We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a bit worried, phew....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #82 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I read a few reviews of the Marque before we left, and some of them we quite scathing, so I was a bit worried.

Sure our room was a bit tired, but if you want an inner city location at a reasonble price the Marque is great!!

Having the pool on a hot afternoon was a superb option. To have the restaurant on the ground floor, if you didn't fancy wandering into town for meals was also very handy.

All but one staff member were freindly and helpful, so not a bad percentage really.

Thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fionna_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,330 - 1,336 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

Our deal included a bottle of wine but it was not in our room. After a call to reception one was deliverered to the room - but it was warm. Hubby made a trip to reception and best they could manage was an ice bucket of ice and a few appologies. Aircon could not be made cool enough. Great location and nice buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kochie4421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

In a room that the aircon made noise all night long even when turned off. Reception could not offer a resolution after three phone calls during the night.
Stayed two days and got a call after the first on my mobile asking why my bags were still in the room - because I'm booked in for two nights, no apology just bad service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MexicanVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Neat, tidy and comfortable. The gym is not a real gym, just 1x total station (Small), 1x cycle, and 1x treadmill. Meals are not 24/7

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side above level 5 have a view of fireworks at Southbank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The first stop on our Australian trip. The room was of reasonable size and clean but decoratively rather tired. Location was excellent for an easy walk to the botanic gardens, river, South Bank (over Victoria bridge) and shops and cafes. Pedestrianised Elizabeth St. is very close and has bars and restaurants - unfortunately for Brits these are very expensive. Reception staff very helpful in arranging car rental.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_MrsB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms was very clean and spacious. The location was great! Everything was within walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

An excellently located hotel with average service. Rooms on the rear side are not worth as you end up looking into office floors directly.

Room Tip: Ask for front river facing rooms on higher floors only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goyalair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 km away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 169 in Brisbane
1,612 reviews
1.6 km away
Oakwood Hotel & Apartments Brisbane
1 km away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#54 of 169 in Brisbane
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
Watermark Hotel Brisbane
#33 of 169 in Brisbane
470 reviews
0.2 km away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
1.2 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel

Address: 103 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#70 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $77 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane (formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George) offers a variety of fully refurbished standard and executive rooms in the heart of Brisbane's CBD (Central Business District). Each of our 99 rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a refrigerator, tea/coffee making facilities, flat-screen TV's, an iPod dock and a work desk. Whether for business or leisure, you will appreciate having the best of Brisbane at your doorstep as we are a short walk from the exciting Treasury Casino, Brisbane City Hall, the Botanic Gardens, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parkland. Also, The Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Center, Suncorp Stadium and the Gabba are within easy reach of the hotel. Highlights at this hotel include 24-hour reception, an outdoor swimming pool, a rooftop terrace, small exercise room and secure parking is available at an additional cost. **Refurbishment will be taking place in the restaurant and lobby from Mid December 2016 to April 2017** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Marque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing