We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fabulous place”
other travellers have booked this property
Orchid Hill Bedroom (2 of 4) with Queen size bed.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Orchid Hill Bedroom (2 of 4) with Queen size bed.
Our 2nd Win! 2014 & 2013. Out of 30,000 Queensland Holiday Homes, we've won 2 years in a row. Private Billabong (Pool) at Dusk. Totally Private, Secluded Luxury.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Orchid Hill Bedroom (2 of 4) with Queen size bed.
Our 2nd Win! 2014 & 2013. Out of 30,000 Queensland Holiday Homes, we've won 2 years in a row.
Private Billabong (Pool) at Dusk. Totally Private, Secluded Luxury.
Living Room with Indoor Dining Table for 8.
Living Room. Luxurious. Casual. Relaxing.
A taste of the lush gardens that surround Orchid Hill.
Family Room. Room to group together, prepare dinner and hangout. Pool just to the left.
Family Room with Kitchen, Cafe Table and TV/Media.
Gourmet Stocked Kitchen. Cook Like a Chef.
Perfect for evening BBQ's, chatting with friends.
Tropical BBQ! Yum!
Private & Secluded Billabong (Pool). Room to play, relax and gaze onto the lush tropical gardens
Pool in daytime showing lounges and a bit of the lush gardens surrounding the pool.
Your Billabong (Pool) at twilight. Warm, refreshing and heavenly.
Master Bedroom with King size bed and ensuite.
Master bedroom (king bed) overlooks pool and gardens.
Master Bedroom Ensuite. Luxury doesn't stop at the door.
Another shot of Bedroom2. View to Main Hall. Bedroom 2 overlooks front gardens and has Queen Bed.
Bedroom 3 has either 2xKing Singles or 1xKing Double.
Bedroom 4 has either 2xKing Singles or 1xKing Double.
Main Shower/Bathroom. Toilet is in another room.
Orchid Hill from the street. Double car garage. Complete privacy.
Floor plan of Orchid Hill. So much room on a 1000 mtr block surrounded by lush tropical gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Port Douglas, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Siobhán Q
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous place”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spotlessly clean,very welcoming (lights on, Jazz music playing on arrival), great kitchen and lounge area, beautiful pool. This is a great place to stay. Beautiful decor and very comfortable. It is about 7kms from Port Douglas itself, so a car is needed. It is a great spot form which we explored the great barrier reef (with Tropical Journeys) Daintree forest (Mossman Gorge and The wildlife sanctuary at Karunda on the Skyrail), Cape Tribulation. Also enjoyed the harley davidson bike tour. Port Douglas is a lovely town lots of great restaurants ( reasonaly priced) Great beach. Sunday market worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F
Derry
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a big group!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Orchid Hill for 1 week in July 2014. There were 5 adults staying in the house and we had more than enough space between us. No detail was overlooked, it was a joy to stay here!
It is beautifully decorated and presented, very welcoming with music and lights on, on arrival. The jewel in the crown was without a doubt the amazing back garden. The trees and plants were amazing, not to mention the fantastic pool and waterfall. It was absolute bliss!
Also if you have smaller children, the back garden area is very safe with glass panelling surrounding the pool area.
The housr is situated in a quiet housing estate, no busy traffic, although you can hear the trafgic from the highway when you are in the garden. Port Douglas town centre is only a 5/10 minute drive away, but I would recommend hiring a car for easier access.
This is definitely a great house for a big get together, would love to be going back! A great start to a fab holiday!

Rooms Location
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judithgar...
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved the house, loved Queensland - definitely coming back!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

There is so much to do in the Port douglas region. We went scuba diving in the Great Barrier Reef, trekking in Daintree, went to the Atherton Tablelands and did some bush walking , another day trekked to lots of stunning waterfalls. We basically drove 1,600 kms in 6 days and just did a tiny portion of what was on offer.
The house is beautiful and really well-equipped. Brent and Leroy were the perfect hosts. It was such a pleasure to come back to Orchid Hill in the evening after an exhilirating and exhausting day. Everything functioned well and there was a lot of space for all 8 of us. Loved it.
Left the day before the Cyclone hit so I hope everyone was okay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved that it was like staying at our own personal 5 star hotel
Liked least: Can't really walk into Port Douglas, have to drive for 5 min.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2014
Thank you for writing so much about the Port Douglas area. It is an amazing part of the world. And we want all guests to have the best holiday possible. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip J.D.G. It was a pleasure having you at Orchid Hill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect get away”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at orchid hill with our two small children at the start of November and had a Wonderful holiday. The house had everything we could have wanted (plenty of towels for swimming and bathing, BBQ, aircon, a well stocked kitchen, travel cot, etc), and a few things we didn't assume would be there, such as lots of plastic plates and bowls for the kids. The pool was a lovely temperature and the kids loved using the loungers to relax after a swim. It was close to all the things we wanted to do with the kids, such as the wildlife park and just a few minutes from town and the beach. Best of all, Brent was a thoroughly hospitable host who made us feel very welcome in the house. We'll be back!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde52
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This house will not disappoint”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Orchard Hill for four days; it was our base for travels to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree area. It's a beautiful, comfortable home with a wonderful landscaped backyard and pool area. We did all our dinners at the house; the kitchen was wonderfully equipped, and just a few steps from the covered patio and large dining table next to the pool. The beds were terrific, the bedrooms individually climate controlled. Great washer and drier to have handy after a day out on the reef or in the bush. Large selection of DVD's if you have down time. There was no wireless when we were there, but Brent said it was to be installed after we left. Helpful owners, great house. You can't go wrong.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novavas
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise at last!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly, let us start by saying that Brent & Leroy are the most welcoming of guests we have ever met. They ensured our stay was hassle free and were very accommodating.

Orchid Hill has all the amenities you would find in your own home. Our children were in the pool from 7am every morning! And the best thing was that could be as noisy as they wanted because the property is very private.

We felt very much at home and having a barbecue to cook dinner on all the warm nights was just fantastic (the boys didn't need to get out of the pool until the plates were on the table!!). Al fresco dining was the best!

If you need even more some relaxing time, just look in the TV cabinet, you will find a great assortment of movies to watch.

Our stay was just perfect. Our family highly recommends Orchid Hill and if we are lucky enough to return next year, then this is where we hope to stay again and again.

Is it a wonder that Brent & Leroy have won 'Holiday Awards 2013 - People's Choice Winner QLD'? That's right, in all of QLD they are the winners. Visit Orchid Hill and see why, you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy, the whole house was perfect.
Liked least: No wi-fi and pillows were much too soft to sleep on.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bali. Hawaii. No, Port Douglas!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I had to keep asking myself where I was...Bali, Hawaii? No I was in Port Douglas! Surprisingly. From the minute I walked in to Orchid Hill it felt like a tropical paradise, but sophisticated at the same time. The attention to detail of the furnishings is superb, every amenity one needs to have a perfect holiday. Far enough away from the tourist hub, yet close enough to savour the restaurants, shops and tourist attractions, Orchid Hill is situated in the perfect location. A short 10 minute walk to the magnificent beach or a short 10 second walk to relax in the beautifully landscaped tropical gardens by your own absolutely private pool, either way you could not wish for more. I will definitely be returning to Orchid Hill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The immaculate condition of this most beautiful property.
Liked least: There was nothing I disliked.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2013
Thank you for the kind words. The pleasure in hosting your family and sister at Orchid Hill was all ours. We look forward to welcoming you back for another Port holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing