We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top spot to stay in cairns”
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top spot to stay in cairns”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Good value comfy rooms great part of cairns a bit north of the main esplanade

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3monthly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    202
    47
    11
    12
See reviews for
137
267
44
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

me and my parents stayed in reef palm for one night during our visit to cairns. it had been a great experience staying in reef palms. the owners sharon and david had been very helpful and friendly! they offered us lots of accurate advices on excursions and dinning. they even offered us a free ride to the restaurant because it was raining. They did last minute room change for us because our languages were so heavy that we didn't want to take them upstairs. Sharon made lots of phone calls for us as we wanted a helicopter ride. She's very rich of knowledge about the local attractions! they were very considerate, warm and generous!
The room was very clean and it was spacious. we cooked our own breakfast in the kitchenette. there is a landscape pool and free barbecue facilities in the motel as well! shampoo, shower gel, hand wash, shaving gel, body lotion, and hair conditions are provided in the room! The rooms were not expensive so staying there was of good value.it was like paying motel's rate to live in a serviced apartment or a hotel room!
it was around 10 dollars by a cab from the city(the city centre) and 5minutes walk from the waterfront. it takes 3 minutes for a taxi to come to the doorstep.
thanks again Sharon and David! Personally i would like to come back to your accommondation next time when i come to cairns!

Room Tip: there is no elevator in this two storey motel so ground floor rooms make your life easier especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tianze D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

Booked online for a brief overnight stay. Have stayed in many of Cairns accomodation rooms and Units,this one rates very highly for me. Very clean, spacious, (had my 23 year old grandson with me), beautifully appointed with kitchenette and small courtyard, and best of all, very pleasant welcoming hosts. It was inexpensive, and a great find. I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here briefly as a 'cheapie' as part of a bigger trip. We were after something inexpensive, cheerful and decent.

I was very impressed with the Reef Palms. The service was very friendly and welcoming and the cleanliness of the rooms amazing. It really stood out after quite a lot of traveling.

Also, the accommodation was much more spacious than I'd anticipated, well laid out, as was the bathroom. In addition, the pool area is really very nice too. Included was breakfast as well - this was a basic breakfast; cereal, toast, juice, tea/coffee, fruit etc and this was simple but very nice.

This was a great little find and I'm really pleased with the stay we had there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We booked a week here from the UK on the basis of the excellent Trip Advisor reviews. It exceeded our expectations. The room was very comfortable and spacious, with functioning kitchenette. We were given the choice of 2 rooms on arrival. Most days there was a list of times when you could have a lift into central Cairns at reception. Advice on local trips/tours and places to visit was full and accurate. Booking trips/tours through them was easy, They made sure we had a door-to-door service from trip organisers and we just paid one bill at the end of the week. When we booked a Great Barrier Reef trip they drove us into Cairns and were waiting to bring us back on our return to Cairns.

The outstanding feature of the motel is the wonderful, caring attention given to guests by Sharon and David. If we had a problem or difficulty they would help. They helped us to sort out an itinerary and book all our flights, for the following weeks touring Australia. That attitude is of course shared by the staff who work with Sharon and David. If all businesses were run like this there would not be a recession.

There is a continental breakfast for $10, and wifi costs $16.75 for 10 hours [good if you stay for a week like us].

Room Tip: Make your requirements known when you book and trust Sharon and David to do what is necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cruisekid61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Indiana
Level Contributor
182 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a very nice place if you are staying in Cairns and don't want to be downtown. The hotel is a bit away from all the downtown attractions... maybe a 20 minute walk along the waterfront, but that means it is quiet. They do have a free shuttle to town several times per day. The owners were extremely helpful in arranging tours and scrambled at the last minute to rebook tours for 7 people after a landslide cancelled most of the tours we had already booked that day. In room WIFI is available for a reasonable price (reasonable for Australia). They have a nice little pool and outdoor barbeque area. The room I had had a kitchenette and real refrigerator. The 2 beds are far apart in the room so if one snores, the other can get some sleep. I would recommend Reef Palms hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaDave16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I can't say enough about our stay at The Reef Palms!! It was wonderful and our first taste of Australian hospitality!! Sharon and David are perfect hosts-they truly couldn't do enough for us!They booked our tours,drove us into the town ,helped sort out a problem with my new international phone and were gracious at all times!! The room was spotless,nice and roomy and for a great price!! My daughters enjoyed the pool after a long day of touring!! We walked home one night along The Esplanade-not a bad walk,felt very safe!! Cairns is a great resort area!! It was our first stop before heading to Brisbane and then Sydney. Although we enjoyed our stays at each hotel we always thought Sharon and David's hospitality was the best!! I would highly recommend this hotel and if ever I have the chance to be in Cairns you would find me here at The Reef Palms!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.4 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
6.9 km away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
2.5 km away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.3 km away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
1.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Property: Reef Palms
Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing