment to live in. The facilities are great with a comfortable front room, clean kitchen and a nice garden. There is a good mix of long termers and others who stay for just a couple of days either way everyone is welcomed offering a great variety of activities making it very easy to meet people and sooo much fun. Its a great place to go out for night life which you have the option of attending every night if you wish or staying in and watching a dvd if you facny a quiet night in. There is an option for everyone. I would like to say thankyou to everybody that made my stay in Australia amazing! Exspecially thankyou to all the staff effie sash chris donna both marting y and i lol james and both mattheaus. I love you all. The blue parrot is the nicest hostel i ever stayed at throughout my time in Australia loved every minute of it!!! Had soooo many amazing nights out with everyone and will definately be back. Id advise anyone to stay here exspecially if your a single traveller great place to meet people :) thanks for making my time in oz amazing miss my second home hannah xxx

Room Tip: Any room is great bigger dorms obviously more people so if you like your own space and less noise go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Where to begin?! I booked to stay there for three nights earlier this month and ended up extending for three weeks. Not only is the hostel clean, safe and perfectly located, the staff (especially Sasha, Effie and of course, Christina) are pure class. They ensured i had the best stay possible and did everything they could to make me feel like a part of their 'backpackers family'.
Lots of activities to be booked through the hostel and very easy to make friends there and have people to go on nights out with etc...
Would undoubtedly recommend this place to anyone travelling in Australia, just be sure to stay away from the goon!
Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I love this place!! I've stayed there for few weeks, and I really enjoyed it. Staff is friendly and helpfull, the house is nice and cosy so u feel like home with lot's of new roomates ;)
It's well located from everywhere and really safe around.
Recommended the blueparrot to few travelers friends who loved it too.
Big up to the awsome owners too <3

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pr1cs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

When Looking for a hostel in Sydney, I wanted something small, intimate, full of character, good people and fun. The Blue Parrot not only met this criteria but surpassed every expectation I had. The Staff team were amazing and incredibly friendly and would offer help and support beyond what was expected of them. The staff and regular guests instantly made you feel very relaxed and welcome and although it is not a party hostel there was always something going on or a party to attend. The hostel itself was maintained to a very high standard and has a fantastic court yard where you can relax and meet people which is a great asset to the place. The location was perfect as you were literally just round the corner from all the bars and clubs and walking distance from the world famous land marks such as the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. Failing that it is only a two minute walk to transport links to the rest of the city and Bondi Beach. In terms of value I believe you pay for what you get and the Blue Parrot was worth every cent. I literally had the best time of my life there. You would be a fool not to stay there!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Surry Hills
Bounce Sydney
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 136 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 136 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#7 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Eva's Backpackers
#13 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Parrot Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Parrot Backpackers

Property: Blue Parrot Backpackers
Address: 87 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Parrot Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Parrot Backpackers is located in the most cosmopolitan part of inner Sydney City (akin to Soho in London and East Village in NYC) and is only minutes walk from the heart of the city, offering vibrant nightlife, clubbing, trendy cafes, bars, restaurants and all the tourist attractions. A friendly hostel run by sisters Effie and Sasha, known for its social atmosphere and warm welcoming staff where you can easily meet other travellers, especially if you're travelling solo. Guests can relax in the large outdoor courtyard or the indoor lounge area, the perfect places to socialise. Blue Parrot is 5 minutes walk from Kings Cross train station. The City Centre, Royal Botanic Gardens, the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge are less than 20 minutes walk away. To make your travels easier reception can organise exciting day trips to the Blue Mountains, Surfing lessons, Skydiving, Whale watching, Wine tasting and more .... AGE RESTRICTION: Adults only 18-35 years old in dormitory rooms. ___________________________________________________________ PROPERTY FACILITIES: FREE Wi-Fi ! Available in all areas and is free of charge. Close to Train Station - Courtyard - BBQ - Tour desk - Luggage storage - Lounge/TV - DVD - In-house movies - Playstation - Wii - Photocopying/Scan - Computers - Kitchen - Laundry - Non-smoking rooms - Designated smoking area - Airport Shuttle bus (surcharge) Popular with solo travellers! Best price guaranteed! No booking fees! No deposit! Additional Information about Blue Parrot Backpackers Price Range: $39 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Bed) Number of rooms: 8 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Parrot Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Parrot Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing