We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather average”
Review of The Maisonette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Maisonette
Ranked #4 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Firstly, ill put the review in context. I needed a short stay apartment in Sydney for work as I was waiting to move in to a new apartment so I booked this hotel in Potts Point. It is cheap from a price perspective and therefore I guess I couldnt really expect the Ritz but I think this hotel can do better.
The service is actually good - the staff are friendly and helpful.
The rooms are small, really really hot, noisy, the bathrooms are unclean and there is a funny smell in the rooms.
For 100-150 per night there is much better value in Sydney

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sampan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed several nights in this hotel in both a double and a twin room, we booked last minute which gave us some 'hot deals'. All rooms were decent with more than sufficient facilities. The staff was very helpful and efficient. Location in Potts Point is nice if you re looking for a cozy neighbourhood, bit noisy sometimes so bring your earpluggs if you re a light sleeper :) You get new towels every day, but the beds are not made up. Small effort that could make it look even better!

Room Tip: don't take room on the first floor if you re a early/light sleeper, restaurants on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

A very Sydney experience with its position close to everything and great cafes nearby. The staff were friendly and helpful and I would recommend this hotel to anyone .. I definitely intend staying there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at the back would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Toni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We decide to be in Sydney for the NYE without knowing that it is incredible expensive everywhere. This hotel is perfectly located in a very nice chic/cool area with cafes, restaurants and very close to subway stations, supermarket, and also 10-15 min down town. Opera house is walkable 15 min aprox through a nice park. Rooms are very small and basic also bathroom/toilet. It is more like a hostel with basic facilities but clean and nice. There is no air conditioning but ceiling fun. Good value for money, lovely neigborhood and very friendly staff. It is also very close to bars and nightlife; gay area as well. attention, no gym, no breakfast, no pool, and basic toilet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Felipe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Nice ensuite room, very comfy and clean, with microwave and fridge where you can fix your own breakfast, ....Excellent location, walking distance from a lot of cafes and shops. No elevator is the only complaint I have, so better be aware of the weight in your suitcases......but overall was a good experience! People at the front desk were very kind.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Four of us stayed at Maisonette in a triple room with double bed and two singles on a recent hens night. We were all amazed at the cleanliness and good value for money. Hotel room perfect for our two night stay. Hotel staff were nice. Situated above tasty cafes, and a bustling street with boutique shops. Around the corner from Woolworths if you need to grab something! A few minutes walk from the heart of Kings Cross and the train station. The city CBD approx 15 mins. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clarivan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Very friendly and helpful staff. Stayed in budget single room. Basic setup - tiny but very clean. Shared bathroom was always available and spotless. Room could get very hot (a mounted wall fan would be a useful addition to these rooms). The Maisionette is a great budget choice for those not keen on staying in a hostel. Watch out for the steep staircase (no lift). The location is brilliant - accessible to everything. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MyView0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#49 of 179 in Sydney
726 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,352 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#82 of 179 in Sydney
1,063 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maisonette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maisonette

Address: 31 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $113 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maisonette 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small well established affordable Boutique Hotel located in one of Sydney's premier locations known as Potts Point. Located only a short walk to the harbour foreshore, our hotel is an excellent choice for anyone wanting to experience the best that Sydney has to offer. Recently refurbished, our rooms have been styled to maximise space and comfort. Experience the chic village lifestyle that makes Potts Point one of Sydney's most envious urban precincts. The neighbourhood offers visitors a vast choice of quality cafes, restaurants, wine bars, as well as a range of eclectic boutiques, antiques and design stores. On our doorstep is also a supermarket, delicatessen, laundromat, whole food store, bakery as well as excellent transport options. Being small we pride ourselves in being able to offer a more personal approach. Our front desk team will go out of their way to ensure that your stay in Sydney is an enjoyable experience. We encourage guests to contact us direct so we can provide the best advise for your stay in Sydney. We are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Maisonette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing