We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap everything”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Australis Sovereign Hotel in Surfers Paradise and were overall pretty disappointed, although you do get what you pay for. The room wasn't that cheap though. The room was big and the decor was old. The hotel is in two separate towers so you can hear most things that are happening in the other tower at about the same height. In our case the other tower at the same height had a buck's party or some kind of party with a lot of loud people, we were only there for two nights so one of those two was pretty bad. In the morning we went down for the free breakfast, it was a few months ago, but the feeling I can remember was that of disappointment. I don't think there was any fruit and yoghurt available which I thought was standard. The TV was broken when we got into the room, but the hotel got it repaired within the hour.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicko6425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of our hotel. At Australis Sovereign Hotel we pride ourselves on delivering great value for money and excellent customer service. I am very sorry that you did not feel we lived up to those aims.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you further.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    302
    175
    94
    68
See reviews for
216
345
45
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had a bad experience in this hotel. Just a week ago, all the occupants need to evacuate the building in the middle of the night, fireman and security everywhere. The managers are very disorganized. Most of the occupants of this hotel end up dragging their suitcases in pajamas to relocated them nearby hotel in the middle of the night. Next morning no apology heard from the management. We had a four breakfast in the hotel and charged as for 7 breakfast. Chamber maid did not change our beddings for 3 days and cups left unwashed. This hotel Must be rated 2 Star.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of our hotel, at Australis Sovereign Hotel we pride ourselves on delivering great value for money and excellent customer service. I am very sorry that you did not feel we lived up to those aims.

We do apologise for the inconvenience caused to you by the evacuation of our north tower. The evacuation was a necessity to ensure our guests safety as a water pipe had burst and caused damage to electrical wiring on all levels.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you further.

Warm Regards,
Rachel Condell – Reservations and Yield Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Okaihau, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

On holiday for a week with a family of 6, room was great but my two sons had to share a pull out couch which was not convenient, requested a rollout bed but this would have been an extra $30 per night - bit expensive. The Gym, pool and barbecue areas were great. Pity that the kids games room was machines where you had to pay to play. The third night there was a massive water leak, the whole North tower had to be evacuated to the neighbouring hotel which we were informed was much the same star rating at the Australis, this was definately not correct, went back to the Australis the next day to complain and was relocated to a two bedroom apartment right on the water front, which the Australis organised and paid for the transfer to the new apartment. The staff were extremely helpful under very stressful conditions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed some of your stay with us. At Australis Sovereign Hotel we pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service, and great value for money.

I have passed on your feedback to the staff involved and it is a great motivator for us all to hear our guests are enjoying their stay. Further, we greatly appreciate your patience and understanding of the situation regarding the burst water pipe and lose of power causing the evacuation of our north tower.

Kind regards,

Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed here for a couple nights in January. It was a great hotel. It isn't right in downtown Surfers Paradise, but it is certainly within walking distance.
The rooms are really large and well maintained.
The staff was good and helpful.
The restaurants served a nice breakfast, which was included for us. There were a lot of guests at the hotel, but the staff worked hard to make sure the food options were replenished often.
It rained a lot while we were there. We spent a good amount of time in the restaurant, sitting on the patio. The staff never said anything or kicked us out. We appreciated it.
The only downside was the location, in that there aren't many fast food or sit down restaurants in the vacinity. You have to walk most of the way downtown to get something.
Other than that, our stay was very nice and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob_hanson1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your review of our hotel, we strive to provide great value for money and customer service, and it is fantastic to hear that we delivered on those aims and met your expectations. Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Warm Regards,
Rachel Condell – Reservations and Yield Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

All I can say about this hotel is that it is cheap, noisy and nasty! Plus it had a horrible smell inside the room! I was on holidays wanting to relax on a 3 week break and decided around Easter to book into Australis Sovereign for 2 nights as we stayed at another hotel for 5 days previous to this one. The staff were very nice though the rest was just a disaster got a room over the noisy pool not only that the room smelled so bad that i just did not want to stay with my partner for the second night AND we didn't end up staying for the 2nd night!...plus as it was a during the Easter time the carpark was full and even the outside section which is not good for guests who have expensive cars - told by staff that we may need to leave it on the street!! Just not good enough. On the floor in bedroom the floor had been burnt by a iron and cigarette holes in carpet! Noisy neighbours banging on the walls and tables next door until midnight......breakfast was included though not much effort was put in the hot meal side of things plus it was so busy that people were knocking over plates and cups! the list goes on and on.....never will I stay at a cheaper hotel again as you really do get what you pay for! Never again will I return to this hotel.

Room Tip: No smell - away from the pool side as it gets noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czechchick01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of our hotel, at Australis Sovereign Hotel we pride ourselves on delivering great value for money and excellent customer service. I am very sorry that you did not feel we lived up to those aims.

We do apologize that you found that the room smelled and was noisy. We would have been more than happy to address those issues for you whilst staying in house. Further, please also accept our apologies for the difficulties you experienced regarding car parking. We do only advertise parking as limited as we do not have enough parks to be allocated by room. Certainly our rooms are not brand new and the carpet in some rooms do have iron burn marks, however we make every effort to maintain and clean them and we pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and great value for money.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you further.

Warm Regards,
Rachel Condell – Reservations and Yield Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Won weeks holiday in a promotional scratch & win in a shopping centre with Classic Holiday Club. We chose a suitable date, my birthday and location in Surfers near good friends and close for family from Brisbane to come and stay. Check in was not until 4pm on inspection of our 2 bedroom unit which we paid extra for upgrade plus Extra $200 cleaning fee did not match the literature we had nor 4 star rating. Filthy carpets, very poor lighting, facilities poor quality, not suitable to sleep 4 adults and our crawling granddaughter. Alternative offered still not close to original booking. Headed home for Brisbane bitterly disappointed. Requested refund for upgrade, flatly denied. Poorly handled, bad business management all round. Glad it was us who lived not too far away and not young family just flying in from out of state expecting a fair deal.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Debbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel, we would have loved the opportunity to rectify your concerns during your stay so that you could have enjoyed a far more positive experience.

Certainly our rooms are not brand new, however we make every effort to maintain and clean them and we pride ourselves on delivering excellence in customer service and great value for money.

With regards to the $200 cleaning fee and upgrade you paid, this was paid to your agent, Classic Holidays and not the hotel. It is for that reason why the hotel can not refund the monies paid. I kindly suggest that you would contact Classic Holidays regarding any refund request.

Warm Regards,

Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

we stayed here for a week as we had family over from NZ staying. First morning we had a fire drill at 8am , but staff were still serving guests checking out , guests were still dining in restaurant no one was co ordinating the drill , fire crew came and we waited for the building to be cleared. fire chief cleared it and went back to our room . Next evening 7.30pm another fire drill same thing happened no staff to co ordinate the drill or inform guests. This my husband asked the staff whats going on 2 drills in 2 days : response " we're not sure just go back to room".
This kind of service is shocking , your staff should have evacuated all guests regardless !
No one seemed to be bothered by it " staff" they all just carried on with their jobs and waited for the fire service to turn up and switch the alarm off.
I understand that some tour groups dry clothes , smoke in their rooms when theyre not suppose to as I have over 10 years experience in large hotel chains , but this was appalling.
Never again will i recommend this hotel especially when my safety should be paramount in a fire " Drill or not"
Also our room was not cleaned or serviced for the whole week , considering I requested a service 3 days in from our arrival.
I had to go to reception each day to get fresh towels.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MISS L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your review of our hotel and I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us.

The hotel is currently in the process of upgrading our fire alarm system. This process is unfortunately causing some false alarms. However, I will certainly further investigate your concerns regarding our staff's service.

At Australis Sovereign Hotel guests are able to choose from a range of fully serviced or weekly serviced packages. Typically, weekly serviced rates are at a lower price. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience further with you personally.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.2 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.6 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.8 km away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
0.3 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
2.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Property: Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing