We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
83
63
24
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
63
24
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river balcony overlooking the pool cooked beautifully complimentary bottle steak great restaurant king size bed extra pillows central location art gallery short walk would stay again breakfast was included friendly service great shower a great place to stay room service
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 190 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner here on a Tuesday night.
Beef cheeks needed to be cut with a steak knife.
The steak on my surf and turf had raw fat on the sides.
The sauce was very nice but unfortunately when the steak is what matters you have to get it right.
The hostess was very pleasant and accommodating but also mentioned that it wasn't the first time that night that they had complaints about the Beef cheeks.
Two dissatisfied first time customers who won't be back.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gingerboydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet K, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2018

We would like to say how disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. Quality is our top priority and we immediately fixed the problem with the beef cheeks and now they fall apart when eating them with a fork. I am not sure why there was a problem with the steak as it depends on how you asked for it to be cooked.We could have rectified the problem with the steak immediately if you had given us the opportunity. Restaurant 98 stands by our Mission Statement that we want our customers to have a unique and memorable experience and every effort to ensure that your dining experience and the service will exceed expectations. Please would you give us another chance to give you that experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2018

From the exterior, one could be forgiven that this is just another budget motel. However, upon arrival, you are very warmly greeted, and provided with all the information required.
Room is relatively plain regards decor, but is very roomy, containing a very comfortable kingsize bed, armchair, table and chairs as well as a desk.
Bathroom is large, with a good shower.
A very good complimentary continental breakfast is also provided (but watch out for the breakfast pinching crow that has developed a few unique skills at making you share). Motel also has its own restaurant, which serves fabulous steak, and has excellent service.
Located in a very attractive part of Rockhampton, and close to both shopping and sights.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet K, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Ok for an overnight stay, just passing through. Clean and comfortable. Staff very pleasant and lots of knowledge of the area. Coffee amazing. We had breakfast in the restaurant very nice and also peaceful.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lisadV7137PP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet K, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2018 via mobile

Tough porterhouse, raw potatoes but great veggies. Hard to believe it was an MSA graded steak. Wait staff didn’t seem at all concerned and eager to help rectify the experience. No wonder people turn to white meat.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet K, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Our Porterhouse is Award winning Oakey Black Angus Reserve grain Fed Beef, I am surprised that our staff did not offer you an alternative as this is what they should have done. All I can do is apologize that you did not enjoy your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2018 via mobile

Very friendly smaller accomodation option located on the river in town. No view from rooms but rooms all look inwards on lawn and pol area. Restaurant overlooks the river. Short walk along river on Quay St to other eating options and town centre. Rooms are modernised, compact, clean and staff friendly. Kitchenette is microwave, kettle and cutlery/dishes but washing up is in small wash basin. Bed is kingsize.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank auriel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet K, Owner at Motel 98, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2018

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews