We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed & Fantastic Air Conditioner”
Review of Emporium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Emporium Hotel
Ranked #2 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This place isnt cheap, In fact its very expensive but its the best air con i have found in Brisbane, SUPER cold, just the way i like it and the bed is soft and comfortable.

Let me down on the steam iron - they have gone a long way to make this place look modern, fresh and new but let themselves down with the iron. Come on hotel what is wrong with you, finnish things off.

The room key is also used in the elevator, and the key contiuously failed - staff advised that it cannot be kept in the wallet with other credi cards as the magnetic strip on credit catds causes the hotel key to fail. That needs to be fixed, i dont have that problem elsewhere. I dislike having to go to receotion to get new keys over and over again.

The local precinct is too expensive for food also - if you are looking for central brisbane location at lower prices, stay elsewhere.

No free wifi - not happy there either.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitepointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmporiumManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Emporium Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

The Emporium Hotel’s brand mantra is ‘exquisite stays...’ I must apologise as it seems on this occasion we have not met or exceeded your expectations. The feedback regarding the in-suite irons are appreciated and will assist management when considering replacements in the future. On your return visit to the hotel, please advise reception you require a steam iron as our Housekeeping Department do provide this service upon request. Your experience with your room key would no doubt be a cause of frustration and further monitoring of any future issues will be conducted.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the air conditioning, bedding and linen which are imperative for a comfortable night’s sleep.

For the benefit of Trip Advisor readers, I would like to inform that Emporium Hotel has a total of 15 cafes, restaurants and bar options on the hotel’s doorstep within the Emporium precinct. The restaurants include Italian, Mexican, Seafood, Asian, Turkish along with the Emporium Hotel’s very own French Patisserie, Belle Époque.

Should further information be required please do not hesitate to contact the Emporium Hotel’s Chief Concierge, Graham Hodgson, who can provide a detailed list of services, restaurants and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

970 - 976 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

At the Emporium Hotel I experienced the best customer service I have ever had while travelling. Despite being quite ill, having three credit cards fail on me (for perfectly explainable reasons in the end...), and discovering I'd left my laptop on the plane, thanks to the graceful understanding and patience of the front desk staff and particularly the Estonian girl (Heneri, I think?) I still had a lovely time. The honest helpfulness and professionalism she exhibited is very rare, and I appreciated it enormously.

The hotel itself is very nice - if a little gaudy for my taste. We were upgraded (!!) to an Emporium suite which has a wonderful bathroom and a great view from the balcony and bath. Unfortunately, a few small details that housekeeping had overlooked meant it wasn't quite five-star quality, though it was very clean. There was a chipped dish in the bathroom, and the maps and info had been scribbled on etc. by previous guests and not replaced. The bar menu was missing.

The location is not fantastic - it's not really walking distance to downtown. But there is an EXCELLENT Italian restaurant attached to the hotel and a lovely Patisserie, as well as many other eating places and shops in the precinct.

The roof-top pool area is the best part of the hotel - gorgeous. And the sauna is excellent, even by Finnish standards!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJayDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

service , bed,s , ambience , always the same professional high standard.
we have been staying in this hotel since a month after it first opened and it ,s never lost it,s edge stylish and sofisticated.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parmaham8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at Emporium on the weekend of our wedding and loved it. Our corner suite was huge, perfectly decked out and spotlessly maintained. I had a constant stream of visitors, hair and make up people etc and the hotel staff were a delight to deal with at all times.

The night before the wedding a group of us had drinks by the pool. We were provided with ice buckets for our BYO champagne and the staff twisted the rules by letting us use glass flutes rather than plastic ones.

The day after our wedding we had brunch with friends upstairs. The breakfast menu was closed, but they were happy for us to order from it anyway.

Our friends who were also staying in the hotel were similarly happy with the service.

I haven't even mentioned the great location. If you're after a five star hotel in Brisbane, I can't imagine anywhere better than Emporium.

It's the little things that count and these guys do them well!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel was the last one of our trip, we stayed 3 days. Room and staff were perfect, Staff were more then willing to help with everything you want to do. They have all the best local knowledge of all the sites to go to and the best restraunts to eat at. The pool is perfect to relax at after a day of shopping. If you like cars like me, the hotel is situated next to a Ferrari garage, Maserati garage, Lexus, BMW, Mercedes,.... The list goes on. Alot of people said Brisbane wasn't as good as Sydney and Melbourne, but it was perfect for relaxing after a 3week tour of the south east coast of Australia. The one and only thing the hotel lacked was free wifi. At a cost of $9 an hour it isn't really worth it

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GurjB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed only one night here. He'd delusions of its brilliance but in te end it was jut another hotel. Nothing special.
Room was smallish, good tolitries and towels. Too much red.
Most likely brisbanes only supply of voss water.

Shame about te restaurant not being opened. Still plenty of eating spots around the hotel. Even buying the room via wotif, would not encourage me back again. Nice, but possibly better value elsewhere.

Stayed: September 2011
1  Thank Knuddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed at the Emporium for a business meeting that was being held in one of the conference rooms. Wish I could have stayed longer. The service, right from driving up to the hotel was absolutely outstanding! The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to assist. The hotel itself is gorgeous and the rooms were beautiful and very well equipped. The location is very handy for Brisbane and heaps of great places to eat just outside the door.
I would highly recommend this hotel for business and pleasure. I will definitely return if I get the chance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sueloves2chat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.6 km away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
1.8 km away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
2.2 km away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 169 in Brisbane
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,177 reviews
1.3 km away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#7 of 169 in Brisbane
667 reviews
1.3 km away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporium Hotel

Address: 1000 Ann St | Fortitude Valley, Brisbane, Queensland 4006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $179 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Emporium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner - Australia's Leading Boutique Hotel - World Travel Awards 2017, 2016, 2015. Emporium Hotel is Australia's most awarded boutique luxury hotel, presenting a tangible vision of contemporary elegance and highly personalised service. The hotel has 102 beautifully appointed studio suites, rooftop lap pool, sauna, gymnasium, conference centre, 24-hour in-suite dining, Concierge, spectacular award-winning Cocktail Bar and Belle Epoque Patisserie. All suites feature a state-of-the-art entertainment system, Bose stereo, movies-on-demand and 10 free cable TV channels. Guests will find a marble kitchenette and private laundry facilities in every suite. Each private bathroom has a glass-enclosed marble shower with luxury Molton Brown or Etro toiletries. Some suites include a spa bath and balcony. The hotel is located in the Emporium lifestyle precinct in Fortitude Valley –a haven for lovers of fashion and food – just minutes from Brisbane's city centre and chic Valley nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Emporium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing