We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of Mantra Sun City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mantra Sun City
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mantra Sun City for one night, on level 33 in a one bedroom ocean view apartment. Wow! The views were amazing and the apartment was large and very comfortable. We went in the pool and outdoor spa (nice and private) and had a go on the waterslides. Fun!

Food - we went to the bar for happy hour cocktails. The bar staff were really lovely and the drinks potent. The regular priced cocktails were expensive, and they did not have a gin martini on the menu which I always have on my first night away somewhere, so that was disappointing. We ordered room service for dinner. As usual for in room dining, it was quite nice but overpriced for what you get. We also had the breakfast buffet, which was also average, I have had much better in other hotels/resorts.

Location - excellent. A short walk to the centre of Surfers, and just one block back from the beach. There is a convenience store and bottle shop across the road.

I would have given this hotel a 5 star rating, except for a small mishap at breakfast. Even though breakfast was included in our package, the hotel had no record of it, so we had to produce our booking confirmation to prove it had been paid for. They were very apologetic, but it did mar our breakfast experience slightly.

Overall a wonderful stay, and I would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for as high as you can with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madchen-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Hi madchen-chan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review following your recent stay with us.
It sounds as though you got to make good use of nearly all of our facilities at the property. I do sincerley apologise for the misunderstanding regarding your breakfast inclusive rate.
I certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Sincerley
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    557
    299
    140
    140
See reviews for
797
515
35
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

After spending a few funtastic nights at Sea World Resort with our family we decided to try the Mantra Sun City Resort. I had booked through wotif as they had the cheapest rate unfortunately though when we arrived at the hotel they couldn't find our booking. Then they told us that we only had 2 nights booked instead of three and that we would have to change rooms for the last night. They then just blamed the whole mix up on wotif even though they had transcribed our name incorrectly and didn't read the attached messages. When we did finally get to check in to our room we had trouble with our room keys not working in the lifts and had to go back to reception to get them reprogrammed this happened constantly for the next 3 days and you needed a key to go everywhere. The hotel itself looked amazing but the rooms were a little dated all the blinds in our 2 bedroom apartment were broken and the lounges were falling apart. One room had a queen bed and the other was supposed to have a double but instead we had 2 singles that they just pushed together. The spa bath in the ensuite was a bit dusty & dirty with hair etc which I then decided to clean myself. The kids did enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools and slides but it was a pain having to go to reception every morning to get wristbands so they could use the slides and you also had to use the room key to get into the pool area. The beach was only about a block away which wasn't bad but after coming back for a walk we had trouble getting back into the hotel as our keys didn't work so we had to cut through the Mexican Restaurant which is located at the hotel only to be told off by the woman on the door for coming through that way. We also tried the food in the restaurant one night but it was very bland and tasteless. Overall I was very disappointed in the staff and the service, definately won't be going back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VoucherQueen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Hi JB90210,
Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay at Mantra Sun City.
Unfortunately, there was an issue with your booking through Wotif which are all electronically sent through to our internal system. Sometimes errors do occur with the input. I do sincerely apologise for the issue you had with your keys. Just in the last month we have completely re keyed the property which has removed any of the old issue which we were experiencing. The keying system throughout the property is for guest security and comfort so that non guests do not use the great facilities. The bedding configuration of all our rooms is displayed on all websites. Units do vary depending on your request and booking. Just for the record, Sayas Restaurant is not Mexican and I do apologises if the staff appeared rude when you were walking through. At times this can be an issue when beach goers use this restaurant entry as a thoroughfare leaving sand and water on the timber floors which can often cause a slip hazard for dinners. Thank you again for your review and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back again.
Regards,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed for 4 nights over easter,got a great price for 2 bed ocean view apartment on 22nd floor. Had trouble with our fridge not working properly but once staff were notified they were more than helpfull in sorting out the problem.
Pools were great as were all facilitys and all staff friendly and helpfull,no hesitation in recommending this property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Hi David B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review following your stay at our property.It sounds as though you got to make use of nearly all of our facilities at the property - this is highly encouraged.

I certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We loved it here. The accommodation was perfect for our family of 5 with older teenage boys. We had a beautiful apartment with 3 bedrooms and 3 balconies. It was beautifully furnished and had everything we needed, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer etc. The pool was great with slides and their was even and inside pool as well. Apartments in a great location just a short walk along the front into town and if you walk out the back you can wonder along the waterways. Would definately go back here again. We eat in the restaurant twice and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Amanda P,
Thank you so much for your lovely review after your stay with us. I am pleased you made use of our facilities. I do hope we are able to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is a great family resort. I was disappointed that internet connection is paid per computer not for the room, this is a rip off, you should be able to use more than one computer with what you are asked to pay when other accom alternatives give you free access. One night was also fully booked so after driving around the car park for an hour I was asked to park in the visitors car park. The service staff were actually not helpful and some what rude about this like I should have known to park in the visitors car park. The staff really need some work on their manners.
The pools are excellent and having may to choose from is great including spas indoor and outdoor. Also, the room I satyed you could not pull the heavy curtains across to darken the room :(

Room Tip: Try for a room not near the trash chute - it can get a bit smelly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MWM99, General Manager at Mantra Sun City, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Tanya W,
Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us at Mantra Sun City.
We have just this week upgraded our guest computer system and i trust that it will provide good service to all. I do sincerely apologise for the inconvenience in the car park. Unfortunately, of busy nights it can be a little difficult to find a spare park. We have over 170 car parks available however, a number of guests do bring two or more vehicles which can make it difficult for others. When this is brought to our attention we do have alternatives for guests parking in the building. I do apologise for the staff attitude you encountered and I have provided your comments for our our staff to read.
I do look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael W Murtagh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney,Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with 3 other families recently and once again had a wonderful time. A couple of the families who arrived early were able to check in straight away. Paid just over $1300 for a 2 bedroom apartment for a week with bfast inc for all 4 of us (kids aged 12 and 14 too) and late checkout - hard to beat! Have stayed at Sea World 2 yrs ago and paid double for half the space. Full kitchen and laundry in room fantastic. View of beach from balcony. Restraunt even catered for my daughter who is anaphylactic to peanuts with no issue ( so they got the business of 17 of us on multiple nights!) Loved the giant pool slides too
Service great, easy walk into surfers central and only 30mins from main theme parks why would you stay anywhere else ?

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowgumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for my 30th, it was awesome! the room was massive with fantastic views of surfers CBD and ocean. Staff were amazing. Facilities were great, had fun going down the waterslides with my mates. Wish I had booked a longer stay! Perfect distance from central surfers paradise! Will be back again soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.1 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
381 reviews
0.6 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,542 reviews
0.2 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,046 reviews
1.5 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,439 reviews
1.4 km away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Sun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Sun City

Property: Mantra Sun City
Address: 3400 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Sun City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring unique Aztec-inspired designs and architecture, set amidst lush tropical gardens, Mantra Sun City is located just one block from the sandy beaches of the Gold Coast. With Mantra Sun City's facilities surrounding the 35 metre saltwater lagoon pool complete with dragon waterslide, the resort offers a range of hotel rooms and one, two and three bedroom apartments overlooking the Gold Coast beaches, canal waterways or surrounding hinterland. Take advantage of the resort's wide range of facilities, which include a heated indoor pool, outdoor lagoon with its own sandy beach and waterslides, spa, sauna and steam room, tennis courts, games room, fitness centre and Koastal Kitchen Restaurant. Head down to the beach for a casual stroll along the esplanade, finished off with a meal at one of the many cafes and restaurants on offer. Whatever you fancy, Mantra Sun City is the perfect location for a Surfers Paradise holiday. Koastal Kitchen The sun, the surf, the shopping, the excitement, it builds an appetite! Start the day with a wholesome family breakfast or get everyone together for a catch up dinner in the Koastal Kitchen restaurant. The pizzas are fresh from the oven, the grills, salads, tapas to share and seafood fast and fabulous. Kids have their own special menu. Located on the ground floor of Mantra Sun City. Restaurant Opening Hours: Breakfast: 7.00Am - 10.00Am, daily Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily Room service: Dinner 5.00Pm - 9.00Pm, daily **Photographic ID and a $200 Credit Card Pre Authorisation will be required for check in. No cash deposits taken.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Sun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Sun City Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Sun City Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing