We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Evening with Great Food”
Review of Harrisons

Harrisons
Ranked #75 of 127 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: US$19 - US$50
Description: Located for luxury at the newly refurbished, Sheraton Grand Mirage this is newest incarnation of Port Douglas' award winning fine diner, Harrisons. First opened in 2007 in the centre of Port Douglas, the new location oozes with classic, tropical style. Settle in pool side for a tropical experience or enjoy air-conditioned luxury in the interior lounge and dining space. Spencer Patrick is at the helm cooking his style of European fare, utilising the best local and Australian ingredients. Harrisons is open from 12 pm until late 7 days. Enjoy an afternoon tipple on the Terrace with the light bar menu from 2 pm. Suitable for couples or groups with different areas. Available for events.
Restaurant details
Description: Located for luxury at the newly refurbished, Sheraton Grand Mirage this is newest incarnation of Port Douglas' award winning fine diner, Harrisons. First opened in 2007 in the centre of Port Douglas, the new location oozes with classic, tropical style. Settle in pool side for a tropical experience or enjoy air-conditioned luxury in the interior lounge and dining space. Spencer Patrick is at the helm cooking his style of European fare, utilising the best local and Australian ingredients. Harrisons is open from 12 pm until late 7 days. Enjoy an afternoon tipple on the Terrace with the light bar menu from 2 pm. Suitable for couples or groups with different areas. Available for events.
Reviewed 7 October 2017

A great evening with excellent food and service. The table position at night presented a stunning backdrop to enjoy our meal and wine.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_PortDouglas, General Manager at Harrisons, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi Geoff W,
Thank you for your review, we are very blessed with our stunning location and glad you enjoyed your food and service too.
Kind regards,
Reina - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017

A very poor experience for our family meal. We had to ask for our table to be re set so that the four of us could actually sit together. Original configuration was unbelievable in that the four of us would have had to shout at each other such was the distance between the seats! Had to constantly ask for a wine I'd ordered. They forgot the vegetables we'd ordered with our main coarse and brought them towards the end. At least had the d clench to remove the $30, yes $30 for two veggies form our bill. Sadly my son had the pork belly, and threw it back up that night...no he doesn't drink, nor is he ever sick. Try at your peril or better still go into town and find much better restaurant experiences or just throw your money out of the window.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank syrahcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_PortDouglas, General Manager at Harrisons, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi syrahcharles,
We're sorry that you've not had a good experience with us, this is not the type of experience we aim to give our guests. We do also take feedback like your's regarding the pork belly very seriously, please do contact us info@harrisonsrestaurant.com.au to discuss this further.
Kind regards,
Reina - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Had a brilliant dinner with my wife to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Everything was spectacular and delicious. The pigs ears were crispy and such a surprise. The goat cheese soufflé was light and fluffy and so tasty with no hint of egg.

For main we had duck and a steak... both cooked to perfection.

Sitting out on the deck... the setting really complemented the food... oh and the wine list is varied enough and matches the food rather well.

Would recommend to anyone.

Thank Ilya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_PortDouglas, General Manager at Harrisons, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hello Ilya S,
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for choosing us to help you celebrate.
We're thrilled that you have enjoyed the food, service and ambiance at Harrisons and hope that we see you again.
Kind regards,
Reina Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

After reading the reviews we decided to try. And I would say don't bother. The chef is trying hard but has no idea how to cook. Or may have been trained on a BBQ.
I should not have ordered the ham and foie gras knowing that you can not get foie gras in Australia but this guy even managed to destroy This bought in produce.
And well the mains the duck would have been great if not over cooked and dry. Please don't pretend to be fine dining if you can't cook. Very disappointed.
And to try and charge $14 for sides please. Grow up and go back to Melbourne with your over priced mixed greens.

1  Thank hopefull1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_PortDouglas, General Manager at Harrisons, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hello hopefull1980,
We're very disappointed across the whole team to read of your experience and the resulting review it has evoked. I hope that we were able to offer some resolution to your feedback in person as we always strive to do in complaint situations.
We will certainly take your comments on board and discuss areas where problems exist and can be improved upon.
Kind regards,
Reina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

After much editorial coverage of the opening of Patrick Spencer's new restaurant, Harrisons, (also connected to Bistro H in Port Douglas, however nothing to do with this review), it was with great excitement that we came and dined, on SATURDAY AUGUST 19.

Even attempting to get a booking was a struggle. An email, a phone call (which is a mobile number, and message left) - no response, days and week in advance, I end up booking through reception at the Sheraton, and not being a guest, I accepted it as fine.

After a flight delay from Brisbane, we were running around 10-15 minutes late, we rang as a courtesy to the restaurant, however, once again, no answer. We rang the Sheraton reception desk and they indicated they would advise Harrisons.

Upon arrival, you are entering a restaurant where the furniture and decor seems confused and unsure if it is in the tropics, or Melbourne or somewhere else?

We were seated outside, as per request, and there was a large group booking and that was fine.

It took some time to even get water, hence my note above about large group booking. Once wine menu come out, to our shock, for a such a new restaurant, somebody had in pencil gone through menu and there was multiple "N/A" on wines and beers - why?

Eventually we settled on something even after being told, it wasn't available.

We had the special of the day, steak with ash potato, and to be fair was nice.

However, to come again, unless there is a shift in quality of the customer experience I see no reason to return.

Would recommend to try again, however, with caution.

Value for money, I would not think so. You even have to pay for bread and extremely hard butter.


(caveat, I have dined in 5 star places before, this was not a novelty, and I am dating a chef)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pastadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_PortDouglas, General Manager at Harrisons, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hello pastadventure,
Thank you for sharing, we hope to have the opportunity to impress you with a better dining experience, another time.
Kind regards,
Reina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harrisons also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Harrisons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing