We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay at Hilton Cairns!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Cairns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cairns
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved our stay at Hilton Cairns!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed at Hilton Cairns for four days and loved every minute of it. Great location, very comfy bed and clean amenities. Close to restaurants and the boardwalk/dock for tours to the Great Barrier reef.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the comments via TripAdvisor on your stay here in Cairns. It’s great to read you’ve enjoyed your visit so much. I see you’re a long way from home but hope you’ll have the opportunity to visit the Tropical North again some time.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    743
    295
    103
    55
See reviews for
402
987
143
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cairns Hilton for three nights in March 2012 as part of a Monograms Tours, on an independent travelers' itinerary.

All staff that we had contact with were pleasant, courteous, and helpful. Our room which was a standard king bed room was adequate in terms of space, not spacious but not at all cramped. The room was spotlessly clean and maintained at that standard our whole stay. We didn't have the ocean view but could see water and the town from our room. The breakfast which was included in our package was terrific! The location is the best in Cairns. It is on the Esplanade, surrounded by restaurants, a casino next door and most everywhere in town you would want to go is within walking distance. Yet our room was VERY quiet, something I really appreciate in a hotel room. My only negative about the hotel is that it would be so much more attractive if the plants in the planters along the walkway balconies on each floor were live and flowering. All the plants look dead and that didn't add much to the ambiance. We found it interesting as this is the tropics where every plant seemed grow without much human effort. This is just a side observation and didn't take away from our very good stay at this hotel. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Karlyn,

Thank you for the comprehensive review of Hilton Cairns on TripAdvisor. I’m very pleased to read that you’ve really enjoyed your stay here with us and found the location, room comforts and service of a high quality – it’s what we strive for of course. I note your comments on the internal walkway gardens – you’ve come just as we’re working on a full re-vamp of the gardens and they’re looking brighter by the day. I hope we can welcome you back again when next you travel our way.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

The Hilton Hotel in Cairns offers great service and fantstic rooms that offer generous king size beds, pillow menu and much more. Would stay there again. Got a great price and was one of the better have stayed at especially for the cost.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Gen G,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor comments for Hilton Cairns. You’ve been very complimentary and we really appreciate the feedback. The rooms were fully renovated last year and our guests have consistently agreed they’re very comfortable and in great shape – I’m glad you agree. I hope you can make another trip North sometime soon and enjoy some more Hilton hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Actually stayed October 2010 (apologies for late review). For our stay this place ticked all the boxes down to an art. Clean, relaxing, comfortable, close to everything and great staff. We had the perfect weekend away! A fantastic place and we are excited to come back soon to see the refurb!

Stayed October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nathaen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Nathaen,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns. There have been many changes since you last visited! We completed a full accommodation refurbishment in 2011 and the hotel’s looking great. What hasn’t changed is the dedicated team of service professionals who work here and focus on ensuring our guest stays are memorable and relaxing. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel lives up to the Hilton name. What I liked about this hotel is the proximity to the strand and most shops. Short walk into the mall.

Room Tip: Higher floors better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear traveller,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via TripAdvisor. I’m very pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us, making reference to the standard of accommodation and the hotel’s great location. I see you’re a long way from home but hope that we can welcome you back on your next trip to Australia.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our 10 year old for a week. Great location - walk to town, walk to the pier for all the Reef trips, etc. Great staff. Comfy room, with a superb view and balcony from the 9th floor. Hanuman restaurant also great. We upgraded to the exec room so we could have access to the exec lounge for breakfast and afternoon drinks - well worth it. And the staff there was also outstanding.
My only gripe was the "hot" tub at the pool. It was NEVER hot and the jets worked about 65% of the time. I complained and they responded, 3 times, but when I finally met the "engineer," he asserted that the correct temp was 34C (about 93F). Ridiculous. Recommended hot tub temp is 39C (about 102F with 40C/104F recommended top). Other than this minor disappointment, (which as you can see is a big deal for me) the hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: Get the upgrade for the view and the exec lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniej9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Annie,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cairns via TripAdvisor. It’s great to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay overall and I do apologise for the problems with the Spa – I will ensure the temperature is reviewed and re-set as needed. The Executive Floor is a great option for travellers and I’m pleased you’ve enjoyed the additional services available. I hope we can welcome you back to the Tropical North on your next visit to Australia.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandywine, Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Hilton Cairns for 3 days in March 2012. It wasn't the typical Hilton style we were used to but could just be related to the overall area. Cairns in general we got more of a beachy, laid back feel as if we were in a shore town on the East Coast. Not a bad thing though. The hotel had all that we needed. Gym was decent (though they can get better A/C there). Room was clean and bed was comfy. The pool was great and staff was helpful. The location of the hotel was walking distance from the boat docks that took us out to the GBR which was uber convenient. The hotel is also walking distance from tons of restaurants and the Esplanade. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank fybr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonCairns1, General Manager at Hilton Cairns, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear traveller,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Cairns via TripAdvisor. I’m very pleased to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us, making reference to the standard of accommodation and the hotel’s great location. I see you’re a long way from home but hope that we can welcome you back on your next trip to Australia.

Yours sincerely,

John Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 km away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.1 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.4 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairns

Property: Hilton Cairns
Address: 34 Esplanade, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cairns
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#12 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cairns 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the Hilton Cairns hotel is the perfect base for exploring the diverse wonders of this truly unique region, famous as the meeting place of two natural wonders, the Great Barrier Reef and World Heritage Rainforest. Our modern and inviting Cairns hotel rooms and suites are luxurious oases of comfort and convenience, offering pristine new bathrooms and spacious balconies with views of Trinity Inlet or Cairns Esplanade and the unique cityscape and blue-green mountain ranges beyond. Stay connected with the latest technology in the fully-equipped business centre. Enjoy relaxed, alfresco dining at the award-winning Mondo Café Bar and Grill on the waterfront, or discover authentic italian flavours at "Donninis "Simply Italian". Experience modern, tropical, paradise today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cairns Hotel Cairns
Hilton International Cairns
Cairns Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing