We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
22
85
99
63
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
85
99
63
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable place to stay buffet breakfast bit dated cairns esplanade stayed one night charlies
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 358 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018

I'm glad we only booked for one night before we flew out next day. Our check in was slow. if we spoke Mandarin perhaps it would have been faster. My sister was travelling with us and they had given us rooms on the same floor with only one room between.
BUT when we checked the bathroom I was appalled to find there was no walk in shower!
Unfortunately my sister slipped in the bath when getting in to have a shower. When she was very late coming down for dinner - buffet style heavily aimed at Chinese visitors - I went to look and heard her calling Help! Down again in the one lift eventually persuading the young man that he had to let me into the room I found she had slipped and couldn't move. He was then persuaded to ring for an ambulance. Queensland Ambulance is very efficient and were able to lift her out, fortunately not harmed other than bruises. Next morning they assured us it had been written in the accident book. But she has had no communication from them enquiring about her health

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank GoPlaces541530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

Our check in was good the lady at reception was very friendly & happy, the car park is located at the rear of the property and I would advise parking there and then checking in.
The room really needs a makeover it’s very dated but the location cation is great it is close to everything but is located at the bottom end of the esplanade so it was very peaceful.
Breakfast was a buffet breakfast and it was very nice they had a good selection of food and six different juices.
The motel could use a real update but it is peaceful.
Only one elevator was working while we were there and with 10 floors it was a bit of a wait.
The balcony is good but it’s only got two plastic chairs on it would be great to be able to have a little table to enjoy our wine and local produce we bought.
Would stay again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynette Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Its in a great location, the rooms are a good size, but its slightly run down
Im not sure if thats because the Chinese owner is planning to redevelop the site.
There is a musty smell in the rooms.The staff are pleasant
And for any smokers the whole premises are non smoking

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank lizM4555RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

we booked online , there wasn't a lot to choose from but it looked good in the glam'd up photo's . well we got there , got the key , went up to the room and not saying to much till we looked about , then turned to each other and said stuff this dump . went down to lobby and asked for a refund ! . we were told that we had to ourselves go online , not on there computer and cancel the booking. after we went off to achieve that , we returned to be told that we lose $200 or we can stay for the night to get our money's worth , we stayed as we couldn't get anything else till the next day , not much choice . sleepless night in a smelly , old rundown uncomfortable bed and room , that was way over priced for a start and online the next day they even boosted the price up another 400 for the 6 night stay that we were going to be there . other people that we spoke to in the only lift thats been working by the reviews that iv'e been reading since , shows it hasn't worked for the last year , said they were not impressed at all with there accommodation . 1 lift , what about escaping a fire ? . our balcony was unsafe as well , you could freely rattle it back and forth , that was concerning 6 floors up . where is the safety and health code for the place . the smell of cigarette smoke was pungent up among the hall ways etc ... the hotel needs a complete and thorough gutting and rebuild . very very disappointing .

Room Tip: sadly i don't think there's a good room
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

It is in a perfect location if you want to stay in a quite place and close to esplanade. The rooms are reasonably bigger and clean. There are plenty of car park spaces available both on-street and off street.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Bishes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews