We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowne Plaza is an ancient unclean dump.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Peregian Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crowne Plaza is an ancient unclean dump.”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Crown Plaza is old, the rooms dirty and furniture you wouldn’t by from an Op-Shop. I booked a Superior Twin Ocean View room with balcony for my wife and I. When we arrived we were kept waiting for about 15 minutes while both receptionists dealt with one person. When we walked into our room we were shocked at how knocked about the furniture and fixtures were. Scrapes, cracks and marks as well as dirty stains on chairs etc. Faded old carpet and filthy windows. There wasn’t even a bedside table on my side of the bed. The room which was supposed to face the ocean actually faced the Gold Coast HWY and construction works. When we phoned reception to ask for an upgrade we were abruptly told all the rooms were the same so we couldn’t upgrade however they would move us to the east side of the building so we could have the promised ocean view. A Bell Boy was sent up to our room with new swipe keys. He simply passed them to my wife and disappeared leaving us with our considerable amount of baggage to take to the lift down the hall and then go 4 floors below to lug our gear to the new room which was in similar condition to the first. The balcony was so narrow you could not squeeze past the cheap plastic chairs. Another thing was that there was not even a plate for you to put a cup on or place some food on. My wife and I have travelled quite a bit here and O/S and never have we stayed in an international hotel in such poor condition. The Crowne Plaza is in desperate need of a massive overhall including it's dilapidated salmon pink exterior. I could go on but suffice to say “be warned”. Do not fall for the blurb on their web site and don’t be fooled by the photos either. Just give it a huge miss. There are other lovely hotels in a lot better locations than the Crowne Plaza which isn’t within walking distance to anything but the Gold Coast HWY road works.

Room Tip: There arent any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindsaydavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Many thanks for your review and I am most sorry that you encountered so many issues during your visit. These certainly do not reflect the high standards of service and cleanliness which we aspire to. Please rest assured I have followed up on your comments directly with the appropriate departments within the hotel, in order to ensure our future guests enjoy the the same type of stay which is reflected in the majority of our Trip Advisor comments.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    501
    164
    42
    27
See reviews for
228
457
75
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Was lucky enough to book a mystery deal on wotif.com and find myself with a room at the Crowne Plaza at a dirt cheap price! My room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, a balcony to die for with fantastic views and impeccable service from the minute I walked in the door until the minute I left from reception, restaurants and concierge. The bed was very comfortable as well. I can't wait to stay again it is a must on my next trip! Only slight negative is that the hotel is not in the heart of surfers but that also meant less noise :-)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planningnextholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The rooms were relatively spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom had a huge spa bathtub. The service was not as efficient as I expected, however, staff were always willing to help out wherever possible. Overall it was beyond great value for money as hotels are generally quite pricey on the Gold Coast. The location wasn't nearly as great - neither in the central Surfers' area nor right on the beach, but it is close enough. I'd definitely recommend Crowne Plaza for families.

Room Tip: 1604 had a great view of both the ocean and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcctrxlstrng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here for the couple of days pre Christmas (& to the kids delight, Santa found us there) and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were large and clean and the beds and pillows were so comfortable. The free parking was great and easy to navigate and the staff were pleasant. The only downside for us, was the mini bar, chocolates and chips were far too accessible for our kids (not really a kids hotel though). Would stay again and definately recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnieTsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Friendly staff. Room was ready at 11 am. Nice Foyer. Great pool area. Room was average with older style furniture and must have had a smoker prior to us. About a 45 minute walk to main surfers strip. Didn't try restaurant but was fairly busy. Great hotel if you're on a budget

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angieP050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed at Crowne Plaza for the third time for a couple of nights with my family. was pretty disappointed when we arrived at our room, the glass windows/doors facing the ocean were absolutely filthy, the carpet also needed a good vacuum. The other times I have been there it was immaculate.

The cost to dine in room or at the rooftop restaurant was astronomical, feeding a family of 5 on the prices were out of the question, the tavern next door wasnt family friendly either. The surf club down the road is awesome though great views and great ok priced food.

I found location awesome, its not in the hussle and bussle of Surfers, but the footpaths outside were shocking. The staff were very nice.

I just wish the room was a bit nicer for the price we paid, i want to go there again but maybe I'll wait til they do some upgrades to the decor and the outside roadway.

Room Tip: Eat at the Surf Club down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Ryan M,
Many thanks for posting your review and I wish to convey my very sincere apologies for the problems which you encountered - especially as you had not encountered similar issues during your previous visits. Please rest assured I have followed up on your comments with my team.
I certainly agree the footpaths adjacent to the hotel are in poor condition. Unfortunately this is out of our control as works associated with the Gold Coast Rapid Transit Project has meant adjacent roads and footpaths have recently been dug up in order to install new underground utility services for for the Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise precincts. Please do not hesitate to contact me next time you plan to visit the Gold Coast and I will do my utmost to ensure you have a more pleasant stay.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Great hotel just enough away from the sleaze of Surfers, but close enough for restaurants etc right on the border of Broadbeach. Great pools, fantastic breakfasts rooms are a bit tired, but functional. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the gold tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.7 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.3 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
2.6 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
1.9 km away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
1.9 km away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Property: Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing