We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brisbane's criminal past”
Review of Boggo Road Gaol

Boggo Road Gaol
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.20*
and up
1.5-Hour Tour of Boggo Road Gaol in Brisbane
Ranked #5 of 390 things to do in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, Boggo Road was one of the most notorious prisons of the Twentieth century. The former prison has reopened as a cultural-heritage tourist attraction which offer tours and events. Through Historical Tours, Historical Re-enactments, Educational Experiences, Functions & Events – the drama and stories of human beings, their failings and their achievements, within the walls of Boggo Road Gaol, are brought to life.Enter. Escape the 21st century…
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Decided to be a tourist in my own city today. Our guide Jack was amazing. His enthusiasm in his recounting of the lives of prisoners of the not so distant past was infectious and incredibly informative. He truely brought history to life. I felt like we had stepped back into time but without the noise, and stench that must have permitted the air.
Highly recommended tour.

Thank Kim Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoggoRoadGaol, Public Relations Manager at Boggo Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Hi Booflower,

Thank you for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed your tour.

Our Managing Director, Jack is a great and knowledgeable tour guide - we are so glad you enjoyed his company!

We hope to "lock you up" again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"ghost tour"
in 48 reviews
"cell blocks"
in 14 reviews
"ex inmate"
in 14 reviews
"night tour"
in 15 reviews
"escape tour"
in 7 reviews
"prison life"
in 7 reviews
"exercise yards"
in 5 reviews
"famous inmates"
in 4 reviews
"guide kim"
in 4 reviews
"old jail"
in 4 reviews
"living conditions"
in 4 reviews
"great tour"
in 20 reviews
"a real eye opener"
in 4 reviews
"movie night"
in 6 reviews
"great stories"
in 5 reviews
"eye opening"
in 5 reviews
"brisbane history"
in 15 reviews
Filter

61 - 65 of 442 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Such an informative and memorable experience. Jack has so much passion and knowledge about Brisbane city history. My son and I loved listening to his stories while we climbing inside the old cells.
We made a day out of it, stopping at Southbank for lunch then train to Dutton Park. Very short walk from Train station to Gaol. Picked up some interesting reading for the train trip home. Book written by Jack our guide.

Thank Linley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoggoRoadGaol, Public Relations Manager at Boggo Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Hi Linley W,

Thank you for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed your tour.

Our Managing Director, Jack is a very knowledgeable tour guide - we are so glad you enjoyed his company and his book.

We hope to "lock you up" again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

My daughters and I took the history tour today and absolutely loved it! My 2 and 4 year old were a little too young but still loved exploring the beautiful old place. Jack is a fabulous story teller and teacher with an incredible knowledge and passion for the Gaol. We have done many of the tours now and love it every time we come back. Can't wait for the next tour. Thanks again for a brilliant morning ️

Thank Hollye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoggoRoadGaol, Public Relations Manager at Boggo Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Hi Hollye E,

Thank you for your great feedback! We're glad you and your family enjoyed the tour!

Our History Tour is for all ages so that people both young and old can explore and experience the Gaol at any age.

We hope to have you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Jack was a great guide. The tour was interesting and the place itself looks like it's just been abandoned. Left as it was in 1989. Some additional artefacts in the jail itself would have added to the experience but Jack provided colour and deep knowledge. Good trip. Recommended

Thank SimonWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoggoRoadGaol, Public Relations Manager at Boggo Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Hi SimonWise

Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your tour!

We're sorry to see that the lack of artifacts in the gaol was the reason for a lesser review. We are actually in the process of looking at additional artifacts for the Gaol, so we invite you to come along then should we have them in place in future.


Thanks again for your review, we look forward to having you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Very interesting and informative tour, helpful and knowledgeable guide, I highly recommend this tour.

1  Thank CJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoggoRoadGaol, Public Relations Manager at Boggo Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Hi CJ B,

Thank you for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed your tour!

We hope to "lock you up" again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boggo Road Gaol also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Boggo Road Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing