We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day out ”

Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.19*
and up
Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary Day Pass
Ranked #10 of 389 things to do in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover over 100 species of Australian native animals in a beautiful, natural bush setting at the World's first and largest koala sanctuary. Meet a koala, hand-feed kangaroos, marvel at the playful platypus, and enjoy a full daily schedule of keeper talks and activities, including Sheep Dog Show and Wild Lorikeet Feeding. Amenities: free wiFi everywhere, parents' rooms & cafe
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We have been many times and love it everytime. A wonderful place for families. Well kept enclosures with exciting shows and plenty to do and see.

Thank Hollye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonePineKoala, Front Office Manager at Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review. With talks and shows occuring every half an hour throughout the day, we hope you were able to experience numerous activities and took away many new and interesting facts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"australian animals"
in 379 reviews
"tasmanian devils"
in 228 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 194 reviews
"sheep dog show"
in 117 reviews
"bird show"
in 113 reviews
"kangaroo food"
in 98 reviews
"kangaroo feeding"
in 71 reviews
"kangaroo area"
in 59 reviews
"australia zoo"
in 168 reviews
"overseas visitors"
in 171 reviews
"boat trip"
in 69 reviews
"take photos"
in 76 reviews
"the river"
in 333 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 89 reviews
"visiting brisbane"
in 78 reviews
"platypus"
in 464 reviews
"cuddle"
in 611 reviews
Filter

199 - 203 of 6,751 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

We were visiting Brisbane as a day trip from our cruise ship . There was an official trip here from the ship but we chose to make our own way here. The tourist information office could not have been more helpful. Our shuttle bus was met by their representatives who had leaflets and information on all places of interest in and around Brisbane .We decided to visit the Koala sanctuary and were given a discounted entrance fee through booking with the tourist office. They also gave us a bus timetable and explained where the bus stops were and the fare structure. Off we went. The sanctuary was well laid out and had many other features and animals as well as Koalas. I had my photograph taken cuddling a Koala which was amazing. The photos are ready for collection immediately. No waiting around. All in all we spent a lovely afternoon here. When we got back to the ship some of our fellow passengers were sorry they’d gone on the official trip rather than doing it themselves. They had paid a lot more than we had...even their photo was more expensive !

Thank GaryandGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonePineKoala, Front Office Manager at Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review. Holding a koala in your own arms is certainly a memorable experience which we are glad you enjoyed. We hope to welcome you to Lone Pine again during your next visit to Brisbane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

A must visit when in Brisbane. Few places in Australia allows you to handle Koala and when you in Brisbane, it’s a must visit.

They have few animals to be seen and get up close with. Koala, kangaroos, Kiwi, Dingo, Wonton.

You can feed the kangaroos .. sit with them, pamper them and then spend 20$ to get a pic with a koala .. I would say it’s a worth thing to do.

Thank Sharad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonePineKoala, Front Office Manager at Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review. Being only one of two states in Australia where you can hold a koala, it is certainly a unique and special experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We came to Lone Pine with our two children (9 & 7) while on holiday. My husband and I had come back in 2004. It was wonderful to bring our kids here to experience Lone Pine.

The staff were amazingly helpful. We purchases our tickets online and I only had my PayPal receipt. My tickets weren't showing in the system. The lady at ticket counter was very sweet and helpful (2pm on the 4th of April) and just took a photo of my confirmation allowed us in. In other places, I know that could have caused serious issues. I appreciate that she was so accommodating.

On top of that, we misunderstood the times for holding/petting the koalas. It was the one thing our 9 year old wanted to do. We understood the tickets for holding and only a set number of tickets. We took a chance and asked the staff down at the koala holding area if they would allow our kids to quickly pet one. The staff were so kind and helpful. And the pure joy on our daughter's face was priceless when she got to spend time petting the sweet little Rosé.

I loved Lone Pine in 2004 and I loved it even more today with my children. Thank you for the awesome memories we'll never forget.

Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonePineKoala, Front Office Manager at Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that you were able to visit again after 14 years, with your children, and took away many memories. We hope to welcome you to Lone Pine again soon during your next holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We arrived later in the day and no koala photo sessions were available. The staff at the koala exhibit were sweet enough to allow our daughter to have a photo taken right as the exhibit was closing. Also highly recommended for all the exhibits, especially the open kangaroo area. Will visit again.

Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonePineKoala, Front Office Manager at Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review. Next time you visit, be sure to also attend our free ‘Meet a Koala’ opportunity at 1pm daily, where you can meet and pat one of our koalas while a keeper holds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing