We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant - I wasn't expecting that!”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance to charming apartment in Auchenflower
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to charming apartment in Auchenflower
Main Bed Dining to kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Entrance to charming apartment in Auchenflower
Main Bed
Dining to kitchen
Bathroom
Verandah
Office & Bunks
Kitchen to dining
Lounge Chairs
Main Bed 1
Kitchen 2
Lounge & Jen's Piano
Kitchen 1
Main Bed 2
Relax
Study and bunk room
Bunk Beds
Main Bed 3
Piano to dining
Loo
Dining 1
Coffee
Bikepath and walk beside the Brisbane River
Restaurants
Bikepath and walk beside the Brisbane River
Park Road Restaurant and Coffee precinct
Brisbane River
Swim at Southbank
Regatta Hotel
River bikepath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Brisbane, Brisbane Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RunningTo...
Kingaroy, Australia
1 review
“Brilliant - I wasn't expecting that!”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a delight to stay four nights at Ian & Jen's "Green Gables". My family easily fitted into this cosy heritage styled apartment. "GG" had a great kitchen kitted out with everything we needed if we chose to eat in or close proximity to many fine eating out options. Ian left some scrumptious fruit cake for us which made cuppas on the verandah extra special. The beds were super comfy & my daughter just loved tinkling on the grand piano (brilliant I wasn't expecting that!). We loved being 'river' people & with the City Cat close by we didn't use the car - opting for cruising up or down the river - a thoroughly pleasant experience! The best part about our stay however was connecting with Ian & Jen - the most caring & generous people who communicate so warmly & checked on us to ensure we had everything we needed (& more)! We look forward to meeting you face to face one day Ian & Jen when we "Runaway to Maleny"!! Thanks again for letting us stay at "Green Gables" - we will be back for sure! xxxxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: River access & grand piano!!!
Liked least: Wanted to stay longer!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tzuyu L
Taiwan
1 review
“Lovely Green Gables”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A gorgeous cottage and we felt welcome .
Jen & Lan are warm and lovely and also we met Savannah in the back unit ....... She is so sweet and pretty .
Our stay at Green Gables was lovely . It has great location very near to the train station and everything in the house was in good condition with no problems .
We would recommend this place and know that you will love it .
Thank to you Jen & Lan
Rebecca

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meggles19...
1 review
“Felt at home while on holiday”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Jen and Ian were the perfect hosts, they made the whole trip so easy from booking to arriving at the house. The house was a perfect location for us and we were really close to the ferries to get into the city fast. The house was very comfortable, clean and had everything we needed, even beautiful fruit cake in the fridge on arrival. I was travelling with my partner and friend and it was lovely to have the little room out the front as it offered all of us some privacy.
I would highly recommend this charming little abode to any one ! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts !
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob746
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Luxury and charm amazed us!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed being in this luxurious facility and so close to everything that matters. The quality of the furniture, the charm of the building and the comfort afforded at every turn amazed us at any price and, given the affordability of this accommodation, even became more amazing. We would recommend this to any and all for city outings, proximity to hospitals and other facilities, It is situated in a quite, serene neighbourhood. The landscaping only adds to the sense of indulgence. We can’t wait for our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and charm.
Liked least: We liked it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jadeylil
Mandurah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts! Fab location! Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I just returned from a week long stay at Green Gables with our two daughters! Green Gables is the front apartment of a lovely renovated Queenslander. It has always been a dream of mine to stay in one and I wasn't disappointed! The apartment itself is completely gorgeous and the hosts Jen and Ian are so friendly and welcoming! They are the warmest most loving people you could ever meet!! We felt like we were staying with old friends! Much better than a hotel. Set in the beautiful suburb of Auchenflower we enjoyed beautiful evening walks and during the day we would often walk pushing our stroller to the Toowong Village to go the library and shops (15mins) or down to catch the city cat which takes you on the river over to South Bank (wow!) or the city. It's a peaceful spot and we had the best nights sleep tucked in our comfy beds! We were so sad to leave and look forward to our next trip to Green Gables! Thanks so much to Jen and Ian for everything they did to welcome us. Could not recommend higher!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellehug
Maleny, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central Location and lots of Charm”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in August 2014

My friend and I enjoyed the lovely space at Green Gables and central location in Auchenflower. It is just a stroll (or morning run) to the river & lots of cafes and great bookshop close-by to relax the day away. Train station is also just at the end of the street! Thanks so much Jen and Ian for having us.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fmcnaught...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in March 2014

I have been impressed by the “Green Gables » cottage nestled amongst trees and shrubs and centrally located near the heart of Brisbane. It is a lovely little house close to the river with all the amenities you might need: buses and trains, restaurants and shops, in particular the near-by Park Road restaurants and coffee precinct. In this area, so close to the city centre, the cottage has the notable advantage of providing your own car parking space.
Inside the rooms are very clean, smart, spacious and uncluttered with beautiful polished floors. You can do your own cooking and washing or take a rest reading a book on the front veranda.
You will find that the hosts Jenny and Ian are always ready to help and advise you and you will enjoy your stay in their really pleasant and convenient cottage.
Françoise McNaughton

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing