We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Small comfy theatre

Saw Calamity Jane here. The show was excellent. I had my reservation about going to a small theatre... read more

Reviewed October 3, 2018
Crazyfamof6
,
Sydney, Australia
Great theatre

I've been going to Belvoir since the 1970s and I love it. The two theatre spaces are intimate. The... read more

Reviewed September 29, 2018
Ann T
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 64 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sydney
from US$219.20
More Info
from US$197.20
More Info
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
43
18
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
18
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews calamity jane sugar house actors play production script stage audience rover intermission comedy
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 64 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

Not every traveller goes to the theatre (though they should-how better to experience a community and it's culture than by hearing its stories).

If, like me, you search out theatre when on holidays then you cannot miss a production at Belvoir. To be clear Sydney is my home and in my home Belvoir is the best theatre to be had.

The productions are wonderfully professional but more importantly the company places community at its centre. Belvoir leads the way for a main stream professional company in putting modern Australian stories on the stage. That presentation includes and priorities the tales and faces of non-majority community-Indigenous, immigrant, disenfranchised, disabled and LGBTIQ community.

Belvoir's home is not glitzy from the outside looks are deceiving. Easy to get to (a 10 minute walk from Central station). Its main theatre offers comfortable seating and excellent viewing wherever you are seated and downstairs (which offers independent and experimental theatre) has introduced some of Australia's leading Indigenous playwrights and actors (Belvoir runs a resident program for young Indigenous writers).

If you're in Sydney and theatrically inclined go and see a show here. The productions are equal to if not better than anything you'll see anywhere else including London and New York.

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank joeh712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2016

We never lose the passion and excitement as the lights dim and the actors materialise out of the dark. This theatre consistently engages Oz's most prominent playwrights, directors actors and designers. Looking towards participating ringside for Prize Fighter for a rare theatrical combo of storytelling pared with the thrill of live boxing in adrenaline-pumping, full contact theatre

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2016

Do you admire a fabulous script?
Do you enjoy wonderful acting?
Do you want to be challenged?
Then Belvoir Street Theatre is the place for you. Try it and you will be enthralled.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Helena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2016

Leah Purcell has re-imagined and varied Henry Lawson's tale "The Drover's Wife" and stars in this production. The acting (5 actors in all) is excellent, the storyline very convincing and in parts, confronting. If you enjoy live theatre, don't miss this rivetting production.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank qaatalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2016

We enjoy our local theaters at home in Atlanta and were very impressed with the quality of the performances in the Drover's Wife. As for the general theater experience: getting to the theater by train (Central Station) was very easy and we felt safe in the area. Drinks available pre performance and the preassigned seats were comfortable. Overall a wonderful experience we would repeat on a return visit.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank DLRGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews