We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,977)
Filter reviews
1,978 results
Traveller rating
534
764
411
167
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
534
764
411
167
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar mantra port sea lap pools bedroom studio continental breakfast minute walk main pool enjoyed our stay bottle shop four mile beach great for families great pool no lift tennis courts spa bath close to town family holiday
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 1,978 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We were discussed in this hotel, I would not recommend this hotel, we were disappointed in the fact that we had to pay for clean linen or to have our room cleaned, it was also disappointing that we had to go downstairs to get our own clean bath towels, shampoo, soap etc. was not happy at all, I will not be back at this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dee19722018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hi dee19722018
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do price our property to have un-serviced rates and then guests can add on these services directly at the property if they would like their room serviced. We however do offer free replacement towels and amenities at Reception. I am sorry that you were not happy with this style of un-serviced apartments.
Regards
Michelle Spinks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Stayed at Mantra PortSea for 5 nights with family and friends. Rooms good size, beds clean and comfortable. Room did have strong smell of disinfectant when we arrived but assumed this was due to cleaning following Port Douglas having had had a lot of rain before we arrived. Didn’t mention to reception and gradually went away. Pool was lovely and towels provided. Breakfast was disappointing - continental but felt the smell me of brands used were cheap and didn’t taste nice. Wouldn’t get breakfast again but would stay here. Cooking facilities appeared limited though we didn’t actually use. Staff were friendly and helpful (though we didn’t have to ask for much).

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NW3Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyRECEPTION, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Hello there! Thanks for taking the time to write in!
Glad you liked our lagoon pool - we have been told it is one of the favourites in Port Douglas!
Sorry you weren't woo-ed by our breakfast, it is considered a buffet continental with a few extras like yummy pancakes and toasted ham and cheese croissants.
Our kitchenettes include microwave, full fridge, kitchen sink, stovetop as well as toaster and kettle.
Sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us overall here in gorgeous tropical Port Douglas. Time to book your next holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Mantra Portsea is an aparthotel 5 minutes walk from 4 Mile Beach and 15 minutes walk from Macrossan Street in Port Douglas. Reception will call a shuttle bus to take you into town for A$5 return if you don’t want to walk.
Rooms are comfy and have a kitchenette and balcony. We had a spa bath which was great but splashed everywhere when full- on! Rooms are not serviced so we had the same sheets and towels the whole week. Perhaps some bathroom cleaner could be provided. The breakfast area was pleasant and the (continental) breakfast had good choices of fruit, yoghurt and breads. Recommend the raisin bread! The pool area was relaxing and not busy, but the pool bar was only open for 2 hours in the afternoon, which is not a time I want either a pizza or a cocktail. Others did though! The other issue was the lack of free WiFi, not even available in reception. The cheaper Motel down the road advertises free WiFi in the rooms. I don’t expect to have to pay £7 a day for it these days!
On the day we left we were not picked up til 2.30, so between 10 am check-out and then we were unable to get a hot drink or food of any sort. Perhaps a hot drinks machine could be provided in reception? There didn’t seem to be a late check out available and we didn’t want to have to make the trip into town before our journey back to Manchester just to get a hot drink.
Despite these issues, we enjoyed our stay at Mantra Portsea, and it was a relaxing end to our holiday in Oz.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Elsathecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyRECEPTION, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Hi there Elsa!
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review! This helps us improve guests' experiences, and for them to get an idea of what their stay will be like.
Our Pool Bar Hours have now been extended, 1pm - 6pm. Unfortunately due to Wet Season weather during your stay the hours were only 2.30pm - 4:30pm. Still time for guests to enjoy a Happy Hour cocktail :)
We will pass on your feedback re: hot drink availability at reception - this is a good idea.
You will have to come and visit us again in the tropics of the Land Down Under someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Comfortable and well equipped rooms with a small kitchen. Clean and spacious with a good breakfast, laundry room, garage, saltwater pool and tennis courts. The hotel was very open and security may be an issue. A flat 20 minute walk to the town centre but we weren't told about the risk from crocs in the evening until we got back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank gloriamundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyRECEPTION, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you very much for the 4/5 Gloria!
Mantra Portsea was perfect for your getaway it seems. Our property is indeed open, but security has never been an issue. We have the property manned by staff 24/7. There is even a night manager 11pm - 7am each night to ensure the property is secure and safe.
Regarding crocodiles - They are yet to been seen strolling down Macrossan Street. It has been concluded by zoologists that crocodiles hate shopping; they never get any customer service :) But in all seriousness, the walk from the property to town is very safe and there is a lot of vehicle & foot traffic until late. Not to worry!
Hope your trip hope was safe and quick, and that we may welcome you back in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

We stayed here with our relatives from England for 7 days in a two bedroom apartment. The facilities were very good but our stay was spoilt by the mouldy odour of our apartment. This was compounded by a strong mouldy odour in the hallway outside the apartment after heavy rain due to the carpet getting wet.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve_Pauline_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyRECEPTION, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Greeting Steve & Pauline!
Sorry you were affected by the aftermath of the Port Douglas floods - unfortunately all around town there are still clean-ups going on, even to this day. We have had housekeepers in to all of the apartments and all around the property, and have been using our OZONE machine to rid rooms of the residual damp smell.
We hope you enjoyed Tropical Far North Queensland, and went on some lovely day trips in the region!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews