We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Personal Service”
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Personal Service”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We booked a week here from the UK on the basis of the excellent Trip Advisor reviews. It exceeded our expectations. The room was very comfortable and spacious, with functioning kitchenette. We were given the choice of 2 rooms on arrival. Most days there was a list of times when you could have a lift into central Cairns at reception. Advice on local trips/tours and places to visit was full and accurate. Booking trips/tours through them was easy, They made sure we had a door-to-door service from trip organisers and we just paid one bill at the end of the week. When we booked a Great Barrier Reef trip they drove us into Cairns and were waiting to bring us back on our return to Cairns.

The outstanding feature of the motel is the wonderful, caring attention given to guests by Sharon and David. If we had a problem or difficulty they would help. They helped us to sort out an itinerary and book all our flights, for the following weeks touring Australia. That attitude is of course shared by the staff who work with Sharon and David. If all businesses were run like this there would not be a recession.

There is a continental breakfast for $10, and wifi costs $16.75 for 10 hours [good if you stay for a week like us].

Room Tip: Make your requirements known when you book and trust Sharon and David to do what is necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cruisekid61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    208
    49
    11
    12
See reviews for
141
274
46
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a very nice place if you are staying in Cairns and don't want to be downtown. The hotel is a bit away from all the downtown attractions... maybe a 20 minute walk along the waterfront, but that means it is quiet. They do have a free shuttle to town several times per day. The owners were extremely helpful in arranging tours and scrambled at the last minute to rebook tours for 7 people after a landslide cancelled most of the tours we had already booked that day. In room WIFI is available for a reasonable price (reasonable for Australia). They have a nice little pool and outdoor barbeque area. The room I had had a kitchenette and real refrigerator. The 2 beds are far apart in the room so if one snores, the other can get some sleep. I would recommend Reef Palms hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaDave16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I can't say enough about our stay at The Reef Palms!! It was wonderful and our first taste of Australian hospitality!! Sharon and David are perfect hosts-they truly couldn't do enough for us!They booked our tours,drove us into the town ,helped sort out a problem with my new international phone and were gracious at all times!! The room was spotless,nice and roomy and for a great price!! My daughters enjoyed the pool after a long day of touring!! We walked home one night along The Esplanade-not a bad walk,felt very safe!! Cairns is a great resort area!! It was our first stop before heading to Brisbane and then Sydney. Although we enjoyed our stays at each hotel we always thought Sharon and David's hospitality was the best!! I would highly recommend this hotel and if ever I have the chance to be in Cairns you would find me here at The Reef Palms!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Clean, comfortable, convenient accommodation that included breakfast. We enjoyed walking along the Esplanade to the city. Most outstanding was the friendly, helpful staff. The shuttle bus to the city when we needed it was most appreciated. Would stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: The suite next to the car port is convenient for after hours access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The owners of this hotel are delightful, and are happy to help book any kind of excursion (you can even call ahead to do this in advance). Rooms are clean, and there is complimentary transportation into the city. We stayed two nights, but would have gladly stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Appartment we had was clean, spacious and great shower. Kitchen had everything you need, also a large bbq at pool side. Owners couldn't have been more helpful - recommendiing and booking tours, providing beach towels and a shuttle bus into the town centre. Would highly recommend this hotel and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We planned to stay at Reef Palms Apartments for only 2 nights but ended up extending it to 6 - our entire time in Cairns. We were so happy our apartment - clean and spacious - and loved having our own kitchen to cook breakfast. The pool and barbecue area was a great space to spend our evening, and the television, fans and air conditioning ensured we had a very comfortable and pleasant stay. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and there was a scheduled bus that took us into the city centre that ran a few times every day. Still, it took about 15 minutes to walk to the city; the location is very convenient. The only, slight downside was the pricey breakfast, but since we had a kitchen we did a bit of grocery shopping one day and easily cooked out own breakfast every morning. We also had a cute gecko visit us in the middle of the night, but he kept his distance. Overall, we highly recommend this place for your accommodation in Cairns - we will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: We went for the self-contained apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
6.9 km away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.3 km away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.4 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 64 in Cairns
1,090 reviews
2.5 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Property: Reef Palms
Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing