We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travellers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience Boggo Road Gaol
from US$18.30
More Info
from US$32.90
More Info
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
308
131
23
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
131
23
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews history tour ex inmate cell blocks night tour prison life escape tour guide kim exercise yard living conditions ghost stories great stories movie night brisbane history great tour park road eye opening men and women
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 472 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Such an informative and memorable experience. Jack has so much passion and knowledge about Brisbane city history. My son and I loved listening to his stories while we climbing inside the old cells.
We made a day out of it, stopping at Southbank for lunch then train to Dutton Park. Very short walk from Train station to Gaol. Picked up some interesting reading for the train trip home. Book written by Jack our guide.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Linley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoggoRoadGaol, Public Relations Manager at Boggo Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Hi Linley W,

Thank you for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed your tour.

Our Managing Director, Jack is a very knowledgeable tour guide - we are so glad you enjoyed his company and his book.

We hope to "lock you up" again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

My daughters and I took the history tour today and absolutely loved it! My 2 and 4 year old were a little too young but still loved exploring the beautiful old place. Jack is a fabulous story teller and teacher with an incredible knowledge and passion for the Gaol. We have done many of the tours now and love it every time we come back. Can't wait for the next tour. Thanks again for a brilliant morning ️

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Hollye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoggoRoadGaol, Public Relations Manager at Boggo Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Hi Hollye E,

Thank you for your great feedback! We're glad you and your family enjoyed the tour!

Our History Tour is for all ages so that people both young and old can explore and experience the Gaol at any age.

We hope to have you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Jack was a great guide. The tour was interesting and the place itself looks like it's just been abandoned. Left as it was in 1989. Some additional artefacts in the jail itself would have added to the experience but Jack provided colour and deep knowledge. Good trip. Recommended

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank SimonWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoggoRoadGaol, Public Relations Manager at Boggo Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Hi SimonWise

Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your tour!

We're sorry to see that the lack of artifacts in the gaol was the reason for a lesser review. We are actually in the process of looking at additional artifacts for the Gaol, so we invite you to come along then should we have them in place in future.


Thanks again for your review, we look forward to having you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Very interesting and informative tour, helpful and knowledgeable guide, I highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank CJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoggoRoadGaol, Public Relations Manager at Boggo Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Hi CJ B,

Thank you for your great review! We're glad you enjoyed your tour!

We hope to "lock you up" again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

We had a great guide who brought the history of the gaol vividly to life, but what a creepy place - how horrible to have been an inmate there - there is graffiti and traces of the prisoners in the cells. There is an option for a night tour but the day tour was enough for me!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoggoRoadGaol, Public Relations Manager at Boggo Road Gaol, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Hi Jan,

Thank you for your review! We're very sorry you felt our gaol was too "creepy" which halted you from giving us a 5-star rating.

We pride ourselves on the fact that we have preserved the Gaol to be in the same condition it was in since its closure of the male prison in 1992.

Like most old gaols around Australia, you will usually find "creepy" aspects about them. The fact that a "creepy" factor made you drop a star is quite disappointing because it's somewhat part and parcel of the whole experience.

You won't find a gaol totally renovated and restored in Australia to take away the "creepy" factor, so we're disappointed this was the reason your visit couldn't be rated higher.

We appreciate your great feedback regarding your tour guide. Our guides tell authentic and interesting stories that really capture the essence of the gaol's history, so for that feedback, we thank you.

The night tour isn't the same 11am History Tour you would have taken with us, it's actually a ghost tour! We recommend you don't go on that one ;)

Thanks again Jan, we hope to host you at Boggo Road Gaol again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews