We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Always an awesome stay! We are frequent guests ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always an awesome stay! We are frequent guests ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

When we need to stay on the Gold Coast, we always book into Crowne Plaza, Surfers Paradise. We have had trouble finding a room which caters for 2 adults and 2 children under 18 years without having to pay for either 2 rooms or an extra charge for having more than 3 guests in one room.

The hotel is situated down the highway a bit from the Surfers Paradise CBD, so on the last occasion that we needed to be on the Gold Coast, it happened to fall on schoolies week, but this was no hassle for us as we were away from the noise in central Surfers. Only a handful of respectable looking schoolies were at Crowne Plaza and all was nice and peaceful.

The hotel is also only a short walk to the beach and has either ocean view or mountain view rooms and some have large bathrooms with views as well and big marble baths and a shower. Rooms have balconies with views and are clean and stylishly decorated.

We have never encountered any problems during the many stays we have had at Crowne Plaza and for decades we have been visiting the revolving restaurant on the top level of the hotel. Hint for travellers - there are 2 dinner sittings - pick the 5:30pm one (& not the 8:00pm sitting) as you get both the sun going down over the mountains and the ocean at sunset, as well as the night lights and darkness of the Gold Coast. If you go to the 8:00pm sitting only, then you only get to see the night lights and darkness.

The buffet at the revolving restaurant is second to none. It has such a huge choice of food options like Asian, seafood, roasts, soups, salads, desserts, cheeses etc. etc. but all done to the highest quality and exquisitely presented on the buffet.

Just a short trip away is Jupiter's Casino and Pacific Fair Shopping Centre. There is also a gym, tennis court and pool in the hotel and everytime we go there, we are given complimentary drink vouchers to have in the lounge bar/pool area. The hotel also has another restaurant next to the pool, ideal for breakfast and lunch. You can also pick up board games from the reception desk.

We look at other options each time we need to go to the Gold Coast, but we are never able to replicate what we get for our money from Crowne Plaza. Also, there is only one other hotel on www.wotif.com on the Gold Coast, that we can have 4 in one room including one of our children who is older than 12 years included in the room rate, which is very reasonably priced per night for a family.

We will continue to be guests at this fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are slightly dearer, but worth the small extra amount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel_For_Work_FY12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Many thanks for posting your review - but most of all thank you for your ongoing patronage of Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. Please let me know next time you book to stay with us as I very much like to meet our regular guests in person.
Thanks again and I hope to see you soon.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    462
    150
    38
    25
See reviews for
204
420
67
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sendai, Japan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I stayed here by myself on business in late March 2012.

The good:

-upgrade to a nice room
-great view of the beach (with the balcony doors open you could hear the surf)
-nice welcome chocolates

The bad:

-serious service issues: not answering the telephone, forgetting requests, not bringing the things requested
-offered newspaper then didn't deliver one
-charged 1.5% fee for using a credit card

Overall:

This is a nice-looking hotel with a good location near the beach (a couple of roads away though), but very overpriced given the service issues.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sendaiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Many thanks for your both the good and bad comments and rest assured I will take these on board in order to address the service issues which you experienced. Please accept my most sincere apologies for our shortcomings on this occasion.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
295 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This was my second time here and it was just as good. The service upon check in is friendly and efficient and parking was free.
The room is large and the bed is super comfy. Flat screen TV, little dining table, huge wardrobe space and a great covered balcony with table and chairs and fantastic view.
Good sized bathroom with big bath too.
The location in OK, about 15min walk either side to get to shops and restaurants but only a short walk to the beach.

Overall I would definitely come back as the comfort and service is top notch.

Room Tip: When making a reservation request beach view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_WLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Great Rooms great views great staff great food. What can I say it's 4.5 stars and breaking into 5. The location is central for the Surfers strip and it's close to the casino. The only downside is that it's a 10 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler-Tim-Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Many thanks Traveler Tim and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to share your feedback.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise and I do hope we have the opportunity to be of service to you once again in the not too distant future.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Weather it is family, business or a couple's getaway it will not be disappointing. We stayed in the Gold Tower a while back and found that the rooms in the Crowne Plaza are just as nice, so I did not feel the need to pay extra for the Gold Tower.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the eastern side of the building you will get less traffic noise when you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We chose this hotel as it has the revolving restaurant on the top floor, where we had booked for my birthday. We were instantly impressed with the service, since we check in was quick and efficient and by the time we got to our room, our bags were there before us. Thats the only hotel I've ever had the bags arrive before us.
Our room was really quite large, with a lounge area and table near the large windows and wide view out to the ocean.
The bathroom was gorgeous with a large spa tub in the corner. There is plenty of bench space, and deep drawers for cosmetics so we could keep the room tidy. The shower had fabulous water pressure.
The hotel surprised us with a delivery of complimentary champagne, to start my birthday celebrations.
The Four Winds revolving restaurant lived up to is great reputation. We were given a coveted window seat. I loved their pink champagne.
The food buffet is amazing, there is heaps of seafood including bugs, prawns, oysters, fish, crab, salmon, and lots of other fabulous hot and cold dishes. The Service was very good and drinks were served promtly and courteously.
The desserts were also amazing but before we got to them the served a selection of sweets at the table with sparklers and sang happy birthday, it was a sweet surprise.

We enjoyed the next day around the pool, there are 2 pools actually and a spa, since the hotel has 2 towers with the lagoon style pool in between.

The buffet breakfast was sensational, lots of selection, and they even had eggs benedict, which you dont often get at the buffet breakfasts.

The hotel is in Broadbeach, which is close to Jupitors Casion, Pacific Fair - large shopping centre and cinemas, and restaurant precinct. You can walk to the beach from the hotel.
If you want to see the heart of Surfers Paradise then you'd probably want to drive or catch a bus there.
We had no problem parking as there is complimentary parking in the basement. If you do drive, you have to enter the property from driving North to South with the hotel on your left.
If you are coming from the south, you'll need to drive past the Hotel and do a U turn, which is no trouble really.
It pays to be part of their chains Priority club, as when I requested a late check out they as
asked, "are you a Priority Club member,?" and since I was, we had complimentary late checkout.

I'd fully recommend this hotel for its high standards of service, location, and lovely ocean views, and we'll surely return.

Room Tip: Request and ocean view room and you might enjoy a high level room, as the view to north and south is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ByronVIPTravelWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMBrown, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Many thanks for posting your review and I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments - and for choosing to stay with us when you visit the Gold Coast.
I do hope we have the opportunity to be of service to you once again in the not too distant future.
David Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur,malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

the room is good..but the location is not exactly on Surfer Paradise.it is closer to Broadbeach. I would recommend a better located hotel than Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mad_yahya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
2.5 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
1.3 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
1.7 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
1.8 km away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
1.6 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise

Property: Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Address: 2807 Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Parkroyal)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise 4.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is set amongst lush tropical gardens. The heart of Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, Jupiters Casino, surf beaches and some of the best shopping in Queensland are all within walking distance of the hotel. The majority of rooms boast Pacific Ocean views and all rooms have their own balconies. The hotel features two restaurants and bars including Queensland’s only revolving restaurant, Four Winds 360°, 26 floors above the beautiful Gold Coast. The hotels conference facilities can accommodate from 10 to 550 people in a variety of styles. Hotel facilities include two swimming pools (1 heated) with hot spas and sundecks, tennis court and gymnasium. Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise is your starting point for a host of recreational and entertainment activities that vary from theme-parks to championship golf courses to restaurants or non-stop nightlife. Whether you're looking for fun and adventure or simply want to relax and soak up the sun that the Gold Coast is so famous for, you'll find it when you experience Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing