We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Veriu Central(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$101
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
    Savings alert! 11% below average rates

    The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Four Seasons Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
    US$234
    US$168
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
    US$162
    US$123
    Radisson Blu
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Savings alert! 13% below average rates

    The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
    US$143
    US$133
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
    US$151
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
    US$99
    US$94
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar(Sydney)(Great Value!)
    US$97
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    US$160
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
    US$140
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Reviews (736)
    Filter reviews
    736 results
    Traveller rating
    393
    234
    46
    31
    32
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    393
    234
    46
    31
    32
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssydney harbourgreat hostsrocks areab and bopera houseshared bathroomgreat locationheritage buildingcooked breakfastcahill expresswayother guestsheritage listedbridge climbtaxi ranknice breakfastno elevatortop floor
    Filter
    Updating list...
    56 - 61 of 736 reviews
    Reviewed December 7, 2017

    Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast

    Sydney

    Perfect locality, dreadful location

    545690296

    We booked this B & B (the only B&B on our travels) because we had read how helpful the owners were and according to the Observer (I think) it was in the top 10 B & Bs in Australia. The reviews on Trip Advisor were generally good as well. We were so disappointed when we arrived because unbeknown to us (and not the owners fault) we had a shared bathroom which is pretty rare these days and the room we had was very scruffy, heavily marked wooden floors (no rugs), damaged furniture and difficult access to the wardrobe. It's french doors leading to the balcony (4ft x 18" with an air conditioning unit taking up over half of it) and the windows were dirty, the walls badly needed painting, the upholstered dining chair was badly stained and the whole room looked like it had been set up to look like a 1950s boarding house room. The bathroom was shared not only by another room but also by a large number of other guests who couldn't be bothered to climb the extra stairs to their own rooms. The dining room had plastic covers over the tablecloths, the breakfast was really poor quality although the elderly chinese couple who were there on a couple of days were very welcoming. We tried to book another hotel but there was absolutely no availability within 15km. Sleep was very hard to come by as our room was less than 20ft away from the main highway across Sidney Harbour bridge. I would advise anyone thinking of booking this B&B to ask where their room is in relation to the road. On our departure I would have expected to see either an employee or the owner but nothing, no one checking we were ok, no one asking for feedback but after looking around I did see him at his desk behind a door in the adjacent house obviously not interested in getting feedback. Perhaps the owners should look at B & Bs in England to see how it should be done.

    Stayed: November 2017
    2  Thank Alison D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Rockslobster, Owner at Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

    Dear Alison D

    Thank you very much for taking time to review and staying with us. We are disappointed that the stay was not enjoyable however your travel agent was responsible for booking the accommodation and not disclosing what they had booked for you and furthermore charged a premium on top which could have easily paid for an ensuite room with view. Had you booked direct we certainly would have assisted you in choosing the room that best suited your requirements. As much as we tried to assist you afterwards we were booked for the next 2 weeks solid.

    A few points worth mentioning, firstly regarding the decor. We note it wasn't to your personal taste either however as previously mentioned the place is Heritage listed and as you correctly mentioned a famous boarding house in Australia's history. It is not advertised any different. Secondly its quite normal for an aircon inverter to be positioned on a balcony - generally the motor is outside the room rather than inside.

    Its also no secret the B&B is in one of the best locations in Sydney. The key here is, the middle of the city where there are roads. We are not located in the countryside with with fields full of cows as our yard which may exist where you are suggesting we should visit. Sydney is a city of 6m people. Furthermore the B&B was here before the roads were and as much as we'd like to pick it up and move it a few meters back, we cannot, so we have spent tens of thousands sound proofing with specially made screens which prior guests have found super effective whereas others not so much.

    Lastly, it is worth mentioning we are in and out of the B&B more so now given we have just had a brand new addition to our family. So, please accept our apologies if you felt that we did not check up on yourselves enough. The flip side of that is that we have wonderful, friendly and highly skilled staff who can also help you out if we are required elsewhere.

    Warmest and best reagrds
    TheSHBBteam xx

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

    We spent three pleasant nights in the Townhouse.
    Location is superb with easy access to both The Rocks and CBD. Taxis are immediately outside and public transport close by.
    The rooms were clean, comfortable and surprisingly quiet.
    Breakfast was basic but tasty and plentiful.
    All the staff we met were friendly and helpful creating a very homely atmosphere.
    As a couple we highly recommend.

    Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    Thank Tony W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed December 3, 2017

    We live in rural NSW, but decided to go to the Rocks Market on Sunday 3/12 as it was my birthday. After walking around, having lunch, at the last minute (3pm roughly), we decided to find accommodation, no easy feat with 3 small children. My partner came across the Sydney Harbour B and B and gave them a call. He spoke with Linda who was very accommodating, even arranging parking. Price for a fmily room was great for the location compared to the hotel chains in the area. Breakfast was also included. We checked in, then went out for the evening to celebrate and have some dinner. Apon our arrival back at the B and B, we made use of the courtyard and the kids had a play, a huge bonus for this property. Family room was great, neat tidy and nicely decorated, with our own bathroom down the hall (not shared). Breakfast was good, the kids loved it. Even though it is in a busy part of the city, we all slept soundly and did not hear a thing. Overall we loved it, had a lovely time, highly recommend and would definately return, nothing was too much trouble.

    Room Tip: Nothing to add, fantastic
    • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    3  Thank Jane B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed November 30, 2017

    Most satisfactory and convenient accommodation. We had a little trouble with the Door bell at 5 min before closing. But after that it was clean convenient and easy going. Loved the cooked Breakfast and free WiFi.

    Room Tip: Easy access to Rocks precinct, Free WiFi. Good clean room. A great cooked breakfast included. What more can I ask?
    • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank GCM0455
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed November 24, 2017

    Linda and James are outstanding host and go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. The location was perfect for exploring The Rocks and to wait for or return from a cruise. It is a historical house in a historical neighborhood. It is old and not plush, but is quaint and comfortable. If quaint is not your cup of tea, go to the Four Seasons!

    Room Tip: Quaint B And B, not plush, just comfortable.
    Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    2  Thank Frances M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews