We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in a Hip Location”
Review of Verona Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Verona Guest House
Ranked #11 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We have stayed in many places in Glebe and surrounds and wished we had found this sooner. Great location near the harbour and light rail and a short walk down to the restaurants and Paramatta Road. We also wanted to go to the Glebe craft market on Saturday and we were not disappointed. The Guest House is run by the owners and they provide a terrific healthy breakfast including eggs. The also work hard to keep noise low so guests can relax. I liked the range of magazines and newspapers on offer. Our only issue was that our room had a squeezy double bed while we have a king at home - first world problem.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room at the front which gave plenty of light and access to the balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Andy_James142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Verona Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2016

I stayed at this hotel while having work done to my house and this Hotel is outstanding in comfort, price and hospitality.
The very friendly owner and staff make you feel welcome from the moment you check in.
This is a peaceful oasis in the city of Sydney and wonderfully location near many fantastic cafes, restaurants, Sydney University, light rail station and a bus stop across the road. One of the best things about this hotel apart from cleanliness, comfort, free wifi, lovely towels, linen and the continental breakfast included in the price is the wonderfully regular professionals and interesting conversations you have at the breakfast table in the morning. Also, the helpful information that the owner and staff are happy to give, if you asked.
This small hotel is one of the best I've stayed in during my travels in Australia and the world.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top room of the hotel and it was lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

I have never in my entire life had such despicable and unprofessional treatment meted out by a hotel or bed and breakfast. I travel and book over 170 nights of hotel and bed and breakfast stays in a year and I can safely say this is THE WORST place I've experienced. I arrived early after a 36 hour journey to be shoved off like some common tramp by the owner to the the local railway station to store my luggage as they don't check-in until 2pm! When I asked her why she can't store my luggage for what was a few hours so that I could go and get some breakfast she quoted BS about it being a fire risk! When I exclaimed that it was raining and I had just been travelling over 30 hours she and a another resident started screaming at me that I was disturbing the other guests and that they are calling the police!
I'm sure that if I had been a white person asking the same thing, she would've been more accommodating.
This truly has been a disappointing experience of Sydney and I am sure all Aussies will be sorry to see such disgusting behaviour been given to tourists from other countries. I contacted Expedia and Hotels.com to have this hotel removed from their listings as I feel the owner was racially motivated in her behaviour and there is no place for such establishments on these or other sites. So, please do not book this hotel, it's better to go anywhere else but here!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank ZaahidBharmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronag2016, Owner at Verona Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

I will put your behaviour down to jetlag but never have i been called a "stupid xxxx xxxx" by anyone. Our checkin times are clear on expedia. Had you contacted me in advance rather than turning upon the front doorstep bashing on the door at 7am whilst other guests were sleeping I would have told you that we cannot accommodate early checkin. Under no circumstances am I a racist. My late father was half Indian. Another guest intervened on my behalf and told me to call the police. I did not call the police but i certainly felt intimidated. For all guest booking through expedia, I urge you to read the booking conditions which you accept:
Check-in time 2 PM-8 PM
Check-out time is 10 AM
The front desk is open daily from 2 PM - 8 PM
There is no after-hours reception at this property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This guest house is one of Glebe's original old mansions which has been modernised without losing its charm. Although on a comparatively busy road, traffic noise was minimal. Scenic Blackwattle Bay is a 10 minute walk away, and there are countless very good restaurants and cafes within a 2 minute walk. It is most reasonably priced, and the breakfast (inclusive) provided by the charming proprietor is excellent. The bus to the city is opposite and seems to run every 10 minutes or so. We were delighted with this find, and certainly will be returning!

Room Tip: Probably rooms on the upper floor are quieter as further away from front door entry. Note that rooms...
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Dorothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Absolutely loved this guest house. A warm welcome greats you each morning over a fantastic breakfast which will ensure you are full and ready for the day. Fantastic eggs!! Beautifully clean and well looked after rooms with fresh towels every other day which although I usually would find a little wasteful I did love having them. It is only 30 minutes or so to walk into town, a nice walk too. Through the bus stops right outside and only takes 10!

Room Tip: Can be noisy being in a front room
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank honeymoon134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Glebe Verona Hotel whilst travelling through Australia. It was close enough to city centre to walk (30min) but only a short bus journey too. The breakfast was extremely nice and filled you for the day! The hotel room it's self was cosy, quiet and clean whilst the B&B was everything you needed. Lovely hosts too! Thank you for a great stay in Sydney

Stayed: September 2015
4  Thank Ashleigh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

My husband and I stayed at Verona guesthouse in Glebe for 2 nights. We were both very happy with the quality of the accommodation and the location. We had a room at the front of the house on the top floor. The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small but it had everything that was needed. There was a small bar-fridge, TV, desk and double bed. Glebe Point Road is a reasonably busy road but the traffic noise was not an issue as it slows down at night.

There is a lovely communal lounge room with TV and foxtel, and a kitchen that has a very well stocked fridge with juices, fruit nuts bread, tea coffee etc. Julieanne, the host prepared us eggs in the morning and it was a nice opportunity to chat with her and other guests. WiFi was reliable. The rooms have air conditioning.

The guest house is near many restaurants and only a short walk to Darling Harbour and the Sydney Fish Markets. There is public transport very nearby.

Parking is on the street. Most of the surrounding areas are 2 hour parking however there are some all days spots that you need to watch out for.

I would recommend Verona.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#47 of 178 in Sydney
702 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 178 in Sydney
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vulcan Hotel
#79 of 178 in Sydney
400 reviews
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verona Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verona Guest House

Address: 224 Glebe Point Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $138 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Verona Guest House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2017 Tripadvisor, Trivago and HotelsCombined Winner, Verona Guest House is one of six identical villas known as the Doctors' Houses in Glebe's prestigious Toxteth Estate. Just 10 minutes to the CBD via light rail or bus, it is the ideal location for those wishing to explore the city yet remain in a village atmosphere. There are 8 boutique rooms with private ensuites, aircon, TV/DVD player, bar fridge and free wifi connection. A daily continental breakfast is provided between 7am-10am. There is free 2 hour free parking on Glebe Point Road MON-FRI 8am-6pm (unrestricted evenings and weekends). Glebe's Blackwattle Bay is a five minute walk to the Tramsheds at Harold Park, the Boat House Restaurant then further through to Sydney's historic fish markets. Sydney University, UTS, RPA and Broadway shopping centre are a 10 minute walk away. Be sure to visit Gleebooks and the Saturday markets located in Glebe's Public school. We are pleased to announce that Esca cafe provides 10% off all meals to guests staying at Verona Guest House. Please note that our checkin hours are 2pm-8pm daily. We regret that we cannot provide early checkin or late checkout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Verona Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verona Guesthouse Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing