We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy but a bit isolated for a single female traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #36 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Great hotel in terms of cleanliness and friendly staff. However, being a little bit back from the main drag of South Bank meant that I,as a stranger to town, didn't feel good about walking to find a meal. Chose room service and it was really good and well priced. excellent and imaginative vegetarian option. Noted that wine on the room service menu was similar to bottle shop prices which is also good. Perfect spot for the convention centre being literally next door.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear “MaxB”

Thank you for the review.

Your comments regarding the cleanliness and friendly staff are much appreciated.

It is a shame you did not get to see South Bank for all it has to offer, we sit around 100m from the strip of restaurants on Little Stanley Street.
However it is great to see you enjoyed the hotels in-room dining experience; the Executive Chef has work hard on creating a menu that caters for all.

In September we hope to regain our walkway through to the Convention Centre making it even more convenient.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Thanks again

Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,798 - 1,804 of 2,121 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great location at South Bank. Clean and reasonable size rooms. Helpful and friendly staff. Many fantastic restaurants close by on Little Stanley Street.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear “RhyBee”

Thanks so much for the review!

It is great to see you enjoyed your stay and visit to the South Bank precinct. I couldn’t agree more with you about our location.

Thanks again for the review, and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed for one night in a lovely big room with balcony overlooking the river. The location on South Bank is excellent with theatre, museums, swimming and places to eat a short stroll away. The staff were very efficient and helpful. Next time we will make time to stay longer and hopefully the new alterations with swimming pool will be completed.

I would say this is a great place to stay in Brisbane.

Room Tip: Corner suites seem to be larger. Join the Rydges Priority Guest scheme for good deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniette3710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear “anniette3710”

Thank you so much for the 5* review!

It is a lovely to read your review and the comments you have made. The Deluxe King Suites are a fantastic choice of room type, spacious with amazing views of the Brisbane River and CBD.

It is clear that South Bank is an asset to Brisbane and everyone is coming to enjoy what it has to offer.

We look forward to your next visit to Rydges & South Bank.

Thanks again

Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I had the unfortunate displeasure of staying here for work in March 2012.

I was on the 2nd floor and the drilling and hammering started around 7am and continued ll morning and I'm sure all day.

For the price, this is totally unacceptable.

Also, I shared a room with a friend and we were both asked to swipe our credit card as security deposits.....why? If something is missing from the mini bar who's card do they charge?

And just to top things off, the coffee that was part of the breakfast buffet was dreadful. Really bad.

The only saving grace was that there is a little cafe called GLOW down the road that has great Campos Coffee.

Could not wait to leave and get away from the drills and jack hammers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear ‘Tony F’

It is disappointing to read of your displeasure from your recent stay.

The hotel is in the process of developing our ‘Podium Level’ and with any building works come unavoidable noise. There are strict time constraints when noisy works are permitted, so it concerning to read if these had not been adhered to. The demolition works have been completed and there should be no further hammering.

It is not common policy to require credit card imprints from both guest staying in the one room, however should the two guests not know one another, then an imprint will be taken from both.

Your comments regarding the coffee have been noted and will be looked into.

On completion of the “Podium Level’ with a purpose built solution for the buffet breakfast, I hope I can welcome you back to Rydges South Bank. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Weve stayed here a few times great place with kids.
Although it doesn't have a pool kids love the spa here.
Would love to stay here more but rates are quite expensive even as rydges member.
Service is great from the moment you get to reception from valet parking, to getting your luggage to your room.
Room service is great at great prices!
The hot chocolates were amazing.
Buffet breakfast here is a must!
Kids loved the pancake maker with all the yummy treats!
And all the food was great!
Highly recommend this place it's a great location in southbank!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidayers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Dear “Holidayers86”

Thank you for the super review!

I’m glad to see you returning, currently we are installing a pool and hopefully on your next stay your kids will be able to enjoy both the pool and spa.
Great service is a passion of mine and it is lovely to read its being delivered in all departments.
South Bank is a great place for families and I bring my own regularly, I would recommend checking the Rydges website regularly, we have some very attractive rates and specials in the month of April for Rydges PrioirtyGUEST members.

I look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.

Thanks Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

From checking in to checking out everything was wonderful. The room was quite large and overlooked the river and had a balcony. It was very quiet, had a flat screen tv, duvet, tea and coffee and had a decent size wardrobe and bathroom. Internet was by cable and quite expensive per daily rate but if you joined The Rydges Club (this could be done at check in for free) you it was half price I think about 14/15 dollars a day. It catered well for disabled people in fact there were quite a lot of athletes tstaying while competing in disabled sports. We only had breakfast which was plentiful and very good. The staff at all levels were helpful and courteous.

The area around the hotel was quite flat which helps if you use a wheelchair. There are plenty of restaurants and bars, a man made beach with pools,gardens and walkways. Ferries and excursion boats stop at different stops along the riverside. Southbank was very enjoyable and we think the best part of brisbane.

Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room away from lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MazSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Dear “MazSolihul”

Thank you for the wonderful review!

It is a pleasure to read your review and I appreciate the comments you have made. The deluxe room do offer amazing views of the city.
The Rydges PriorityGUEST club is a must when checking in. As mentioned the discounted internet, but also many other discounts on accommodation and food & beverage. The best bit of all, it’s free.
I couldn’t agree with you more about South Bank being the best part of Brisbane, I think the secret is now out.
I look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks again Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here for 3 days for a conference. Hotel is in a surperb location, across the road from the busy Southbank district, with lots of restarurants and pubs within less than 5 minutes walking distance. Also less than 5 minutes to Southbank gardens with Street Beach and River walk ways. About a 15 minute walk across the river to the CBD, Botanic Gardens & Queen St shopping mall. Wonderful, filling buffet breakfasts on the 12th floor overlooking the river and the city. Overall a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on level 1 have a courtyard rather than just windows which means you can get some fresh air an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank senorita08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Dear “senorita08”

Thank you for a 5* review!

It is great to read you have experienced South Bank and all of its attractions. I have mentioned it before but South Bank is often underrated, so I am glad to see people are discovering its vast offerings.
The stunning views from level 12 of the river and city have added another element to our buffet breakfast.
I hope I can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Thank you again Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 km away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
1.1 km away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 169 in Brisbane
2,470 reviews
1.0 km away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#30 of 169 in Brisbane
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.7 km away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#55 of 169 in Brisbane
742 reviews
0.7 km away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#49 of 169 in Brisbane
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#46 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $156 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing