We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveller rating
214
228
74
29
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
214
228
74
29
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palmer street great location ribs and rumps across the bridge overlooking the river bedroom apartment short walk full kitchen business travel nice apartment great place to stay reception staff would stay again down stairs restaurant strip magnetic island per day
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 566 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018

Good location close to the CBD but room + hotel is a bit run down and in need of a really good clean and paint job. Staff were friendly + helpful. Walking distance to everything in town with lots of bars + restaurants closeby. Does have a good pool with a nice view.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AAM_bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksGateway, Front Office Manager at Oaks Gateway Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Hi,

Thanks for your review of our hotel, We're glad you got the chance to enjoy relaxing in our infinity pool and found the close proximity to the CBD and dining precinct ideal for your stay.

Our staff pride themselves on their customer service and we will be sure to pass your feedback on to them.

We are currently undergoing some refurbishments so we hope on your next stay you find the rooms even more comfortable and convenient.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with Oaks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Fabulous! We were on the 12th floor. Apartment was amazing! Home from home .. beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, spacious, and fantastic views. Perfect location - plenty of choices for dining, as we were on Palmer St, and within walking distance of museum, aquarium, ferry terminal and the Strand ( approx 15 mins) Helpful friendly staff, free undercover parking. Didn't want to leave - would definitely return!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ccoll60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksGateway, Front Office Manager at Oaks Gateway Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Hi,

Thanks for such a great review! We're so glad you enjoyed staying in our central, well appointed apartments. We agree that being in the heart of Townsville's dining precinct is a perfect and convenient place for guests to base themselves whilst exploring our city highlights.

We didn't want you to leave either! Our staff will be only too happy to welcome you back again soon!

Thanks for choosing to stay with Oaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018

The area and location presented views from the room which were an eye opener allowing an appreciation of the terrain, vegetation and general environment which perhaps is unique to this coastal city. The location was very convenient to enable a good evening walk over the two closely situated bridges over the waterway. With more time we would have been happy to continue our stay a few more days to enjoy the sites and close proximity of tourist destinations. On house keeping, this could be improved by providing adequate cutlery particularly a decent kitchen knife. The packets of sugars were lumpy possibly affected by moisture or beyond their 'use by' date and needed replacing.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stocksljp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksGateway, Front Office Manager at Oaks Gateway Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're so glad you found our hotel conveniently located the heart of the dining precinct with close proximity to the major attractions such as the Reef HQ Aquarium! We have to agree that the views from our rooms can be pretty amazing, especially during the evening.

We appreciate your feedback on our well appointed apartments and will certainly pass your concerns on to housekeeping to be reviewed.

Again thank you for choosing to stay with Oaks, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018

Just avoid! Better rooms elsewhere for better price!.. The wifi didn't work the whole trip I needed up having to use my phone for internet connection. Bland rooms nothing much about them. Location was ok but as I said better places elsewhere I won't be staying again.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mia882018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksGateway, Front Office Manager at Oaks Gateway Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback, we were sorry to hear that your recent stay was not what you had hoped, despite our convenient location and close proximity to Townsville's best dining precinct. Unfortunately busy periods can result in higher traffic through the hotel, however our staff are available 24 hours a day and are always happy to assist with any concerns that you may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018

My 4 daughters and I stayed here and we could not fault them. The location was perfect and extremely family friendly. There was no shortage of places to eat with being on palmer st and only a short walk to flinders st. Would stay here again

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksGateway, Front Office Manager at Oaks Gateway Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Hi Hayley,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel! We really appreciate all our guest feedback and were delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. We truly are lucky to have such a great location, boasting comfortable family friendly rooms and facilities for you to base yourself whilst exploring all that Townsville has to offer!

We hope to see you again soon and thank you for choosing to stay with Oaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews