We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing art work”

Doongal Aboriginal Art
Ranked #37 of 138 things to do in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We specialise in local Aboriginal Rainforest Art as well as artwork from indigenous Central Australian artists. Aboriginal culture did not have a written language, instead their laws, stories and social behaviour was passed on in the form of song, dance and drawings.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Some amazing pictures and artwork on display along with information on the artists. Extremely interesting and stimulating and well worth a visit.

Thank Terry Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"on display"
in 6 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 4 reviews
"for sale"
in 3 reviews
"comprehensive collection"
in 2 reviews
"stunning pieces"
in 2 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"gallery"
in 9 reviews
"boomerang"
in 6 reviews
"emu"
in 3 reviews
"canvases"
in 3 reviews
"shop"
in 5 reviews
"browsing"
in 4 reviews
"weapons"
in 2 reviews
"australia"
in 7 reviews
"buying"
in 4 reviews
"information"
in 4 reviews
"shipping"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 62 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018

This gallery houses an impressive array of Aboriginal artwork, mostly done on a grand scale. It's all for sale, and detailed information is given about each artist. It's really worth a look.

Thank mbwestman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, Manager at Doongal Aboriginal Art, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you for Visiting our Gallery.
Your appreciation gives us motivation to present and preserve more of Aboriginal Art.
This is our pleasure to see that people like you have a admiration for Art.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

Loved the colorful aboriginal paintings and the colorful wood didgeridoos .We spend a long time looking and talking to the shop assistant.

Thank mkbowen2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, Manager at Doongal Aboriginal Art, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Thank you for Visiting our Gallery.
Looking forward to see you again.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

We had already visited the branch of this art gallery in Kuranda, but not bought anything. We had admired the work of one artist in particular. Because the gallery was close to our hotel, we just had to go in. There was no pressure and we were able to just wander at leisure and yes, we did to succomb to buying a keepsake to take home. It is well worth a visit.

Thank Lindagreenacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, Owner at Doongal Aboriginal Art, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Thank you for Virginia our Gallery.
Hopefully see you again.
Best regards
Fred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2018

i couldn't keep my eyes off wall of arts. i like so many. if only i could afford to buy one of them! the interpretation of the art works made me understood what they meant. i was truly tempted to buy one.

Thank _tamaflavensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doongal Aboriginal Art also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Doongal Aboriginal Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing