We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a bit of effort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Tropical Resort
Ranked #39 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Rooms are fine, could do with a bit of a refresh. Staff were friendly, and I had no issues. I have stayed many times in Port Douglas, and have seen better properties, but this one will do for a budget. Hey, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacquesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

If you don't mind doing your own dishes and taking out your own trash, this is a fantastic resort with an even better location. The staff was very friendly and the pool area is lovely. The pool area is surrounded by trees so it's private even though it's right next to the road. The pool itself is awesome! Yes, you can tell it's an older resort but it's been reasonably maintained. The rooms are very well maintained with modern furniture (2 sectionals in our room), balcony with kitchenette (love the fact you can cook outdoors), massive washroom and large flatscreen. The beach and St. Mary's by the Sea is just across the street. The marina is about a 5 minute walk so need to pay extra for shuttles if you want to explore the reef. Bottom line, if you want a hotel with daily maid service and super modern amenities, you won't like it. If you don't mind not having those little extras and want a nice place on a budget, this is a fantastic place to stay! I will be back and will recommend to my family and friends when they visit from overseas.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms on 3rd floor have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Great location at the northern end of Macrossan St. Step out to Pubs and restaurants and a short stroll to the Marina for GBR cruising. Attitude of staff can be a little hit and miss which is a shame. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious with nice balconies. The resort could do with a makeover but the position makes it an easy choice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I first stayed at this resort in 1992 for our wedding night. The resort then was just three years old and was a wonderful place to stay with its vibrant themed rooms. Today, 20 years on, it would seem that life has not treated this old lady too kindly. The pool and communal areas appeared tired and old and in need of a really good clean (someone had vomited by the pool and it lay there attracking flies going unnoticed by any of the resort staff),
Our room was like stepping back in time for us with the same furniture and fixtures and fittings as in 1992. The room was clean and tidy with comfortable bed but we were unfortunate to have on our first night some very noisy people in the room above us, who came in late and then stomped around and opened and closed doors very loudly until some ungodly hour of the morning.
Given that we paid a knock down price for our stay we could honestly say it was worth the money we spent and no more. If we had paid the normal advertised nightly rate I think I may have been a little disappointed.

This resort is in need of some serious money spending on it to bring it back to life as a lovely resort in a beautiful location. If you can get your accommodation for a knock down price and know in your head what you will get for your money, then it's position in Port Douglas can not be faulted.

Room Tip: choose a room that looks over the pool, they also have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moomoomossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This place is 50 individually owned apartments- and we have managed to have modern updated rooms both times we have stayed here. The room has modern facilities however (as was rudely commented on several occasions by the staff) they are only self servicing apartments. It was a great inconvenience for the young girl on reception to even during our 21night stay, give us an additional toilet roll!
The information in the room says that the house keepers will come to the rooms every 8 days, however this didn't happen once, so we were left to clean the bathrooms and floors etc ourselves!
The pool area has become very dirty and run down since our last stay here just over a year ago, there are a lot of sharp edged and loose tiles around the pool too - not safe for children!
The location is excellent and the actual decor of our room was pleasant.
We shall not be returning due to a rather heated argument at the end of our stay with the same receptionist after she told us that replacing the already broken BBQ that we had broken even further "was just not good enough" and they want an extra $100 from us on top of the $150 we had paid to replace the item with the same make and model as the already faulty item! Complaining to management achieved very little either! We didn't pay the extra sums they were demanding. Service was certainly not with a smile here, more like with a chip on their shoulder!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2012ozreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I have just found my credit card has been charged $90 by your business and have rung to enquire- we were upgraded to a 4 bedroom apartment- not by choice- and advised not to use 2 beds. Generally- not what I'd expect to hear when given an upgrade..but slightly amusing at the time.My kids used the double bed to watch a video on- and then used a single bed to sleep in. One slept on the couch (after we'd reassembled the coffee table that was placed on and emptied the kitchen cupboard of opened bottles of taco sauce and wraps) We didn't complain that our upgrade had not been cleaned thoroughly mostly because we're locals and think most everybody's doing it a bit hard. And we did try not to use all of the beds.
We own a local business too and like to holiday in Port Douglas at this time of year because its quiet and close to home/work.
Your receptionist advises you charged the $90 to our account ( we paid $350 cash and chose to stay the 2 nights not just one) because the bed had been used.
So- just wanting to say I think it's really really poor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ajsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed here for three nights in January and for the price found it to be good value. While its not the newest of resorts it is on one of the best locations in Port Douglas and just across the road fr the Courthouse hotel. I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamGulAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
2.1 km away
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
#40 of 42 in Port Douglas
74 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
531 reviews
4.5 km away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#35 of 42 in Port Douglas
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
912 reviews
0.7 km away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
622 reviews
0.6 km away
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
#22 of 42 in Port Douglas
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tropical Resort

Address: 2 Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range: $127 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Tropical Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Tropical Resort is located on vibrant Macrossan Street. It offers studio rooms and 1, 2 and 4 bedroom apartments. Each self contained apartment and studio rooms have a private balcony or terrace enjoying views out the Coral Sea, overlooking the tranquil water gardens or village views. The resort has a free form swimming pool and 2 hot Jacuzzi spas as well as sauna for guests to use. There is also a bbq area with seating for in house guests during their stay. The location of Club Tropical means that you do not need a car but if you do hire one there is secure undercover parking provided on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Tropical Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing