We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rocky Resort Motor Inn
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed again in April for 1 night on business, this is one hotel whose standards isnt continually spiralling downwards like others. The place is clean and tidy and well maintained. As I didn't eat here I cannot comment on the meals.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotts9401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    47
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
33
31
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed in 105, great room set up for busienss. Service was quick and very supportive. Been travelling from Townsville to Brisbane and it was the best place across my 5 day trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The stay I had was enjoyable. Although I spent 2 nights here, the first was plagued by fatigue from travel. The person I travelled with did not want to use the air conditioner, so a compromise was made for the window to be open overnight...... next to a main road.......... I slept fine, but my colleague had a restless night with the traffic noise...

On arrival, the check-in process was quick, and the parking spaces were a little confusing but adequate.

On a Sunday night, after 7:30, not much is available near the motel for meals, but that is to be expected.

The menu on offer, while varied, was a tad on the expensive side. The meal portions were very generous - perhaps too generous? Meal quality was similarly very high.

My colleague and I decided against room charge not only for the prices charged for food at the establishment, but also for the fact it would cost extra to have meals delivered to the room. As a business trip, paying the extra charge to have the meals delivered to the room would have proven difficult to justify.

Reception staff were fantastic at the 'Aussie Style' humor - a little sarcastic but all in the name of fun. The restaurant staff seemed to struggle with simple questions about the menu, which was a little dissapointing. Surely locals need work as much as international students/travellers?

The room was spacious and clean, with ample room for study/work requirements during my stay. It was a little disappointing that the reception of the TV was poor and there was no option for playing DVDs.

Overall, I would recommend this establishment for a one-night stay, or 2 - 3 night business trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DecSaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed overnight while travelling up the Queensland coast. "Resort" is a little ambitious, but it did tick a lot of boxes. It was very clean, contained very comfortable beds, had a well stocked mini bar, and was reasonably priced.
Would definitely stay here again...

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, a ground floor may be to your liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurningSloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

A far cry from what I'd call a resort, but still a very nice motor inn. The property seemed new, and the room was fitted with modern amenities. I was given a room with disability access. This of course meant the bathroom was huge, and the toilet was a little higher off the ground than I'm used to - but still, it's great they cater for all kinds of travellers.

Limited free wifi was available if requested, and they also had mini bar facilities, and in room dining.

I did notice the king bed was two king singles pushed together, with a noticeable join - this didnt bother me as a lone traveller, but may be an issue to couples.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Rocky Resort was a great place to stay the room was very clean, big and enjoyed sleeping in a king size bed. The staff were very welcoming. The resturant was a bit pricy but as we had been travelling for more than 10hrs we did not feel like going anywhere else. Overall I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The king bed rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappygoluckyDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I was in Rockhampton for 4 days recently on a business trip and this motel had been booked for me! Being really tired at the end of each day, I most often ordered food to my room and to be honest I wasn't expecting much - but I was pleasantly suprised!
The chicken schnitzel was great and the barramundi the following evening superb...and I have to say that the mashed potato was the best I have ever had.....and I have eaten a lot of mash in my time ha ha ha!!!
On the final evening we actually sat by the pool on the terrace and had drinks which was really lovely and Don ( our host) was simply wonderful. Incredibly welcoming with nothing being too much bother for him! Having a friendly person about makes all the difference and I would not hesitate to stay here again. It felt like a visit with family!
The room was quiet despite being along a busy road, the air-con a welcome relief from the heat and the internet connection using my wifi great.......so I had all I needed.
A top little find in Rocky for sure......but book ahead as it seemed very busy!
Christine D

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
2.6 km away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 34 in Rockhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.7 km away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
2.7 km away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#10 of 34 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn
2.9 km away
Cosmopolitan Motel & Serviced Apts
2.6 km away
Best Western The Stirling Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Resort Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Resort Motor Inn

Property: Rocky Resort Motor Inn
Address: 174 Gladstone Rd, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky Resort Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocky Resort Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing