We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly and clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Bender Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banana Bender Backpackers
Ranked #52 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly and clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I stayed there for 4 nights, 2 nights in a private bedroom and 2 nights in a 4 share.
Keep in mind, last time I stayed in a backpacker was 15 years ago...
While it is an old hostel, it is cleaned on a daily basis (twice daily, I believe, for the kitchen).
The 2 older (sorry mate! ;)) Aussie guys that run the shop were very friendly, and they also keep everybody in check so there was no anarchy and they kept good vibes going.
Even if the hostel was at full capacity, I never had a problem using the facilities (I didn't use the kitchen at all, so I can't comment on that).
The outdoor area is very good (nice views!) and it makes it easy to have a chat with other fellow travellers. I found out there was quite a few people that stay there for months so they must do something right.
There is a Coles supermarket at less than 3 minutes walk and also a fair amount of shops/bars/restaurants in the vicinity. It's 10/15 minutes walk to the city.
The shuttle from the airport to the door of the hostel is $20 (it's not called Skytrans by the way), the ticket office is just out of the airport, near the Virgin 'departure' sign.
Wifi is $5 a day, $7 for 2 (there is also a weekly rate), and it's quick and thru the hostel.
If I go back to Brisbane I will stay there again, as I heard some horror stories about the other hostels.
It's more of a 'grown up' hostel than a party place and that what I was looking for.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alavotre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    44
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
25
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Great outdoor areas, chilled out vibe and good setup! Our room smelt a little bit moldy but the vibe of the place and the people made up for it. Rooms could do with a bit of an upgrade but it is a backpackers afterall. Would definetly recommend banana benders to fellow travelers over other hostels in Brisbane.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breezeinnbackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had searched online looking at various hostels throughout Brisbane from the UK as we were flying shortly after and needed a place to stay for a while. We really liked the look of Banana Benders, as well as the prices, so decided to give them a shout to ask them a few important questions.

The main question we had was if they allow late check ins as our flight actually arrived early hours of the morning in Brisbane, which is common and difficult to overcome on such long trips. We sent a message via email and had a very bold and rude prompt response which basically said 'No we don't do late check ins you'll have to find elsewhere'. This is a disgraceful attitude towards potential customers, so we have chosen to avoid this hostel due to its lack of customer service.

Perhaps others will meet better staff but being welcomed into another country is of utmost importance. So be aware!

Room Tip: Contact the hostel before you book to ask questions and make sure you are getting the right welcome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesDude86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBenders, Manager at Banana Bender Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Sorry WalesDude86 but Banana Benders has been unable to find any record of our email exchange. We are particularly surprised someone would consider the wording of any email that Bananas would sent to potential customers as a "disgraceful attitude" - reading your post , you were obviously disappointed that we were unable to assist with your accommodation needs at that time. Please try again next time you're in Brisbane - you won't be disappointed (7.00-23.00)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I have stayed in many hostels all over the world, and also many hotels. I stayed in Banana Benders hostel for a period of three months in total.

Overall most of the staff were friendly but there were a few acceptations. There are two managers that run the hostel, I found that one minute they’re friendly, and ten minutes later they’re quite confrontational. They regularly have backpackers and family working at the reception that always seem to do a good job.

The rooms were generally fairly good. Some were tiled and some are carpeted and they were always kept clean. They are generally spacious. I only stayed in four dorms during my entire stay.

The kitchen seemed to always be cleaned. It was shut for a few minutes a day for a full clean. It was fully equipped with a fair amount of room to store your food. It needs a bit of extra room, but only when the hostel was very busy.

Despite some of the reviews claiming there were not enough toilets, I found the amount to be adequate enough. They were always kept clean and were checked several times a day.
The terrace has good views and there are normally plenty of people to talk to on the terrace. They also have a T.V. room with a wide range of films and digital T.V.

Overall I found this hostel to be one of the cleanest I have stayed in. I could find little room for improvement. Coles is only a three minute walk away. And Roma Street station is probably ten minutes away.

Room Tip: A four bed is the better option, and there is no price differance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Albanian_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

First arrived here in may for 3 days but ended up staying for 2 weeks. I left to
continue my travels then returned - Ive now come to call this place my
home from home due to the friendly atmosphere the on going fun and the fact you
never know whats going happen next - your made to feel welcome from the
moment you walk through the door and within hours your part of the family -
cleanliness is high on the agenda here I never once saw a day go by without any
cleaning being done - Ben and Chris are always on hand to ensure your enjoying
your stay and to dish out useful info and cold beers from the bar. For a relaxed
fun atmosphere this is the place to be. "

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boothie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

My partner & i stayed in 4 bed dorm,the room was as spacious as dorms can be we never felt like we were fighting for space,the beds i found were very comfy. Male & female bathroom/shower rooms were on each floor. All of which were cleaned daily. The hostel is smaller than your chain organisations which makes it a great place to fellow travellers. The kitchen was probably the only downside because it was a little small & on occasion if it was busy it could take longer than usual to prepare your food, however the kitchen was cleaned regular througout the day & night. The prices are reasonable & weekly rates are offered. The staff are very helpful. Caxton street is near by with plenty of pubs & restaurants, coles supermarket is just two minutes away and it is only a 15 minute walk into Brisbane city.
I would and have been recommending Banana Bender to everyone who is going to Brisbane - we stayed there for approximately 5 weeks and if it wasnt for wanting to be in Sydney for Christmas we would most likely still be there.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luskshona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

When I came to this hostel i originally planned to stay for a week and then move on - i ended up staying for a whole month! during my whole year in australia i did not find a more welcoming hostel and can only recommend it.
Staff is superfriendly and helpful(cleaning staff was abit rude though), its very good value for money, and its well located close to a supermarket,bars and the city centre.
Unfortunately on the night i got there they forgot to put linen on my bed so i couldnt sleep the entire night cause it was freezing. apart from that everything was great though, its mostly the atmosphere among the guests that makes this hostel such a gem! Theres only few rooms so after a few days you know all the other travellers and make friends for life. a perfect way to start your backpacking experience.i absolutely loved my time at banana benders and hope to come back one day!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
0.7 km away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#71 of 133 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 km away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#9 of 133 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#26 of 133 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.3 km away
Summer House Brisbane
Summer House Brisbane
#79 of 133 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.3 km away
Chill Backpackers
Chill Backpackers
#95 of 133 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bender Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bender Backpackers

Property: Banana Bender Backpackers
Address: 118 Petrie Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Banana Bender Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing