We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Small comfy theatre

Saw Calamity Jane here. The show was excellent. I had my reservation about going to a small theatre... read more

Reviewed October 3, 2018
Crazyfamof6
,
Sydney, Australia
Great theatre

I've been going to Belvoir since the 1970s and I love it. The two theatre spaces are intimate. The... read more

Reviewed September 29, 2018
Ann T
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 64 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sydney
from US$71.98
More Info
from US$71.98
More Info
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
43
18
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
18
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews box office calamity jane sugar house actors play production script stage audience intermission comedy
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 64 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2016

Do you admire a fabulous script?
Do you enjoy wonderful acting?
Do you want to be challenged?
Then Belvoir Street Theatre is the place for you. Try it and you will be enthralled.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Helena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2016

Leah Purcell has re-imagined and varied Henry Lawson's tale "The Drover's Wife" and stars in this production. The acting (5 actors in all) is excellent, the storyline very convincing and in parts, confronting. If you enjoy live theatre, don't miss this rivetting production.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank qaatalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2016

We enjoy our local theaters at home in Atlanta and were very impressed with the quality of the performances in the Drover's Wife. As for the general theater experience: getting to the theater by train (Central Station) was very easy and we felt safe in the area. Drinks available pre performance and the preassigned seats were comfortable. Overall a wonderful experience we would repeat on a return visit.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank DLRGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Call me spoilt, but I love Belvoir Street because it's like having the actors play just for you when you go to a play because its such an intimate theatre.

Shakespeare's Twelfth Night (Or what you will) was our play this time - the actors and audience thoroughly enjoyed themselves - the wit was sparkling, the acting exquisite - from Malvolio (on crutches) to the Festel (in a wheelchair), from Viola to Orsino to Olivia, from Sir Toby Belch to Sir Andrew Aguecheek, Maria & Sebastian.

The venue is easy to get to (parking can be tricky sometimes) Hal's Bar serves a good sparkling and a good coffee, and there are many good cheap pre-theatre restaurants nearby.

Well worth a subscription.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank AnthonyCordato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

Looking for something to do on a Friday night in Sydney and came across a play called Back at the Dojo at the Belvoir Street Theatre. Wasn't sure what to expect. What we experienced was a well written play performed by exceptional actors which made for a very enjoyable evening. Next time we visit Sydney we will check it out.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank GrantHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews