We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
34
69
26
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
69
26
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews communal kitchen air con basic continental breakfast clean rooms budget accommodation lovely pool walking distance easy walk close to the airport free wifi three nights esplanade tv cbd taxi fridge australia
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 139 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

As a starter, please be aware this is a motel rather than a hotel. We weren't aware of this until arrival!

The rooms themselves are nicely decorated and pretty spacious. Our room was slightly dirty on arrival, however staff quickly cleaned it which was good service. However, the floor remained dusty throughout due to the material of the floor, so be aware as can make your feet rather dirty. The room door doesn't have an obvious lock on it, but it is locked when shut. Please also note there is no safe in the room, which was disappointing.

Security in the motel seemed good as they lock the gate after a certain time and give you a code to enter to get in. However, this same code is also given next to the gate itself so anyone could enter the motel! Again, more something to keep in mind.

Breakfast as already mentioned is minimal in terms of selection, however for us it did the job and was fine. Staff were very helpful here and answered all of our questions when we had any.

Overall, the accommodation was good for a basic accommodation although the small issues we had with the cleanliness and worry about security stopped it from getting a higher review.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018

We stayed two nights, arriving late on the first. Instructions were forwarded (email) and easy to follow. Sally (with a lovely welcoming smile) told us not to hesitate in using the out of hours phone if we had any issues. The room was lovely and spacious, I love ceiling fans and was able to open the sliding door to get airflow, in pref to the in-room air con (yes there is a screen door to protect from bugs!). A lovely simple breakfast enjoyed by the pool, backpacker style, but perfect if you want a classic Aussie breakfast. Five minute walk to the Esplanade. I would happily stay at The Balinese again. PS $15 with Uber from the airport.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2018

We stayed here for 4 nights and at <$100 p/n with light breakfast included it is great value. Service is very friendly and rooms are big. I found the shower cubicle a little small but everything is very clean. Easy walk to the Esplanade from here.

Room Tip: Upper floor doesn’t have cars at the front of rooms.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank paul4874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2018 via mobile

I was here for only one night. The room is quiet, clean and well equipped. There was no iron or ironing board in the room but a communal one which was ok. A bit further out of the CBD so if you're walking it will take about 15 minutes. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Leighton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2018

Clean &a tidy motel on edge of city. 30 min stroll into centre along seafront. Reasonable breakfast included. Considering how expensive Australia has become this motel is considered good value for money.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have easier access.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nickeastwood52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews