We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Gem in the Heart of Sydney”
Review of PJ O'Brien's

PJ O'Brien's
Ranked #297 of 6,485 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Located within the Grace Hotel complex on the corner of King & York Streets P.J.O'Brien's offers a taste of Ireland in the heart of the CBD. The warm glow of the open fire and traditional Irish music drowning out the hustle and bustle of city life. As daylight fades the 'craic' begins, settle in with a creamy pint of Guinness or one of our many beers, wines and spirits. Our kitchen offers a variety of savoury Irish dishes, pizza and contemporary pub meals. Let the friendly staff at P.J.O'Brien's make your day or night an occasion to remember, come in, kick back and discover the 'craic' that P.J.O'Brien's is famous for
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A welcoming Irish feeling upon entering. The food and service could not be faulted, service with a smile from Irish Staff with home comfort food. If you want good quality Irish food and a decent pint in the heart of Sydney, go nowhere else!

1  Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsObriens_Syd, Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sophie,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review!

We work hard in providing great service matched with delicious food, so it's always fantastic to read reviews such as yours. It makes all the hard work worth it.

We will pass on your comments to the staff.

We hope to see you again soon.

Slainte!

The team at P.J.O'Brien's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited at approx 2 hours before closing from advertised closing on the door.
They turned the music off and put all the chairs on the tables they clearly wanted us out.
I visit a lot of bars and was looking forward to having a few drinks so was clearly disappointed.

Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsObriens_Syd, Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Laura,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

At times, (notably Sunday and Monday Nights) one or two hours before closing we can find ourselves with very little to no patrons in our venue. Unfortunately, due to labour costs, when we find our selves in this position, we have no choice but to close our establishment a little earlier than usual.

With our closing hours on the door, we can understand why you were frustrated that we did not adhere entirely to these hours and we apologise for any inconvenience that we might have caused.

Again, thank you for your review, and we hope you understand why we began closing a little earlier than advertised.

We hope this experience does not keep you from giving us another try in the future.

Slainte,

The team at P.J.O'Brien's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have eaten here twice in the past week and found the food good. There is table service upstairs in the restaurant and you can order from the bar downstairs. We had a mixture of dishes - steaks, chicken curry, chicken schnitzel and barramundi with champ, all of which were very tasty. Staff are friendly and pleasant.

1  Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to O'Brien's twice. The first time we had good beer and dinner. O 'Briens has Guiness and Kilkenny, is very popular and very loud.

O'Brien's advertises a Friday deal of a pint of Guiness and half dozen oysters for $17--a good price. The advertisement for this deal is on the webpage as well on cards on all the tables. The advertisement said the deal was in effect all day every Friday.

We organized our Friday in order to use that special and try the local oysters.
We arrived at O'Briens 4:30 on Friday. When we tried to order the oysters, a surly bartender told us the kitchen did not open until 5:30. Oysters were not available despite all of the ads (including the ads on each table) touting the ""äll day long" oyster special.

We don't know why we could not get the oyster/Guiness special. The bartender did not offer any explanation other than that the kitchen was closed. False advertising, as far as we are concerned. We did not stay for the kitchen to open and we will not be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeeCee100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Conveniently in complex with The Grace Hotel, it was accessible late night dining for tired feet. Menu and food ordered were above average for pub fare. Disappointed that daily special - fish and chips - had sold out by 9PM. Slow service and overly loud dining room no surprise. Will make it uncomfortable for families - in dining room as well as bar.

Thank MikelSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PJ O'Brien's also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to PJ O'Brien's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing