We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
702
77
28
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
702
77
28
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dune house luxury tents the main lodge hot water bottles southern ocean lodge kangaroo island food and wine other guests uninterrupted view of uluru french champagne ayers rock private dinner included tours matched wines kata tjuta helicopter trip once in a lifetime
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 824 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2018

Longitude 131 certainly sets the bar high for themselves, the web site promises the world (well Ayers Rock) and they certainly make every effort to deliver.

From being collected from the airport to your return (they even print the boarding cards for you, and give you a fast track security voucher), just about everything runs very smoothly.

The accommodation is great, the food is excellent, the tours interesting and the guides seem genuinely enthusiastic.

There is huge open bar in the main building, and a decent size mini bar in the rooms, and at the pool side. It was nice knowing this was available, but as drinks were also served with the meals, there was almost no need to take advantage off it.

So all very positive

Just a couple of observations.

We stayed for 2 nights at the start of February, and temperatures reached 42 degrees, so the air conditioning in our “tent” did struggle somewhat. Even a cold shower couldn’t really help, as even the cold water was warm. It was also difficult to use the terrace due to the heat and the flies (though a fly net is provided to wear over your hat).

The staff, without exception are enthusiastic and eager to please, though they have all obviously been trained to formally introduce themselves the first time they interact with a new customer. However as you probably meet 10 members of staff over your two days, this doesn’t quite feel natural, and could possibly be toned down a little.

The well oiled machine didn’t quite work to perfection when Mrs Enthusiasm Curbed didn’t feel well enough to attend the table 131 outdoor dining experience following the field of lights.
It was initially handled very well by the tour guide, in that we were taken back to the hotel, were offered soup (we assume all the kitchen staff were at table 131), but were then told we couldn’t have it in our room, as they don’t do room service. We were instead offered a packet of chips. As Mrs Enthusiasm Curbed needed to get back to the room we simply took the offered crisps and were sent on our way with a cheery “if there is anything else I| can help with…”.

We were intending on mentioning this at check out the next day, but as the receptionist didn’t ask about our stay, and he already seemed heart broken that were leaving (“I hate this moment when we have to say good bye” – and we had only met him the previous day) it didn’t seem appropriate.

If you are tempted to book a helicopter flight it would seem that that these need to be reserved well in advance, as we checked availability in the morning for an afternoon flight, and were later told by the receptionist (which is probably explains why he was heart broken) that they were fully booked.

Apart from that very minor issue, which only occurred because we stepped out of the carefully planned schedule, and the temperatures (which is due to our choice of the time of year) , Longitude 131 was an excellent experience and one we would highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EnthusiasmCurbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baillie-Lodges-2017, Marketing Manager at Longitude 131, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Dear EnthusiasmCurbed

Thank you for your review. We're thrilled that overall your experience of Longitude 131 delivered on expectations - from the quality of cuisine and interpretive touring to the comfort of your tent (hot weather aside - if only we could control it!).

The excellent service provided by our team is often remarked upon and as you have experienced, our philosophy is founded on a warm, first-name basis - as is the Australian way; but we take on board the mention of repetition and shall consider toning down the enthusiasm.

With regards to the evening your wife felt unwell, we understand a food order was placed by our guide as you were being conveyed back to the lodge and arrangements made for express dining in the Dune House restaurant (after it was explained that room service is not part of our offering). We understand that perhaps tiredness overcame appetite as upon your return the prepared dinner service was declined in preference for return to your tent.

Minor issue aside (as you say), we're pleased that in balance you're able to very positively endorse the lodge and experience and we hope to welcome you back some day.

Kind regards | Alison Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

Love this spot. We only stayed two nights and we really wished we had longer. The staff provided some of the best service I’ve experienced. Took advantage of the tours provided and wished we had another day or two to enjoy the resort. We highly recommend ❤️

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank lorif438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

Best of class in its category of top notch service and accommodation. You cannot stay any closer to ULURU ( Ayers Rock) as here. Team is very welcoming, professional and service orientated. Tour guides ( both Caroline and Kate) are true professionals and pleasant with good sense of humour.
I leave it up to you to discover the surprises Longtitude has on offer. Again TOP NOTCH .

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank wvdz2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2018

We spent four nights here at the end of November - four very memorable nights! They transformed our ideas of Central Australia and we would be happy to return. For a very special trip it is well worth the experience. Unforgettable! The only slight criticism I would have is that our visit to the Field of Light was badly organised and very rushed and it need not have been so. That was one of the drawcards that we came to see and it was disappointing - and we were not the only people to feel this way. True it had to be rearranged because of the weather but this happens quite a bit and it should still have been possible to organise it better than it was.. We were asked to be ready at a certain time, and we were, but then we were hanging around for ages before we left and when we got to the Field we were told we had to be back to be taken to the for dinner under the stars in fifteen minutes! We set off into the Field feeling rather stressed - especially as I have mobility issues - and then one of the staff came after us and said not to rush but he would wait for thirty minutes. But the whole visit to the Field really fell far below every other experience we had and it was a pity.

Date of stay: November 2017
1  Thank Sumaralja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baillie-Lodges-2017, Marketing Manager at Longitude 131, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Dear Sumaralja,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. The notion that your stay at Longitude 131° transformed your impressions of Uluru-Kata Tjuta is so rewarding to hear. When our stewardship of the property began in 2013, our goal was to the enhance the already extraordinary experience by creating an even deeper connection with the desert landscape and the indigenous culture. To have fulfilled this throughout your four nights with us is truly wonderful.

With regards to Field of Light, on occasion plans need to be very quickly reconfigured when weather conditions change and we're sorry you feel this compromised your experience but seemingly everything was resolved in the end.

We're thrilled that overall you take with you enduring memories. On behalf of the team, Palya!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2018

Whilst on holiday in Australia we flew to Ayers Rock from Sydney for a 2 night stay at Longitude 131 having seen a media review about the place. Everything about the 2 days delivered above expectations. It's website does not over exaggerate the ambience and quality of this operation. The programme of guided tours was about right (albeit a very early start on one day!). In particular the quality of food and service is of the highest level and the tented accommodation is excellent. The highlight was sleeping outside under the stars on your own balcony. In addition they kept coming up with little surprises which are not expected but are delightful. The view from the room, particularly at sunrise was breathtaking. Longitude is not for those on a budget to say the least yet it gave the feeling of great value. For a once in a lifetime experience, it would be hard to beat.

Room tip: All rooms have a clear view of Uluru with private balconies. Ask for room near the main clubhouse.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews