We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$133
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Four Seasons Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$215
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Veriu Central(Sydney)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn Old Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Bayswater Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$84
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$196
US$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
744 results
Traveller rating
395
239
46
32
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
239
46
32
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssydney harbourgreat hostsb and brocks areaopera houseshared bathroomgreat locationheritage buildingcooked breakfastcahill expresswayother guestsheritage listedbridge climbnice breakfasttop floorcruise shipno lift
Filter
Updating list...
630 - 635 of 744 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was our first stop on our tour of Australia. The location was really good; just a few minutes walk to circular quay and the opera house, and to 2 metro stations. We had the Cook room on the third floor, which has a pretty good view of the opera house out the window. The place is a historic building, so don't expect the most modern fixtures or furniture. It was more than sufficient for us, though. Jeff was a great host, and made a good breakfast with his assistant (forgot his name). Not sure why the previous poster had communication problems; I made my booking over email with no problem and was expected when we arrived early Monday morning. Our room was even ready well before check in time, which was very welcome after our long flight. Jeff even carried both of our heavy bags up the to the third floor for us! There is no elevator in this old building!

Room Tip: The Cook room on the third floor has a view of the opera house and an en-suite bathroom. There is free Wifi available in the sitting room on the ground floor. The hotel is "elevated off of Cumberland Street", which means the entrance is about 6 - 7 feet above the street on an elevated walkway.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kupula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We four occupied a floor of this old building for 4 days, were very happy with the service and delighted by the location. We had a bathroom to ourselves. Walk downtown, numerous interesting places to visit and the kids got their fill of shopping with minimum transport.

We were quite nervous about getting about in Sydney but found this place relatively easily and were delighted not to have to use the car at all.

Yes, it creaks and groans a bit as it settles for the night, but it didn't bother us at all. Susannah Place Museum was interesting and the chocolate shop was hard to stay away from. We are from a remote rural area and wanted somewhere where the buildings and people didn't overwhelm us and The Rocks was perfect.

We had a final night visit from a friend who overnighted, despite us asking for the extra bed only the night before she arrived she was accommodated with no fuss.

Thanks, we'd go again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IVisit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is an amazing place in “The Rocks” very close to Sydney Harbour. My partner my daughter and I stayed here in December 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, in fact we were sad to leave. It’s a great area close to everything including Circular Quay, Sydney Bridge & the Opera House.

The owner is really friendly and helpful and he serves an amazing breakfast. The breakfast was abundant with plenty of fresh fruit, juice, toast, pancakes and eggs done anyway you want them. It’s great value as you can have as much or little as you want. We especially enjoyed our chats with the other residents over breakfast on the large indoor table but occasionally ate outside in the patio area. You are welcome to help yourself to tea and coffee throughout the day in their friendly kitchen.

Free wi-fi is also on offer with a great signal which my teenage daughter loved! We were free to come and go as we pleased as we were given a key.

It’s a restored heritage mansion with plenty of quirky features but if you prefer everything modern don’t stay here! You can choose whether to have an en-suite or shared bathroom but we opted for the shared and didn’t find it a problem. We found the rates to be very reasonable especially for the area. The room was clean with a little balcony & a tv. We forgot our travel plug so the owner leant us his.

We would definitely recommend this to anyone in the future travelling to Sydney who want a great location, friendly atmosphere and good food.

Room Tip: Shared bathroom was great no problem for us clean and only shared with one other couple
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2012

What a great place to stay in Sydney.
Bed & Breakfast Sydney Harbour is right in the Rocks. Close to Circular Quay which we walked to most days. The bridge climb is very close or very it’s close to just walk across the bridge for great views and an experience. The observatory is not far at all and the views from near there are very impressive to say the least.
Bed & Breakfast Sydney Harbour is a ‘restored heritage mansion’. There are a lot of different rooms to choose from. Rooms can have an ensuite or a bathroom to itself or a shared bathroom depending on which you like and choose.
We had the Lachlan room for our family of four. There was a queen sized bed and two single beds. There was a tv, airconditioner, small fridge and you can make yourself tea or coffee in the room.
The bathroom was in the corridor but for our own exclusive use and only our room key could open it. This room was on the second floor.
The most outstanding thing about this bed and breakfast was the breakfast, my goodness, the food was amazing, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, pancakes, bacon, eggs (anyway you like) fried tomatoes, toast, fruit toast, coffee and juices. You could sit in the dining room or outside, which is where we ate breakfast every morning and it was very pleasant. Breakfast also gives you the opportunity to meet other travellers if you wish to do so. The breakfast made the stay extremely good value especially when feeding a family. The staff are very friendly and helpful and there is a little dog to say hello to (mate).
We stayed 8 nights and received a 10% discount.
Wynyard train Station was walking distance as was Starbucks and endless places to eat. There are a lot of steps around including the bed & breakfast itself (no lifts). We had no need of taxis except for arriving and leaving as most people and families could walk to areas of interest.
I would highly recommend this Bed & breakfast for people and families travelling on a budget and wanting a great convenient location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KatheAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Started our vacation at The Bed and Breakfast Sydney Harbour. Great location and easy walk to the harbour, the Sydney Opera House and botanical gardens.
Traveled with our adult sons, stayed in the Lachlan room and had our own bathroom.
Jeff is a great host. The price is reasonable for a rather expensive city.
Wonderful breakfast everyday.

Room Tip: Lachlan room is good for a family of four. Lots of stairs.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diane33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews