We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakfree Peninsula
australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

While the room we stayed in looked like it was decorated for a scene of Miami Vice (pastel's and wicker), the view and service more than made up for it. The view is spectacular and it's proximity to the beach and shops made it perfect. The balcony view is The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool and BBQ area's were well maintained as was the gym (to be honest I was on holiday so I didn't use the gym). Our only issue was no free WiFi. We will be back....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Bertuzzi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to the beach and local attractions convenient.

WiFi is getting installed at the moment and will be up and running in a week's time.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Breakfree Peninsula on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    175
    56
    38
    31
See reviews for
346
90
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Breakfree Penninsula.

The best thing about this complex is the spectacular view from the balcony. Incredible!!

The tv channels offered excellent choice and the rooms where spacious with everything you need for a self catering stay.

We were disappointed however about the cleanliness of the apartment and the really old shabby decor - felt we had stepped back into the olden days. Cupboards etc were dusty/dirty and some even padlocked or screwed closed which we thought a bit weird! Definitely in need of major updating.

The worst thing about our stay was the fact our corridor and therefore room smelt really really bad of cigarette smoke. In this day in age you don't expect to have a strong smoke smell inside the building. Really disappointing.

For these two reasons we regret to say we would not stay in this complex again although the views are hard to beat.

Room Tip: Ask if there are non smoking floors available if you don't like to smell bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Christine G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay.

I have noted your comments about the decor and cleanliness of the apartment allocated for your booking. I will forward your concerns to our Housekeeping Supervisor for necessary action. I will also be contacting the owner of the apartment to discuss refurbishment of their apartment as suggested by you.

I have forwarded your comments about the smoke smell to the Body Corporate Caretaker to investigate further.

I would like to invite you back to Breakfree Peninsula and will ensure that you will have no cause for complaints at all. Please feel free to contact me directly when you are visiting the Gold Coast again.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

stayed for 6 nights in very nice unit (D). has all amenities you want and close to the centre with beachfront views and very good service,highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear tmjj,

Thank you for your brief feedback about your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and was well satisfied with our apartments, the location and our service.

I look forward to seeing you again at Breakfree Peninsula on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

The Peninsula is exceptionally well located across the road from a patrolled beach, the apartments are exceptionally spacious, there both outdoor pools as well an indoor pool with spa when the weather is 'unkind'. You are close enough to Cavill Ave to walk, but far enough away to avoid the noise and the hoons.

Room Tip: Some rooms have recently been renovated by the owners - ask for a renovated room and any room higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brachot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Brachot,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

I am glad that you found our location to the beach and local attractions convenient. Our apartments are spacious with breathtaking ocean views and I am happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Breakfree Peninsula on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We had our daughters first birthday planned in The Gold Coast and we stayed here. to begin the the staff was exceptionally helpfull and understanding. the rooms were very tidy and clean. the supplies were upto date and we have a very nice view of the beach from the room. I would recommend this to anyone who is travelling to Surfers. The generall manager is a very nice, helpfull, polite and approachable individual. The most importantly the prices were quiet economical and we definitely enjoyed our stay. thanks again to the team @ Breakfree peninsula.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishvyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Vishvyas,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

I am very happy to hear that we were able to assist in providing you and your famliy with a memorable holiday. Your feedback about the standard and cleanliness of our apartments and our friendly staff is motivating. I will pass on your feedback to our team.

Guest feedback is an important yardstick which helps us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. I am delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations on all counts.

Thank you for recommending us. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Breakfree Peninsula in the near future.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Having stayed in Breakfree peninsula surfers paradise for a short break in the luxury deluxe 2 bedroom apartment , We were very happy with the top quality and clean apartment we have been given. The view is magnificent !! The straight coastline of Gold Coast just sit in front of you.
The pros of this apartment are close to beach ( about 50m) , close to Cavil avenue , close to eating places , superb view
The cons is the apartment facilities a bit old and small indoor pool but heated though. The air conditioner in the Master room was faulty
Overall very pleasant and happy stay. rate 8/10 , i guess sometime is depend on the room you have too but will surely return .

Room Tip: Higher floor and if possible try the deluxe room with a bit extra cost .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller99966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Happytraveller99966,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

I am delighted to hear that you were very happy with our spacious and clean two bedroom Deluxe apartment with expansive ocean views. I have noted your comment about the faulty airconditioner in the main bedroom and corrective action has been taken accordingly.

I look foward to welcoming you and your family back at Breakfree Peninsula on your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

I recently stayed a the Breakfree Peninsula for a family holiday with my family. There were five of us and we booked a 2-bedroom deluxe unit. The deluxe units are presented as a step up from the basic 2 bedroom units. We decided to spend the extra money and get some extra luxury and quality. Bad idea.
There was nothing deluxe about the unit we stayed in. The furniture was worn and dirty. The lounge suite had a big tear in the fabric. There were no carpets or even mats or rugs on the floors. There were no pictures or art in the walls. The aluminium window frames were corroding badly.
Yes, we did have a sea view, which was nice, and the unit was spacious enough for a family of 5, with the benefit of two bathrooms, but nothing deluxe about the accommodation. In fact quite disappointing.
I didn't raise this with the resort manager because what is the point - the unit is owned by an investor and rented out to guests. We weren't going to be moved.
I should say the resort management generally are very professional, courteous and helpful and should be commended.
If I was to recommend the Peninsula to my friends it would be with the caveat of 'don't expect too much, accommodation is NOT luxurious, but will suit those with lower expectations or used to budget or mid range accommodation. Certainly not luxury or top end accommodation.
Will I come back to the Peninsula again - no.

Pros:
Spacious unit that comfortably sleeps a young family of 5.
Just far enough outside the centre if Surfers to get away from the sleaze that inhabits the nightclubs and strip joints around Caville, but at the same time walking distance to most things.
There were no unruly noisy guests spoiling our trip. Mostly nice and quiet at night
Choice of 2 pools, indoor and out.
Professional management
Nice sea views

Cons:
Building works going on with loud drilling and hammering during the day
Building looks and feels old inside - elevators and carpets are dated and the lobbies have a musty feel and smell
Deluxe units are really plain - think twice before choosing these - maybe if only for the air con if visiting during warmer months

In summary the Peninsula deserves to be in about the middle third of accommodations in Surfers.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing. Forget about 'deluxe rooms' unless you need the aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocM-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adil1, General Manager at Breakfree Peninsula, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Melbournetraveller18,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Breakfree Peninsula.

Our two bedroom Deluxe apartments are fully refubished apartments with guaranteed ocean views and airconditioning. I am disappointed to hear that you were not happy with the standard of the room that you were allocated. I would have appreciated if you had raised your concerns during your stay so that the same could have been addressed on the spot.

I apologise for any disappointment you experienced during your stay.

Regards

Adil Fitter
General Manager
Breakfree Peninsula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.5 km away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
0.2 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
0.1 km away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
1.2 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfree Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfree Peninsula

Property: Breakfree Peninsula
Address: Corner Clifford Street & Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakfree Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Surfers Paradise Esplanade, BreakFree Peninsula offers sweeping views from the Gold Coast hinterland to the wide expanse of the Pacific Ocean. Just 100 metres to the beach and close to the retail and dining hub of Cavill Avenue, the resort offers quality, affordable accommodation ideal for a weekend getaway or family holiday. Accommodation options include One, Two and Three-bedroom Apartments, most with stunning ocean views. If you want to pay a small amount more you can live it up Surfers Paradise style in the Two Bedroom Deluxe Ocean Apartments that have been completely refurbished. All apartments feature their own balcony, ceiling fans, hair dryer, in-room safe, Foxtel, security access and intercom, wireless Internet access (at a charge) and full kitchen and laundry facilities. Onsite there are many facilities to choose from including three swimming pools, children's wading pool and playground, heated spa, sauna, gymnasium, tennis court, BBQ facilities and in-room massage. Located just down the road from Cavill Mall, the shopping and dining hub of Surfers Paradise, and close to all the action of Surfers Paradise. Directly opposite the beach, BreakFree Peninsula offers family friendly facilities and the perfect location for your Surfers Paradise escape. **PLEASE NOTE** Air-conditioning is available in some apartments only. Hence it is on request but subject to availability. For your convenience we cannot accept bookings for same day arrivals outside of reception hours. Please phone during normal business hours prior to arrival to arrange after hours check in. Once a booking has been made we accept NO CANCELLATIONS OR AMENDMENTS to that booking. Party Policy: • Parties are not permitted in apartments • Registered guests only are permitted in apartments after 10pm • Excessive noise will not be tolerated Failure to comply with the above will result in the eviction of the guest/from the property. The property reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakfree Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Peninsula Hotel Surfers Paradise
Peninsula Hotel Breakfree
Peninsula Apartments
Surfers Paradise Peninsula
Breakfree Peninsula Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing