We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Base Brisbane Uptown
Nearby Hotels
Oaks Felix(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Oaks Charlotte Towers(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
US$152
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$72
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Emporium Hotel(Brisbane)
US$141
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$113
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
76
75
65
55
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
75
65
55
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguilty roguebar attachedtravel deskeast coast tripfemale dormgreyhound buscleaned dailytransit centernear the train stationenjoyed my staystayed longergood nights sleeproom keythe location is perfectacross the roadsouth bankensuite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good hostel with good location to the bus/train station. Facilities were good however we stayed in a 14bed dorm with only one plug socket available. Beds were comfy and rooms/bathrooms were clean. Kitchen was ok. There is free wifi only on reception level from 7am-7pm daily but very slow if lots of people are using it, otherwise have to pay for wifi!! Brisbane city free wifi is great though. Would stay again but only for a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisiedooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Got to Brisbane on the bus, only planing to stay a few nights as we heard that's all we needed in Brizzie. Unfortunately that's all we heard so while checking in we asked the receptionist, Luca - a very tall german lad what was worth seeing/doing. He was incredibly helpful going into great detail on The best spots in the city. The kitchen is very big and the common room was lovely. I enjoyed my stay at base and will be back when I'm coming back down the east coast again. Friendly staff and a nice city.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ConorShivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basecrew, Front Office Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we are pleased to hear that Luca was so helpful, he does know his stuff!!
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope you come and stay again soon!

Safe Travels
Base Uptown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Would not stay here again, especially with all the other hostels near by. Room was very untidy, I had no idea which beds were free as all looked very messy. En suite set up was terrible, toilet and two showers with only some transparent glass between the showers. I was in a 10 bed mixed dorm and could only find one double socket, and people were charging their phones etc so I could charge anything. Asked at reception for an extension lead so we could all have a socket only to be told you can buy one! Which I think was terrible!! Room also had no floor space so was climbing over everyone's bags to get to my bed.

Stay in any of the other backpackers just up the road

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank olliecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We only asked for a place to store our luggage for one day as we had to leave the hostel we'd been staying in before earlier. It was no problem at all - and so we could spent some more time in Brisbane without having to carry our bags the whole day.

Thanks to Tom and the other guys!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Theneedfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Good location, but the wifi was not working. The AC was broken and we weren’t able to change temperature/heat/fan. The guy at the reception wasn’t able to help fix it either.
Room could have been cleaner as well.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews