We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brits on Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed in the Watermark in a Standard room. The hotel is in a great position one street back from the beach and less than 3 minutes walk from cavel avenue & the local night life. The room was very clean light and airy with every thing you would expect from a 4 star hotel. My only negative is the wifi is very expensive at $25 per 24 hours if you also have breakfast it works out cheaper to upgrade to a luxuary room where the wifi and breakfast is included and off course you have a better room with better views. We did enjoy our stay at the watermark hotel & we would stay here again.

Room Tip: If your having breakfast & wifi upgrade its cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watermark_Management, Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay during your tour of Australia. Your praise about the great location and clean rooms is greatly appreciated. As for the high internet prices we have done some research against our competitor Hotels only to find that we are in fact in line with the market. However internet access has become a critical part in ones everyday life and rest assured that the team at Watermark Hotel & Spa will be constantly looking for better alternatives.

We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,484 - 1,490 of 1,766 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed here one night and the Check In staff were friendly but hadn't heard of teh Travel Agent our Company uses even though it is one of the biggest in OZ. Just paid by C/C instead as I couldn't be bothered expaining to her how it was

Anyway went to my room and it wasjust you stock std Hotel room with two queen beds in it. Small TV all the Free to air cahannels with a couple of Pay TV channels. Weoodwork all needed a new coar of varnish. Batroom was clean but tired looking. Showed had heaps of pressure.

Sleep quality was ok.

They have vouchers in the room for $10 off Dinner or Breakfast so i used it for breakfast. They had a very good xhoice of foods and would also make Pancales or Omelettes.

Overall it was not too bad. Would probably stay there again as it is central to most things for me.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamnViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watermark_Management, Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on 'tripadvisor', thus assisting us in continually improving our facilities and services!

We appreciate you bringing the shortcomings you experienced to our attention and the constructive way in which this was done. In regards to your comments about the hotel room I am pleased to inform you that final stages are being put together to upgrade our Standard Rooms. I would also like to mention that during the month of March 2012 our Television Sets will be upgraded to the new Life Style Panels which offer our guest’s state of the art technology with access to the Internet, television, skype and movies on demand.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed here (our 2nd time) in November 2011 in a Club Watermark room. Booked at the very last minute because we checked in and out of Mantra Legends within 2 hours due to its extreme uncleanliness and terrible customer service (see my review of this horrid place: http://virtualtourist.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g255072-d256749-r122009878-Mantra_Legends_Hotel_Gold_Coast-Surfers_Paradise_Gold_Coast_Queensland.html + I never got the refund promised. Mantra Legends staff are NOT trustworthy or good hoteliers).

Very happy with cleanliness of our Watermark room and the hotel, overall. If the bathrooms were refurbished it would be 5 star in my eyes, but it was clean and better than many I've stayed at in other hotels.

Had a lovely cooked to order breakfast and wished we could stay longer, but as it was a last minute booking, everything was booked out in Gold Coast the next night.

Great proximity to centre of Surfers Paradise.

I would personally stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a Club Watermark room if you can snag a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watermark_Management, Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to the Gold Coast. We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with an in depth outline as to what transpired during your stay.

We were most pleased to hear that your expectations had been exceeded, as it is our mission to focus on our guest’s enjoyment and service delivery. Thank you for pointing out some of our very unique selling points and commenting on how centrally located we are!

It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back (3rd Stay) so that you can enjoy our hospitality to its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I booked the Watermark on recommendation from a travel agent who strongly advised to pay the extra and book the "Club" Watermark rooms as they were five star and on the upper level. When I arrived (Jan 21 2012) with my children for our four-night stay I was truly shocked at the standard of the room - so shocked I rang the Duty Manager to check they had given us the correct booking. The rooms are pokey to say the least and the bathroom grotty and small. The other catch is that, if you are travelling with children, you cannot upgrade to any of the Club Watermark packages (breakfast, afternoon cocktails etc) - even though they will happily charge you for the privilege of staying in the "five star" Club Watermark rooms. The pools were small with broken pool furniture - the only positive about the whole place is the Italian restaurant across the road! Pokey, lack-lustre and like living in a shoe box ... there are plenty of better Gold Coast options, especially for families.

Room Tip: Check all the inclusions before paying the extra for Club Watermark rooms. Riverview (west facing) r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watermark_Management, Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for passing your comments on your experiences at our hotel. We apologize for not living up to your expectations and appreciate your honesty around the shortcomings you experienced.

The Club Watermark Experience is the next level of customer service with accommodation on the top 2 floors, chilled bottle of Chandon on arrival, access to the Club Lounge with evening canapés and drinks, hot and cold breakfast selection, valet parking and guaranteed late check out. If you stayed in a Deluxe Room these offering will unfortunately not be included. We acknowledge your comment about the pool furniture and can assure you that the Hotel has recently upgraded the outdoor furniture.

I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further about your particular experience, if I could kindly ask that you contact my office directly.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Could not fault this hotel except for the price of WIFI which was something like $11 for 1 hour & $22 for 24 hours. In a day & age when internet so available in so many places for free, there is no reason why the prices should be more reasonable.
Room was clean and had a nice pool.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyhelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed 14-17 Feb 2012, we were upgraded to a deluxe room facing the ocean after asking, the staff were amazing nothing was too much of a problem.The room was clean, bathroom was a little small but clean house keeping was very good, the net was expensive $11.95 per hour or $24 for 24 hours but if you have a coffee or snack at the cafe you get free wi-fi, we had on one occasion a wine glass missing after a room clean and a pool towel not replaced we informed reception straight away and they fixed the problem quickly and with no fuss.The location of this hotel was great, walking distance to everything and close to public transport which was frequent. We had a great time, well done Watermark.

Room Tip: The net was expensive $11.95 per hour or $24 for 24 hours but if you have a coffee or snack at the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutch1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watermark_Management, Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

On behalf of the team, thank you so very much for your very kind words towards your stay, in particular surrounding the staff and how they lived up to your expectations.

We are and always will be incredibly proud of our hotel and the service we deliver. Your comments about the internet prices are noted and will be addressed to the best of our ability!

We continuously strive at bringing added value to our guests.

We look forward to having you back...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I loved the look at this hotel on the photos on the net but when we got there it wasnt half as good ..the rooms are clean but the bathroom need some white king !! it's close to most things at its close to strip clubs so if your on a family hoilday i wouldnt stay there

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelly782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watermark_Management, Manager at Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time in posting feedback regarding your stay with us at the Watermark Hotel & Spa Surfers Paradise. I was disheartened to read that on this occasion your expectations were not met as we strive to provide the highest level of comfort and service to our guests.

Surfers Paradise has many other offering available and our guests often comment that the location of the hotel is one of their favourite features, easy proximity to the beautiful beach and the energy of Surfers Paradise.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
528 reviews
0.9 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,991 reviews
1.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,567 reviews
1.3 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,780 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast

Address: 3032 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: $125 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermark Hotel & Spa is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, the host of magnificent beaches, shopping and restaurants. The Hotel is ideally positioned on the Surfers Paradise Station of the Light Rail connecting to Gold Coast Convention Centre and Jupiters Casino, or a five minute walk to Cavill Avenue. Guests enjoy a day spa and hair salon, two outdoor swimming pools and spas and fitness centre. Our modern designer rooms enjoy ocean or hinterland views and include a flat-screen TV, fridge and are fully air conditioned. The en suite bathrooms are supplied with essential amenities and a hairdryer. Shared laundry facilities are available. L'Aqua Day Spa boasts a variety of massage treatments, and features premium products to ensure pure indulgence. Waves Buffet Restaurant offers a hot buffet breakfast daily, and an International Buffet for dinner. Visit Clifford's Grill & Lounge and Walrus Social House (bar, gaming, cafe) for a night of great tastes and tempting cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Hotel And Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel Surfers Paradise
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing