We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Awesome resort will book for next year” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Awesome resort will book for next year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Very happy with our apartment heaps of room had fantastic views of the beach short walk to cavill st and the nite life kids love the pools and waterslides and beach 50mters away staff were very helpfull just a mean location if you have kids lots of things for them to do while you enjoy a cold one.only one thing if you are having a longer stay that could have been better it would have been good to have more towls with out having to pay more $$$ one each is not enough when you have kids swiming all day and showerling at nite.

Room Tip: two bed room spa was the bees nees beach faceing higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    397
    193
    101
    107
See reviews for
513
361
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Staying in Sun City Resort booked direct with Mantra Staff.

Easter paying $450 per night- dissapointed.

We booked a THREE bedroom apartment, but we have got a 2 bedroom dual key. I.E A 2 bedroom with a 1 bedroom and bathroom studio attached. This is really bad because the three bedrooms which we should have got are three times the size of this dual key.

The leather couches from Super A Mart- SHOCKING! There is a massive sag in each lounge and you feel the metal bar on your behind, we are using pillows to sit on.

No Foxtel or Austar- You have to pay the resort to watch a movie on the TV.

Tv reception shocking, fussy can only watch 2 channels.

The apartment could do with a spring clean. There is no CD or DVD player.

Three bedroom apartment, only 4 cups, 4 plates, 4 glasses etc. Kitchen cupboard has 1 dish server, 1 mixing bowl & 1 chopping board- that's it.

2 Outdoor plastic chairs arms almost snapped off- unusable but ok we used 2 from the other balcony.

No hand soap provided. Bit scabby when your paying $450 per night.

Resort itself stunning, excellent location, facilities, plenty of parking, pool amazing, foyer clean tidy and inviting. Staff are lovely but this particular room a real let down!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SfamilyMleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Mantra Sun City recently and we had such a great time at the resort. The location and facilities were great and I especially enjoyed going down the waterslides! All the staff were lovely to talk to! They were very friendly and helpful when we had any questions. The apartment we stayed in was very big and had views of the ocean. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room! Views are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunarwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Although our stay was only brief, we had a fantastic time. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Our 1 bedroom ocean apartment was so spacious and had amazing views of the water and city! We will definitely be staying longer next time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion Park, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Although these are mainly privately owned rooms, so they can vary from room to room, you should expect very spacious comfortable accommodation. Mantra Sun City is close to the beach and the central shopping areas. The views up and down the coast were spectacular, make sure you get up early and watch a sunrise.
The rooms were very quiet, but we were 28 floors up so did not hear any traffic noise. We did not have anything to do with the reception, as we went through private booking, but the staff we ran into were very polite.
The Aztec water slide was a big hit with my family and there is a good selection of pools for different age groups.
There was a problem with the heated pool not being heated and one lift refusing to accept our key. Also avoid the place on garbage week as the bins were left in the sun for 4 days, at the main entrance, and the stench became very potent.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms are quieter. Get a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Hi Mark C,

Thank you for posting your review. Mantra is the Letting Agent for Sun City but there are also a number of private let units which we are not responsible for and it is difficult for me to make any comments about these units. There was an issue with our humidifier for the indoor pool which was fixed within 24 hours. Our garbage bins are taken out to the street daily for collection and return into the building the same day.
Thank you again for your comments.

Regards,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tannum Sands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Nice but a bit pricey for what you get, charged $3 if you want a pool towel........come on. Rooms are very spacious and well appointed and can't think of anything that was wrong except that everything additional would incur a charge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hi amie66,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review following your recent stay with us.It sounds as though you enjoyed your stay at ourr property. The extra charge for pool towels is to cover the laundry and replacement cost as we do lose many of these items.
I certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Sincerley,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast OZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

What a great place to stay. We had a two bedroom ocean view apartment with views down out over the ocean and all down the coast and the views at night were great too. We had plenty of room, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, large fully equipped kitchen, separate laundry and a decent verandah. What a great pool for the whole family, couldn't get enough. The apartment was clean and tidy. All round nice and comfortable feel for the whole family. Like the location too, just a 5 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of Central Surfers Paradise. Service was friendly and efficient. Yeah a nice place to stay and relax. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treasureireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Hi treasureireland,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review following your recent stay with us. I will be certain to pass this on to all the team.
It sounds as though you got to make use of all our facilities at the property - this is highly encouraged!
I certainly look forward to welcoming you back again with your family in the near future.
Sincerely,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.5 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.6 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
0.2 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.9 km away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Property: Mantra Sun City
Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing