We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Day on the Reef”
Review of ABC Scuba Diving

ABC Scuba Diving
Ranked #2 of 78 Tours in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: JUST 12 PASSENGERS TO THE OUTER REEF - All of our snorkelling and scuba diving is privately guided. Making ABC the diver’s and snorkeler’s choice. We visit pristine areas of the outer reef away from all of the mass market tourist operators.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed April 4, 2018

My husband and I just got back from a long weekend in Port Douglas and could not have had a better experience with ABC Scuba Diving. We are new divers just certified in February and this was our first time diving post certification. There was only 10 divers total in our group and when we were out on the reef we were literally the only boat anywhere in sight. The reef was looking great and we essentially had it all to ourselves. Being on a small boat allowed us to go to places that some of the bigger boats do not have access to visit. We were also really lucky on the day we visited as the conditions could not have been better. On our first stop we saw heaps of turtles, seeing our first one literally the second we jumped in the water.

We were paired into small groups that suited our skill level so there were just 3 of paired with the instructor, Wayne. Wayne went above and beyond just leading the dive. He was giving us feedback on things we can do to improve our diving skills and was very encouraging. He also showed us anemones and sea cucumbers that we could touch and did a great job pointing out marine life. On top of that he was so fun and friendly.

The day was so easy and convenient, there is plenty of parking at the marina and on board the crew had all of the gear set up and ready to go, there was not much that the divers had to do to prepare. After our dives we were given time to snorkel if we wanted.

The rest of the crew (Simon, Paul and John) was also fun and welcoming and all the crew members knew all of our names.

I did a lot of research when deciding which company to go with for this trip and I am so glad I went with this company as I would not have changed a thing about the day. It was a little more expensive than the bigger boats but it was 100 percent worth it to have the reefs to yourself and smaller groups. If I ever make back to Port Douglas I will without a doubt go diving with ABC again. We had such a great time I can't stop smiling when I tell people about it.

If you are going diving in Port Douglas ABC Scuba Diving is the best decision you will make!

Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abc Scuba Divin... P, Public Relations Manager at ABC Scuba Diving, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. Great to hear that you had a such a perfect day and were looked after so well.

You have done such a good job highlighting what separates us from the big companies. Small, personalised groups, with highly experienced crew and access to a great variety of sites, meaning that we can choose the best locations to suit the day.

We hope the remainder of your holiday was equally a good!

Best regards,

The ABC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"small group"
in 140 reviews
"the great barrier reef"
in 209 reviews
"these guys"
in 85 reviews
"small boat"
in 61 reviews
"underwater photography"
in 28 reviews
"fish"
in 114 reviews
"dive master"
in 56 reviews
"fantastic photos"
in 16 reviews
"marine life"
in 63 reviews
"personalized experience"
in 18 reviews
"great dive"
in 30 reviews
"dive spots"
in 24 reviews
"professional photos"
in 18 reviews
"included in the price"
in 33 reviews
"personal attention"
in 26 reviews
"larger boats"
in 20 reviews
"other companies"
in 29 reviews
Filter

66 - 70 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018

An absolutely fantastic day out on the Great Barrier Reef. The crew was highly attentive and their passion for and knowledge of the reef made for a very special first experience of this natural wonder. Equipment, food and boat all fantastic! Not to mention a maximum of twelve divers on board which really does make a huge difference.

Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abc Scuba Divin... P, Public Relations Manager at ABC Scuba Diving, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us this review. We believe that education is an important part of visiting any natural wonder and helps you to appreciate its beauty and also know what creatures to look for in 5e water!
Great to hear that you enjoyed your day.

Best regards,

The ABC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

what I want was I got! Dive pure. After a long time without to dive was this my first trip. The experts at the boot gave me the security to have a good time under water. Sadly I got no entry in my Logbook.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank rostein2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abc Scuba Divin... P, Public Relations Manager at ABC Scuba Diving, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Thank you Rowland for taking the time to do us a review.

It was truly wonderful to get you back into diving 22 years since your last dive is a long time and great that you really appreciated Abc being able to offer you one on one experience without any additional charges.

It was amazing to see how excited you were at the undersea world and how good to do this with such a small group of likeminded adventure seekers on The Great Barrier Reef.

Yes and a shame you didn’t keep your log book from all those years ago, in cases like these as a matter of course we had already sent you as a great souvenir of your refresher and your dives with ABC.

Keep diving Rowland.

Enjoy the rest of time in Australia

The Abc Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

It was the first time I ever went scuba diving, so naturally a bit nervous, but the team and specifically our instructor Paul, talked and walked through all the steps very clearly,very calmly,one by one, and you really had the sense that you were in best possible hands. The boat and equipment was all in top condition,tidy, clean, the snacks and food along with coffees were all yum and well timed.. all in all excellent, but also especially the team on board were just great fun with great humour,and also a good knowledge of marine life which was discussed after the dives. Recommend this without hesitation!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank alexanderfrehse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abc Scuba Divin... P, Public Relations Manager at ABC Scuba Diving, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you so much for the review. It really makes a massive difference to a small company like ourselves. Great to hear that you enjoyed your dives. We completely understand that diving for the first time can make most people nervous, but really, all you need to do is relax, breathe and look around - we can take care of everything else!
It was an absolute pleasure to have you all on board and we hope tat you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Best regards,

The ABC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2018

The best is the crew!!! Wonderful, on your way out, one of the scientists explains in detail the reefs situation and the biology around it. Our scuba leader, John, made our dive a superb dive. Simon the boat Capitan took care of security extremely well. The equipment is in great shape. Overall a success. Highly recommended. Only 10 divers in this trip. 12 is the max. No doubt tABC is the best!!!!!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Juan Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abc Scuba Divin... P, Public Relations Manager at ABC Scuba Diving, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you so much for the review.
Great to hear that you were looked after so well. We love sharing our knowledge with our guests to ensure that they are educated about our reefs before their dives. The reef then speaks for itself once underwater! Simply stunning!
We hope you all had a fantastic Easter break.

Best regards,

The ABC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ABC Scuba Diving also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to ABC Scuba Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing