We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hostel - definitely recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant hostel - definitely recommend”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Fanastic stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful, they were able to sort trips and help me rearrange things with the weather meant my plans had to change. The hostel is clean and quiet in a really good location. There is a lovely atmosphere meaning it is really easy to meet people. The bbq on the Wednesday evening is a must. 100% recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    187
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
29
212
269
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at Dreamtime for 5 days and had a great time. The staff is fantastic and very helpful for anything you might possibly need. It's in a great location, only bout 15 minute walk from the lagoon. The staff helped us book all of our trips and bus passes. They have some sort of special even every night either at the hostel or at one of the local restaurants. The BBQ and fire show were great! Though we had rain the entire time we were there we were able to make some new friends and had a fun time just chilling out around the hostel. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Cairns. Thanks for a wonderful stay, Dreamtime staff!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thanks for your great review glad you enjoyed the social nights even in the rain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Not only were the accommodations clean, but the facilities were easy to locate. Although their front desk isn't open 24 hours a day I had no trouble "checking into" my room at 3am.

Furthermore the staff is incredible! While we were there my sister had to go to the hospital. Chris not only made phone calls to ensure her health was looked after, but he also called the various tour groups to make sure we didn't miss out on any of the excursions we booked in advance.

Their knowledge of the area and willingness to make arrangements on your behalf is remarkable. They will help you get to see the best of what Cairns has to offer on whatever budget you have to work with and fit it into the time you have available.

This is a place I would surely recommend and visit again :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Manager at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Glad to help john, getting to the boat on time was abit tricky but we made it!
Hope you enjoyed the wakeboarding after skyrail too.
Thanks for staying and best wishes,
Chris and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My partner and I stayed her for 5 nights during our trip around Australia. The Hostel is one of the best one's we have stayed in during our trip so far. It is very clean, beds are comfortable and has a real homely atmosphere. It is not a party hostel so you will be able to get a good nights sleep. Don't worry if you would like to have a bit of fun, as most people have a drink before heading out to the bars and clubs in Cairns which are within short walking distance thanks to the hostels location.

There are events put on to keep you entertained. We would strongly advise the BBQ night on Wednesday, which is reasonably priced for the amount and selection of food you get!

The location is perfect, right next to Cairn's central which is great for transportation and the shopping centre has everything you will need including a food court.

The staff at the hostel are friendly and offer good local advice about things to do and trips to go on. They will even book them for you.

Our double room had a fan but there AC available at a cost of $1 per ~2.5 hours. You simply put the dollar coin into the unit in your room and can top up whenever you need to. We found that during the night we only needed the fan on, using the AC to cool the room down after a hot day before we went to bed.

Overall we would highly recommend this hostel if you are staying in Cairns.

Gemma and Mike

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma_B45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Many thanks for your review glad you enjoyed the BBQ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I needed a bit of a get-away, but also had work to do. This place was great because it was away from the party scene and very quiet, whilst conveniently located right across from the Cairns Central. I stayed in a private double and it was very clean. Also, the girl at the reception desk was helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMonkey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay thanks for staying at Dreamtime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Good location, price, helpful staff. It would have been nice if there was a little more storage space in the room, like a shelf or hangers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thanks for your useful review glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us , i will get our maintenance fella which happens to be myself to up grade the rooms that need more hooks and hangers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Easily one of the best hostels we've been in in Australia. Great atmosphere; good, clean facilities; excellent staff. It's in a good location, and the travel services there (info and booking for you) are a huge plus. Very hard to fault.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleighJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41dug, Owner at Dreamtime Travellers Rest, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
wow that a great review thanks , ive been the owner here since we started 20 years ago and we have been voted twice in 2009 and again 2012 best hostel in Australia by hostelworld.com customers , glad you think so .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.1 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.1 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
1.1 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.0 km away
Pullman Cairns International
0.9 km away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreamtime Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Property: Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Address: 189 Bunda St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Dreamtime Backpackers)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreamtime Travellers Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dreamtime hostel is 3 beautiful, bright Queenslander homes located just minutes walk from the centre of Cairns. Free wifi 24 hours plus You will find a tropical oasis perfect for relaxing and meeting like minded travellers. Our service is supreme local staff advising and helping you book the best trips and tours. We are here to help you have an unforgettable travel experience.Join us on one of our BBQ nights, fire shows or movies under the stars. Come see why Dreametime is voted #1 best hostel Australia 2012 by hostelworld customer reviews. Do yourself a favour and join in the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Dreamtime Travellers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing