We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Something lacking - backpacker atmosphere.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Islander Backpacker Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Islander Backpacker Resort
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Something lacking - backpacker atmosphere.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This place isn't bad at all really. a big dated hotel with bunks put in the old hotel rooms.

i think half of it is still run as a hotel as
normal; there are 2 separate receptions.

the dorms are a bit rough around the edges; needing new blinds as they are just all broken and let in all light. its also very noisy especially when its so hot that you have to have balcony open. also the bathrooms are a bit dodgy

anyway. positives: great facilities include a large pool. tennis court. squash court. spa. steam room. old school arcade and internet room in basement. and also bottleshop attached with discount for backpackers.

the main issue like many reviews say is the lack of a social atmosphere. there isn't much of a common area just for backpackers and its always deserted. would be nice to meet up with people and have a drink before you go out.

there was a girl worker who tried organising some activities but it was a bit halfhearted type stuff. very unorganized. felt a bit sorry for her because she didn't have much to work with and at least she was trying. it seems they have started doing more though from the Facebook page. weekly activity updates and pictures.

watch out for pervy middleaged aussie men leering at backpacker girls in and around the pool

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrot87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    44
    38
    25
    18
See reviews for
1
13
58
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

The two of us stayed in a four bed dorm with an ensuite, the room was ok with a balcony and tv. The bathroom was small but a bit dark and grotty with a panel hanging off the wall. It's a huge hostel which looks like it may once have been a low budget hotel. It was really noisy and our room was right next to the spa area. The blinds in the room were useless. Unless you have decent ear plugs and an eye mask, don't bother!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoandSallytravelAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

As far as cleanliness and facilities go, this is the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Our room was like a hotel room, I got a double bed for a backpacker price! Great location and use of resort facilities, which can't be beat! A bit more expensive than your typical backpacker but with good reason. Reception was helpful and friendly. The only thing this place lacked was the good ol backpacker atmosphere - definitely felt like staying in a hotel rather than a hostel. If all you're looking for a clean place with great value for your money, hit up Islander Backpacker for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

The location was great (2 minutes from the beach, restaurants and shopping). But the backpacker part of the hotel wasn't great.
There was no air-con in the room, I found some of my luggage overheated when I left it in the room during the day time. Causing some damage to my stuff. It was unbearably hot at night without the aircon, difficult to sleep.
The staff don't really care about you and the whole place is dated and needs a face-lift and a good clean!!

Totally not worth the $30 a night.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

Stayed here for one night,had intended staying more but was disappointed with what I saw.
They sell themselves as being a party hostel but something this place lacked badly was atmosphere,the common area was deserted!
I stayed here in February-the middle of Summer,there were plenty of people around but there was no effort made to create a buzz around the place,e.g. themed nights,party nights even a movie night.
Apart from that the place is run down and dated.I found the majority of the staff unhelpful.
After one night I packed my bag and went down to Surf n Sun backpackers where I had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mondo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

Stayed in a 4 person dorm here, which was unclean and in a state of disrepair. The staff were not particularly helpful and really seemed like they couldn't care less about the hostel or its guests. The only thing I enjoyed about this place was leaving. Its a shame really as it is in a great location in the centre of surfers paradise and with a little bit more effort from the staff, cleaners, maintenance it could be quite decent. I appreciate that it is a budget hostel and I knew that when booking, but we stayed in cheaper places during our trip to Australia that were ten times better. Disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnislush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

Having a couple of days off work I decided to return to Surfers only to find it was dead!

I checked in here though as I previously didn't realise it was for backpackers too - I thought it was a hotel. And the rooms are hotel-esque, clean, cosy and with a decent bathroom. I actually ended up in a 4 bed dorm alone for most of my stay, good in the sense I got a room to myself for around $30 but bad as I went there to socialize! There is an adjacent bar called Vegas in Paradise. From the outside this looks like a casino but inside it is not - it is just a small bar filled with pokies, and has more middle aged men then backpackers sadly. No-one really talked or socialised but it was adequately priced. At the bottom of the building is an arcade filled with old games but it always looks deserted. The hostel/hotel is nice and good value for money but there is unfortunately no atmosphere. The only letdown was the common room which was a bit dirty and equally quiet. There was also a jacuzzi (nice) and a steam room (broken).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thel0stb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 km away
Islander Resort Hotel
Islander Resort Hotel
#28 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.8 km away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#51 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.1 km away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#59 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#17 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.5 km away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#27 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.5 km away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#16 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Backpacker Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Backpacker Resort

Property: Islander Backpacker Resort
Address: Cnr Beach Road and Surfers Paradise Blvd | Po Box 344, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get any closer to the action than this! Islander Backpackers Resort is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, only a block from the famous Surfers Paradise Beach and the excitement of Cavill Avenue. The hostel is located on the corner of Beach Road and Surfers Paradise Blvd, only a short walk to restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Guests can enjoy free use of resort facilities including: • Tropical outdoor pool• Spa • Steam room • Tennis and squash courts Other facilities include:• 24 hour internet cafe• BBQ Area and Sundeck• On-site bottleshop• 24 hour reception• Tour desk• On-site car rental• Comfortable Common Room with lounges, DVD library and big screen TV. You can even record your own video msg and email home to your family on our Holiday Travel TV for free. • Fully equipped industrial kitchen and fridges• Laundry facilities• Games Room• Limited undercover parking. • Vegas in Paradise Restaurant, Bar and Gaming lounge is located on the ground floor and a new outdoor cafe is now open serving fresh coffee and snacks. Islander Backpackers Resort offers twin and double rooms as well as four, five or six share dorm rooms. All rooms include private bathroom, lockers, small bar fridge, TV, telephone (incoming calls only) and private balcony. Linen is provided. Private rooms are also provided with a daily mini service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Islander Backpacker Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Backpacker Resort Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing