We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and nice accommodations in cairns”
Review of Balinese Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balinese Motel
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We stayed at the Balinese before and after a Great Barrier reef trip. It was an excellent choice. The beds were comfortable and the rooms nicely if plainly decorated. It was about a fifteen minute walk to the main restaurants and shops in Cairns. The staff was uniformly friendly. They let you leave your big bags while on the reef for free. The free breakfast and internet were very welcome. The only thing I regretted was the absence of screens on the glass doors, so you had to run the a/c all night. But I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmj5060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2010

great place to stay and we were very happy that we found this place, close to town and 2 minutes from the esplande, clean rooms with indonesian style furniture, free breakfast and airport transfer can t beat it for that price it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fab55_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel in a room on the ground floor. The rooms are decorated in Asian style and were a positive surprise at the low price we paid: clean, quite big and quiet. I suppose the good relation is possible because there is almost no staff: You can make and clean up your own breakfast, everything you need like coffee, juice, eggs , dishes etc. is provided. When you arrive you find the door of your room open, the key is inside.
The area: is 10-15 minutes walking from the center (resudential area but not beautiful, beautiful). We checked out other hotels in the center and found that they were either more run-down or much more expensive then the Balinese.
If you like Asian food: the sister-hotel next door has a Thai restaurant which is authentic and excellent (not cheap).
The nicest and most relaxing part of the hotel is the mini-garden in the breakfast area (with micro-water fall). We would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCNPitufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Great friendly staff. Excellent price at $100 with bfast with free airport transfers. I was just here for overnight and could not ask for more. Central to Esplanade ...great walkingtrack. oh yeah free internet too!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reichtmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 20 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 September 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights on our first visit to Cairns. The motel offers free airport transfers which was great and quick. We arrived at 9am and they had our room ready for us even though check in was at 11am. Staff were helpful and gave us advice when we first arrived. Room was large with a double and single bed, large bathroom and balcony with chairs. The motel has a pool and kitchen area which can be used until 9pm at night plus free internet which was great. Breakfast is served from 6.30-11am and was included in the price. Cereals, toast, fruit juice enough to keep you full for the morning. Room was cleaned every day and fresh towels were left. A 2 minute walk to the start of the Esplanade and a further 5-10 minute walk to the best bits of Cairns.

I would highly recommend this for travellers who want a clean room, breakfast/interent and don't mind a 10 minute walk into the city. There is a bus stop nearby but we never used it. We got a taxi a couple of times and only cost $6-8 from center of Cairns.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaraP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2007

The Balinese Motel was the worst hotel I stayed in the Cairns area. I asked for a single room and was given a dark, dingy room that was jam packed with two small single beds and an open fold away bed which made the room even more cramped. The bedding had a terrible musty smell, which suggest that they were either not washed or that there was mould in the rooms. I felt so uncomfortable as for sure the roaches were out as soon as the lights were off. The walls were as thin as paper which meant I could hear my neighbour's every word and television. The receptionist was never there and very unfriendly. Thank goodness it was just the one night and I had a 6 am flight to take. I would not recommend it even for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank globetrotterYHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#26 of 64 in Cairns
504 reviews
0.4 km away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.1 km away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Cairns City
Comfort Inn Cairns City
#33 of 64 in Cairns
235 reviews
1.0 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
1.2 km away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#55 of 64 in Cairns
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balinese Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balinese Motel

Address: 215 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: $96 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balinese Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balinese Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balinese Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing