We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great unit. Really poor service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra in the Village
Reviewed 3 October 2017

The unit was really great. No complaints at all. However, the service wasn't just bad, most of the time it didn't exist at all. There are signs all over the place saying just dial 9 for reception. The problem is that for the first 4 days of our stay reception was not manned. Additionally, the phone always just rang out and was never answered. To get any supplies, such as a roll of toilet paper or clean towels we had to go to another Mantra branch and ask the reception staff there. To top all this off, despite being booked in for 5 nights, the cleaners were instructed that the using was vacant on our second day. Then, we got a phone call on our 4th day asking if we were vacating the unit yet. It appears they have neither communications nor organisational skills. All in all, the service was utterly unsatisfactory.

Room Tip: Go to one of the other Mantras in the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

Mantra in the Village is a fantastic location in the heart of Port Douglas. There were a few minor things that could have made the stay more welcoming. The property is a great spot to base yourself close to everything.



  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The location is ideal with shops / dining & the 4 mile beach all easily accessible.

The hotel receptionist was reasonably friendly & did suggest useful tips for us.

Strangely though ratings go from “Average” to “ Very Good” !

As an overall rating this would be “Good” & leaning slightly towards “Very Good”.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DilipPoduval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

I stayed there recently with my partner and 14 month old son. The 1 bed suite was perfect for us. mantra provided a travel cot. The mattress was quite hard but reception were more than happy to give me extra blanket to soften the base. Baby slepy perfectly. Ground suite was perfect for baby as well. Pool may not suit older kids but it was perfect for a toddler and there is a lovely shallow end. Location is unreal. Right in the heart of everything. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank louiserD7511EW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Planned to have a quiet night away with my husband, just to be woke up at 2am in the morning by a domestic happening down the corridor. Police were called and it made a massive disturbance in the night. I did not feel safe nor comfortable from that point onwards.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vickisL8820ID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This Mantra is not as good as the previous two. Our bedroom was on Grant street and every morning before 7.00am we were woken by trucks emptying bins or leaf blowers. The pool area is quite small and not sheltered from the sun. We had problems with the fridge keeping items cold as well. We wont stay at this Mantra again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martytanzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Very clean room, great location however there was not always someone at Reception desk as stated on information board. There was also lack of security at Entrance to hotel where anybody could get in and enter lifts to the rooms. Easy access to car park without security is not good either if you were by yourself and taking the lift from
Basement had no security either so that should be gated.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 689kristinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 km away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
551 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#29 of 42 in Port Douglas
256 reviews
0.7 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Mantra Aqueous On Port
Mantra Aqueous On Port
#11 of 57 in Port Douglas
1,170 reviews
1 km away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,721 reviews
0.5 km away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra in the Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra in the Village

Address: Corner Grant & Warner Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: $99 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra in the Village 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra in the Village offers a range of accommodation from hotel rooms to self-contained one and two bedroom suites, all rooms include air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and cable TV. Our one and two bedroom suites offer the extra convenience of kitchenette facilities as a private balcony complete with whirlpool spa. Featuring a large Roman-inspired pool and spa with mosaic tiling, cascading waterfalls and fountains set amongst tropical landscaped gardens. The resort offers complimentary parking, in-room internet connection and lift for easy access to the car park, rooms and apartments and street level. Port Douglas provides plenty of attractions and entertainment, including local markets on Sundays, the Marina Mirage complex with over 40 specialty shops, restaurants and galleries, and the famous Four Mile Beach. At Mantra in the Village you are perfectly located to explore everything Port Douglas has on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra in the Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra In The Village Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing