We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food but Loud Music”
Review of Salt House

Salt House
Ranked #73 of 689 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$36
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Situated at Marina Point, next to the Cairns Yacht Club facilities, Salt House is a unique dining, bar and entertainment venue offering a panoramic view of the ocean, marina and city on the waterfront in Cairns.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Ate here on the Sunday night, food was excellent and staff very good and helpful but the music coming from the bar section was loud and completely spoiled the atmosphere in the restaurant section.Maybe that's just an issue on that night but it did impact upon our enjoyment of the meal which was due to a friends recommendation.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terry Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Hi Terry Q,

Thank you for taking the time to give us this valuable feedback, we will take it on board. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 260 of 2,404 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018

Great seafood platter, just loved the soft shell crab and the oysters , the whole family just loved it.Garlic bread ok but not the best served in hot pan looks better than it tastes but over all a great lunch will return very soon.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank georgieboy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hi georgieboy_11,

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. It's great to hear that you have enjoyed some beautiful seafood with us and even more great to hear that you'll be joining us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Happy Hour has shortened from 2 hours to 1 and it's now $5 a beer instead of $4.
Go to Pier bar a short walk, still $4 and two hours worth.

Was told today no 241 bar meals (which is normal Monday to Wednesday) due to public holiday, kinda poor.

Worst is we still ordered bar meals and seen them sitting at the counter for 20 minutes, our buzzer doing nothing, figured someone else's. Eventually our buzzer went off. Foods cold.
Guy who handed it to us was rude.

Also the bar, only one person on because they have to pay staff extra today. She couldn't keep up. Long waits for service.

Terrible all round.

Just find another place.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank BrettCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hi BrettStainlay,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit with us, we appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again so you can experience the exemplar service we aim to provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

My husband and two friends had dinner on Saturday night, unbeknownst to us, the first night of a new menu. I was the only one who had eaten here before and I already had high expectations and I choose Salt as the menu caters for vegetarians.
We were blown away by the quality, the presentation and the taste of the dishes we choose. Our vegetarian friend loved all her dishes. My husband and I choose the seafood platter for two. Rather than deep fried everything, the center of the dish was a chowder dish bursting with flavor (aplogies if I have it incorrect). The only slight disappointment of the meal was the creme brûlée- the sorbet on top had softened the caramel so maybe a rethink on presentation will solve that as all the elements were divine (pulling out my inner MKR/MC). We will go back in a month or two to see how the new menu is holding up.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hi Katherine T,

You definitely have pulled out your inner MKR judge and we love it! Thank you for your detailed review of our new menu, it's a menu that we are extremely proud of and to hear such wonderful feedback is fantastic. I can't wait to read your next review when you join us again. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

A nice spot for a drink or meal but the prices are very expensive, you wont get much change from $10 for a beer

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Bungchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Salt House, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hi Bungchow,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we think we have a nice spot too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt House also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Salt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing