We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$134
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$234
US$168
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Old Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Veriu Central(Sydney)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$202
US$161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Bayswater Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
54
21
3
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
21
3
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblackwattle baylight railother guestsglebe point rdset us up for the dayfresh fruitshort walkcafes and restaurantseach morningspent two nightsa lovely staystay there againeasy walkair conditioningvisiting sydneyjuliennefoxtel
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 87 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2016

I stayed at this hotel while having work done to my house and this Hotel is outstanding in comfort, price and hospitality.
The very friendly owner and staff make you feel welcome from the moment you check in.
This is a peaceful oasis in the city of Sydney and wonderfully location near many fantastic cafes, restaurants, Sydney University, light rail station and a bus stop across the road. One of the best things about this hotel apart from cleanliness, comfort, free wifi, lovely towels, linen and the continental breakfast included in the price is the wonderfully regular professionals and interesting conversations you have at the breakfast table in the morning. Also, the helpful information that the owner and staff are happy to give, if you asked.
This small hotel is one of the best I've stayed in during my travels in Australia and the world.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top room of the hotel and it was lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

I have never in my entire life had such despicable and unprofessional treatment meted out by a hotel or bed and breakfast. I travel and book over 170 nights of hotel and bed and breakfast stays in a year and I can safely say this is THE WORST place I've experienced. I arrived early after a 36 hour journey to be shoved off like some common tramp by the owner to the the local railway station to store my luggage as they don't check-in until 2pm! When I asked her why she can't store my luggage for what was a few hours so that I could go and get some breakfast she quoted BS about it being a fire risk! When I exclaimed that it was raining and I had just been travelling over 30 hours she and a another resident started screaming at me that I was disturbing the other guests and that they are calling the police!
I'm sure that if I had been a white person asking the same thing, she would've been more accommodating.
This truly has been a disappointing experience of Sydney and I am sure all Aussies will be sorry to see such disgusting behaviour been given to tourists from other countries. I contacted Expedia and Hotels.com to have this hotel removed from their listings as I feel the owner was racially motivated in her behaviour and there is no place for such establishments on these or other sites. So, please do not book this hotel, it's better to go anywhere else but here!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank ZaahidBharmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronag2016, Owner at Verona Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

I will put your behaviour down to jetlag but never have i been called a "stupid xxxx xxxx" by anyone. Our checkin times are clear on expedia. Had you contacted me in advance rather than turning upon the front doorstep bashing on the door at 7am whilst other guests were sleeping I would have told you that we cannot accommodate early checkin. Under no circumstances am I a racist. My late father was half Indian. Another guest intervened on my behalf and told me to call the police. I did not call the police but i certainly felt intimidated. For all guest booking through expedia, I urge you to read the booking conditions which you accept:
Check-in time 2 PM-8 PM
Check-out time is 10 AM
The front desk is open daily from 2 PM - 8 PM
There is no after-hours reception at this property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2016

This guest house is one of Glebe's original old mansions which has been modernised without losing its charm. Although on a comparatively busy road, traffic noise was minimal. Scenic Blackwattle Bay is a 10 minute walk away, and there are countless very good restaurants and cafes within a 2 minute walk. It is most reasonably priced, and the breakfast (inclusive) provided by the charming proprietor is excellent. The bus to the city is opposite and seems to run every 10 minutes or so. We were delighted with this find, and certainly will be returning!

Room Tip: Probably rooms on the upper floor are quieter as further away from front door entry. Note that rooms have double beds, not queen size.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Dorothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2016

Absolutely loved this guest house. A warm welcome greats you each morning over a fantastic breakfast which will ensure you are full and ready for the day. Fantastic eggs!! Beautifully clean and well looked after rooms with fresh towels every other day which although I usually would find a little wasteful I did love having them. It is only 30 minutes or so to walk into town, a nice walk too. Through the bus stops right outside and only takes 10!

Room Tip: Can be noisy being in a front room
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank honeymoon134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Glebe Verona Hotel whilst travelling through Australia. It was close enough to city centre to walk (30min) but only a short bus journey too. The breakfast was extremely nice and filled you for the day! The hotel room it's self was cosy, quiet and clean whilst the B&B was everything you needed. Lovely hosts too! Thank you for a great stay in Sydney

Stayed: September 2015
4  Thank Ashleigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews