We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Malua Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice people”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The managers here are worth their weight in barramundi, the place is central but quiet, the facilities good, and the restaurant downstairs is excellent. The only negatives are that there are only 2-bedroom apartments and that it's not cheap.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry2536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thanks for the great review.

Thanks also for the feed back regarding the WiFi. We will have our computer people look at that and hopefully improve the signal strength.

We are looking forward to seeing you later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    97
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
185
114
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed in these lovely apartments for a week in April 2012. Perfect location, great apartment, nice view & helpful hosts. We have visited Port Douglas before & this is by far the best accommodation we have found. In fact, I have already booked our next holiday there. We found the bed a little hard for our liking, but Carolyne kindly supplied an extra foam mattress which made the bed far more forgiving. The apartment was beautifully clean & well maintained. Parking is available under the building. The in-house Wifi is great value at $20 per week, but I didn't find the performance to be wonderful. I brought my own 3G Wifi router and this worked a treat. The main bathroom had a spa bath & we spent many hours in the tub reading. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThirstyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thanks for the review.

It's great to here that you really enjoyed your holiday at Saltwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We have been staying at Saltwater since 2006... Our last stay was in March 2012...and we have booked to return in March 2013...
Carolyne and John are great hosts and are one of the main reasons for us returning each time... they go out of their way to make sure you feel at home and more than happy to assist with tour or restaurant reservations.
The apartments are very comfortable, clean and well appointed...
The location is great... no need for a car... unpack and you are home... the view overlooking the escarpment is terrific and ever changing...
Walk to all attractions... Restaurants, Dixon Inlet and the surrounding Parks, 4 Mile Beach and shops.

Room Tip: Aprtments One and 17 have large wrap around balconies, they are 3 bedroom but can be setup as a 2 be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHCRONULLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thanks for the great review.

A good tip for travellers regarding apartments 1 and 17.

The Penthouses also have great balconies.

We appreciate your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed here in March, 3 adults, paid bargain price for 2 bedroom apartment and then got upgraded to penthouse apartment. Rooms were well equipped, very clean and comfortable and there was a nice view. The owners were friendly and helpful. The apartments are in an ideal location, very close to shops, restaurants and the marina. Previous reviewers mentioned the toilet being in the bedroom which was true but there was a separate toilet as well so there was no issue. The apartments even had a washing machine. The only negatives were the black beetles which were everywhere but can't be helped in Port Douglas especially if the apartment isnt serviced and also having to take our rubbish out ourselves but really these apartments were the nicest we stayed in and I definitely recommend them.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandeem00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thanks for this great review.

The whole of Port Douglas experienced a problem with the small beetles but only for a week. They are a rare occurance so hopefully this has not deterred from returning to Port Douglas.

You obviously enjoyed Saltwater and Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buderim
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for the Easter long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. John and Carolyne are very friendly and extremely helpful. We stayed with 3 families, each in a 2 bedroom apartment. Kids could go from one apartment to another, without fear of the street traffic. Apartments are large, very clean and provide all luxuries. Even the dishwasher is not lacking.
Location is perfect. It's in the middle of town, close to supermarket, all type of shops and restaurants. The beach and parkes are a stone throw away. Yet, the apartments are withdrawn from street hussle and bussle. Yes, we could have happily stayed here for a month!

Room Tip: Talk to the owners and they will recommend the room that suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thanks for this great review.

We are always happy to have families stay at Saltwater and it's great that you all enjoyed yuour stay.

Lets hope you are able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Carolyn and John were so helpful in making our stay great with recommendations for dinning, day trips, etc. The apt was great for our family. Kids had the pool to themselves, easy walk to the beach and in the middle of town. Didn't see any other location in town that could match Saltwater for space, location and price

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtwJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thanks for the great review.
we are always interested to hear how much people have enjoyed their stay at Saltwater.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

What wonderful hosts John and Carolyne are, extremely helpful and they have a good insight into the Port Douglas area and all is has to offer, which is plenty! My family and I stayed in a 3BR apartment and really enjoyed the convenience of the location. The only down side was that both bathrooms are ensuites so I would only recommend apartment 4 for families with children.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhona3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thanks for the great review. You must have had a great holiday.

The bathrooms are as follows in all apartments. Min bedroom ensuite bathroom second bathroom seperate although this can be accessed from another bedroom if required.

We hope this clarification regarding the bathrooms is helpful
l
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
2.2 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.6 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
954 reviews
0.4 km away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
731 reviews
0.6 km away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
5.0 km away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwater Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Property: Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Address: 30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saltwater Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the heart of Port Douglas; easy walk to all restaurants, bars, the beach & shops. air conditioned luxury self contained apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saltwater Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing