We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Xmas Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Your beautiful antique ouside river bath awaits, located on the platform by the river!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your beautiful antique ouside river bath awaits, located on the platform by the river!
Wanggulay Too Treetops at twilight, as seen from our luxury outdoor  riverside bath,  see more pics. Balcony at Twilight, with views over the Barron river below
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Your beautiful antique ouside river bath awaits, located on the platform by the river!
Wanggulay Too Treetops at twilight, as seen from our luxury outdoor  riverside bath,  see more pics.
Balcony at Twilight, with views over the Barron river below
Relax in the treetops looking over the river below
Main Entrance of Wanggulay Too Treetops. Feel the presence of Bali from the main entrance
Master bedroom 1 - Deserve a 5-star accomodation in Cairns
Luxury 24 jet spa bath
Master bedroom 2 with river views
Enjoy the wide space of Wanggulay Living Area
Your bar in the rainforest treetops
Luxury Retreat - Entrance View
Get Media entertianment at the Media Room of Wanggulay
Lounge Room
Lounge Room
Kitchen and river view bar only in Wanggulay
Family holiday house Dining Area
Outside dining area accommodates up to 13 guests
Enjoy the view of the forest inside the Master Bedroom 1 of Wanggulay
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 3 with king sized bed
This Romantic Outside Bath on the plaform by the river can only be found in Wanggulay
Wide bathroom at downstairs of Wanggulay
Suite off the Master bedroom 2, with views onto the river below
Balinese outside shower
Wanggulay Main entrance in the twilight
Main entrance in the twilight
Wanggulay Outdoor Bath tub in the middle of rainforest
Shower screen and LED lighting in the evening
Outside River Bath
Great girls getaway, we featured in the Cairns Life magazine - Hens Party
Outside River Bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Cairns, Cairns Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GriffinFa...
Berwick, Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful Xmas Holiday”
Reviewed December 24, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

What a great place to spend Christmas. The location is perfect in the mountains high up in the trees. Lots of space to enjoy the breeze flowing through the house. Such a relaxing location away from it all.

After a day out we so look forward to coming home.

Will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Dec 2017
Thank you for coming to stay at our lovely retreat. We so love that feeling of being in the treetops too, and we agree it feels beautiful to come back to9 after a day out! We look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bretblin
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Place - Delightful Holiday- Great Service and Video Guidebook”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our extended family group booked both places for 5 nights. We had an amazing stay. We walked to the local waterfalls and swam, dined on the balcony in the evening, watched the birdlife and fished from the nearby river.

Note for regular travellers this is one of those places where the photos, as good as they were were no match for the amazing views and ambience of the places. We had one small problem that was quickly sorted out by the manager Tracy. The extra rollaway bed was really appreciated.

The reef is a must do trip. We did this through the owner and he changed our reef trip date to a better weather day for us so glad he did. It was an amazing day out on the reef. We didn't want the holiday to end!

The only suggestion to improve the stay was we received their comprehensive guide book and videos the owner shot after we booked flights, we would have stayed an extra few nights had we seen them before we booked. Cairns is one of those places where there is so much to do- we are coming back next year. This time just my wife and I its perfect for couples too. Thanks also for accommodating our earlier check in!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Hi Claude,

Thanks for your review. Our video guides have been a real hit with our customers and saved them lots of money and got them doing things like they know the tour as a local would. Let us know when you are coming back and we can help organise things. The best time length to stay in Cairns is 7 days. There is so much to do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera C
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Celebrating 70th Birthday with Family”
Reviewed January 31, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

After a shaky start to our experience with the Wanggulay team, (we were charged without warning international transaction fees through Trip Advisor) in the end we had a wonderful long weekend stay at Wanggulay Too Treetops. The weekend was to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday with the whole family (8 of us). The owner Brett welcomed us with a lovely birthday card and a nice bottle of champagne in the fridge - such a lovely touch. My daughter had contacted the Manager, Tracy, to make sure that everything would be fine for our stay. Tracy was kind enough to allow us an earlier check-in since our flights were arriving early in Cairns. On our arrival to Wanggulay, Tracy had prepared beach towels for our use and also added some treats for the two young granddaughters for their car trip, which was such a lovely gesture. The fridge and pantry were also adequately stocked. We took advantage of our early arrival by driving to Palm Cove and Port Douglas.

The house was such a beautiful place to come "home" to, to relax and enjoy our bottles of champagne, wines and beers to celebrate the birthday, all too short to fully enjoy the place. We enjoyed our dinners and breakfasts on the balcony, a seafood and steak bbq dinner - what a way to go! Thank you for the lovely floral arrangement on the outdoor dining table.It was lovely to wake up in the mornings to the sound of a variety of birds, insects and open the blinds to the rainforest.

Once again Tracy kindly allowed us a late check-out, which we all appreciated, as it enabled us to walk along the Baron River for a last minute swim. Throughout our stay, we all made good use of the ping pong table.

Our thanks to Brett and Tracy for our wonderful stay at Wanggulay Too Treetop and for the special attention and lovely surprises which made it all so special for my family to help celebrate my husband's birthday. By the way the birthday boy enjoyed the comfortable bed and especially the soft pillows in the upstairs master bedroom, but was not too keen on the insects.

Highly recommend Wanggulay Too Treetops and hopefully one day we could come back to Cairns and get an opportunity to stay at Wanggulay Bali Luxury.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2017
Thank you for the beautiful compliments. We felt honoured to have hosted you all for such a special occasion and so glad you have enjoyed the magic of Wanggulay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Feb 2017
Thank you for your review and we do appreciate your comments and take them very seriously.
We do apologise as we had an issue with a new staff member, and the way we set the property up for our guests, We apologise our full kit of supplies was not put out before you arrived and they left the windows and a door open. We are of course immediately available for any assistance.
We have replaced the pans, and put new items in teh kitchen.
We are glad you enjoyed the stay at our retreat in the treetops. Wanggulay Too ia very unique experience, with our outdoor bathtub by the river. We love welcoming guests from all over the world and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jesse F
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extremely Relaxing”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

It is always nice to be surprised that a place meets your expectations. This place was just wonderful. Its very private yet a close drive to most anything in the area. It was very easy to just relax and ignore the rest of the world. I can easily say the photos say it all. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Hi Jesse,

Thank you for your review, we love to meet and exceed guest expectations and get real pleasure out of watching our guests see that the photos say it all

we look forward to welcoming you back again
kind regard
Brett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hol1803
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding & Honeymoon in 1!”
Reviewed May 5, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

To Brett, Bet and the team at Wanggulay, I can't thank you enough for letting us hire both of your beautiful rainforest retreats for our wedding at Easter. My new husband and 20 of our closest family and friends had the most magical weekend away together celebrating (and then recovering by the pool). Stoney creek falls just down the road made for a magical place for us to have our ceremony, and the beautiful top deck at Wanggulay bali was the perfect spot for our reception. Thank you so much for everything, we can't wait to come back and celebrate wedding anniversaries! Hollie and Rick Wilkinson <3

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The master bedroom <3
Liked least: Wish we stayed longer!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Thank you, Hollie and Rick!

Congratulations on your wedding, and so wonderful that everything was so perfect for you at Wanggulay. We love that walk down to the Stoney creek waterfalls, it's amazing that you can be swimming at a tropical waterfall in less than 15 minutes walk from Wanggulay, we are blessed to live in such a magical part of the world!

Please let your friends, family and guests also know we welcome back repeat guests and can offer you a discount when next you book!
we look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary!
love to you all.
Belinda, Bet and Brett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rainforest Escape”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A delightful spot to appreciate the best of living in the wet tropics. Fantastic bird life and creeks right at your door step. Perfect for the guest who does not want to share with the crowds. The outdoor bathtub was a big hit and amazing how quickly a couple of hours in the tub can pass with a good book and a glass of wine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rainforest
Liked least: No pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Thanks, Jennifer,
The Outdoor bathtub has ben such a hit that we have now won an award for it. We were voted best outdoor luxury stay, beating 6300 other entrants in the competition, so we think we might grab a bottle of champagne and celebrate with a hot bubbly soak in the rainforest!

We look forward to welcoming you back again!

All the best Belinda Bet and Brett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing