We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairns City Sheridan
Ranked #60 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Very friendly atmosphere. Nice room overlooking hotel swimming pool. Enjoyed our 2 night stay and found the room very comfortable and the staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel in early january. We arrived at 10am from our flight to Cairns and the hotel already had a room ready for us. Very friendly staff and so helpful with information on the area and tours. Good location, only a few blocks to town. Nice and quiet on the backside of the hotel. The room was a good size with a fridge, nice little pool to get refreshed in and breakfast was excellent in the restaurant. I would definetely stay here again and the price was very good. We also really appreciated the free wi fi .

Room Tip: Get a room on the back because it fronts the main street into Cairns
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaturalFarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

left cairns early march, stayed at the city sheridan on my holiday, the motel had free internet, pool and great restaurant. The room was a good size, with big balcony. Staff are nice and helpful. I would stay here again. very well priced.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Wonderful helpful staff, very spacious room with comfy bed, flat screen tv, microwave, fridge, air con and good sized ensuite with shower. Free wifi throughout hotel and rooms a real bonus especially as in Australia there is normally a limit or you have to pay. Restaurant on site that served breakfast and dinner. Laundry room, pool and computer with printer for use too (no charge!!)
Only negative is the distance from centre of town - about a 25-30 minute leisurely walk. No prob at all if you have a car. Bit the price was so good this is the compromise we made :) overall a really good hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayleighTasha_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Upon arrival it seemed things would go alright, but after a couple of nights we were ready to leave. The location is definately NOT a "short, ten minute walk to city's center" as we were told and certainly is not safe at night. The parking lot is small and open to the street, so I was uneasy about leaving my vehicle there, as there is no one to watch the parking lot at night (and there is a lot of foot traffic after dark). The receptionist was friendly, but did get a bit huffed trying to do too many things at once, definately shouldnt have to leave the desk for the restaurant or to be a porter. Had dinner at the restaurant and although the food was good, it took an unusual length of time for it to come to the table. What made it even worse was the owners were also having dinner and drinks with friends, having a great time and getting their dinner before ours, even though we had been waiting! That was a disappointment. As far as cleanliness, the stairs to our room were very dirty and cobwebs in about every corner, our bathroom was very hairy...but I took care of that myself, why bother the housekeeping when they didnt do it in the first place? Maybe my standards are too high. All in all I am not too sure how this place became a Best Western...maybe BW should do random inspections.

Room Tip: I would choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 0AussieKitty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

After a bit of research we decided to stay at the Best Western City Sheridan during our stay in Cairns. After reading some reviews we knew it was a little out of the way. Staff were great and always willing to help. We were initially given a room on 2nd floor overlooking garbage bins, thankfully staff assisted us and we were moved to the third floor overlooking the pool area.
No lift, but we knew that there were stairs to negotiate and really you only move luggage twice! Pool was fantastic, even bucketing down with rain it was still great to be in there.
Met some lovely people there and made some good friends.
Restaurant is a little small, but some nights there were only a few in there. One night it was full and we had to wait a while for our meal, only two staff on in the restaurant trying to keep up with demands, they did a great job. Meals were delicious and moderate in price.
Would I stay again? Maybe..... but I will look around at other options.

Room Tip: Room sizes are a little small for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The good
-- Price -- A happy medium between a hostel ($20/nt) and the Hilton ($240/nt).
-- Service -- The front desk staff were very helpful.
-- WiFi -- Free wifi. Simple as that and functional. No login codes or other bs. Yay!
-- Rooms -- Spacious and clean. Ours came with a queen + twin + couch.

The less good
-- No Elevator -- Lugging 40kg of luggage up three stories is not hard for me, but could be a hassle for others.
-- Few Electrical Outlets -- A real minor complaint but our room had only 4 electrical outlets. One for the A/C, one for the TV, one for the water heater, and one in the bathroom. After searching behind the couch and beds, we eventually plugged the alarm clock in where the TV was and re-charged our electronics in the bathroom.
-- Broken Safe -- Our electronic safe was broken. Not a big deal for us. The staff might have been willing to hold our stuff if we'd needed it.
-- Bugs -- Cairns is tropical and the tropics have bugs. We had a pair of roaches and a line of small ants in our room when we got there. The ant problem was solved by simply closing the balcony door. Unfortunately every time the room was cleaned the balcony door was left open again and the ants returned. In the end, I just left the "Do not disturb" sign on the door.

The bad
-- Location -- The Best Western is a long walk from the Esplanade. During the day this is no problem, but my gf and I didn't feel safe walking to the hotel at night. The nearby park has shady people hanging about, yelling at each other late into the night. We were never threatened personally but we did see one aboriginal guy in the park get punched in the gut by two teens (also aboriginal) who then took off running.

Overall we had a good stay in Cairns, but if I had to do it over, I'd look for a hotel closer to the Esplanade even if it cost a bit more.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Sheridan_Motel, Owner at Cairns City Sheridan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Hello Corey,

I appreciate the detail and honesty of your review, this helps all of us here to make sure we are heading in the right direction in the future.

These days I understand that pricing is a very important subject, we are not in the greatest location in Cairns, 15 minutes to the City Centre can be a distance for some, we do price our motel to make sure this becomes a fair trade off.

Free Wireless in very important to our guests, and we have no hesitation to make sure we always offer FREE high speed internet available at all times.

All our rooms are spacious and clean, we do not like putting anything in the rooms that could clog up space, or become dirty. All our rooms are inspected daily, and having the cleanest rooms in Cairns is our goal.

Due to the motel not having access to an elevator i understand having heavy luggage can be a concern. All our staff are informed and have no problems in helping with helping you and your Luggage, again I feel that we have priced to make sure that value is still very high.

Electrical Outlets in the rooms i understand these days is important, much more than they where 15 years ago, due to phone, laptops, ipads, and the rest of electrical equipment our guests use. I have made note of this due to your review, and will be looking to install more power outlets in guest rooms.

I have located the safe that you made mention of and have replaced it, thank you for mentioning.

I agree with you as for our climate bugs and ants are not shy, due to the Cairns humidity over the wet months of December through to February they do not mind appearing in guests room for cooler conditions, I have spoken to house keeping regarding this, and with a few ideas in mind, we hope you will not have any further problems.

Regarding our location, all motels under the 4 star catorgoy is located on sheridan street, this is the main road in cairns that leads to the airport (5 minutes) and through to the city (1 minute), as for walking we are 5 minutes from the Ocean water front that has a great boardwalk that leads into city center, (a further 10 minute walk). these streets are well populated, and have very good lighting, Like anywhere there are some streets that are better not to be explored at night, I have spoke to the staff regarding this, and have pointed out the better walking locations that should be passed onto our guests for certain times of day.

From all of us here at the Best Western City Sheridan, we again very much appreciate your time in sending a review, and I hope that i was able to manage the responses for the good, and the bad, in an accepted way.

Look forward to accommodating you again.

Regards

Chris Jorgensen
Owner / Manager
Best Western City Sheridan, Cairns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.0 km away
Hides Hotel Cairns
Hides Hotel Cairns
#54 of 63 in Cairns
355 reviews
0.1 km away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
1.2 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
1.4 km away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#16 of 63 in Cairns
355 reviews
3.7 km away
Cairns Southside International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns City Sheridan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns City Sheridan

Address: 157 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: $82 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns City Sheridan 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Sheridan is located close to the city center of Cairns, regarded one of the most popular hotels in a region that is viewed to be a must visit destination in the world. Cairns is surrounded by lush rainforest, beautiful tropical waters and scenery that has to be seen to believe. Staying with us at the City Sheridan you will be located within a 10 minute walk to Cairns best city attractions including; Cairns central shopping center, large number of world renowned restaurants catering for all cuisines, plenty of lively bars and clubs, Cairns Civic Theater, Cairns Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Bus Terminal, Museum, Arts Gallery, Train Station, Reef Fleet Terminal and the Reef Casino. City Sheridan is also only a 5 minute drive from the airport. ROOMS Our rooms are large in size and cleaned daily. We offer free wireless internet throughout the hotel. All rooms have their own private bathroom and balcony that opens the rooms to the wide open tropical weather and scenery. For in room entertainment your room has a 32-inch TV with free in house movies. Other inclusions is a microwave, fridge with mini-bar, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, safe, tea and coffee making facilities, and a desk with chairs. Your balcony is furnished with a table and 2 chairs. FACILITIES City Sheridan facilities include a tropical outdoor swimming pool with cascading waterfall, tour booking desk, guest laundry, and onsite car parking. City Sheridan also has the Sheridan Lounge Bar, a great place you can meet other travelers and share your stories while enjoying a beverage. The Sheridan Lounge Bar also has a computer terminal with free printing facilities. SHERIDAN RESTAURANT Sheridan Restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet daily from 7:00 am through to 10:00 am. Enjoy your morning breakfast poolside in the company of tropical palm trees and a cascading waterfall. SHERIDAN LOUNGE BAR: After a day out enjoying all the fantastic adventures that the Tropical North Queensland has to offer, relax pool side with a drink chosen from our large selection of beers, wines and spirits. TOUR DESK: City Sheridan tour booking agents are always available to help you through the large variety of adventure options. Great Barrier Reef, Cape Tribulation, and the Daintree are just a couple of the more popular attractions, and for the thrill seekers; skydiving, bungee jumping, hot air-ballooning, or white water rafting might be more your style, with over 200 adventures on offer, there is definitely something for everyone. CHECKING IN: Reception is open from 7:00 am to 9:00 pm daily. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, the phone that is located on the front reception doors will direct call an after-hours service. If you are arriving after 9:00 pm, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairns City Sheridan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City Sheridan Hotel Cairns
Comfort Inn Cairns
Cairns Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing